Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lavergne Lake Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

This school depends on the teacher you get. We did two years here with 2 children. First year was ok. Not wonderful. One child struggled and she caught up. One was advanced and he was bored most of the year. The second year was miserable! The 5th grade teacher threw items at my child. Told her no one liked her etc. My first grader wasnt allowed to even smile at me when I visited. Spent most of the year in trouble. Cried most days. Has lost his love of school. Its a shame. This has really damaged my children emotionally. Now I have therapy bills. Its all about test scores. Its sad. Dont walk but RUN.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

Lavergne Lake Elementary School is great. The principal, teachers and staff are so committed to the students success and are always so professional, friendly and polite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Lavergne Lake Elementary is truly an awesome school in great community. The teachers are wonderful. My child loves this school and so do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Lavergne Lake is an excellent school. Principal McCann and all the teachers are committed and truly care for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Lavergne Lake is a wonderful school in a wonderful community. My kids have been attending this school for over three years. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

We moved from Smyrna to Lavergne and this was my daughter's first year at Lavergne Lake (4th grade). I love the school. The principal was out every morning to help with drop off and waved and spoke to everyone. The teachers are phenomenal! My daughter learned a lot and if she offered additional, advanced instruction for students who were ready. Parent involvement is great! Movie night, awards night and other activities were well attended. Overall, I was impressed and happy and she can't wait for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

These reviews seem to be all over the place. Not enough discipline, too much discipline, which is it? I, for one, think this school is great. My daughter's teacher is attentive, answers e-mails almost immediately, and my daughter has thrived in her class. The principal is fantastic. Although this is the only school we've dealt with as a family, he has met my expectations as a leader. I have eaten lunch with my daughter several times and, yes, they do turn the lights out to calm the kids down (level 0 they call it. I think it's brilliant), but there are many classes at lunch at once so I don't see any reason to not try to keep it orderly. I have seen great parent involvement. I've volunteered for the PTO and they are just the nicest people ever! I think any school amounts to what you put into it as a parent and I am beyond thrilled with our experience so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

RUN from this school!! The condescending attitude toward the children and parents disgusts me. Talking is UNACCEPTABLE and children are treated like cattle. This is a pass the buck school. STAY AWAY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

Terrible school. I had to change my child out of the school. All the staff, including the principal, library workers, and even the teachers were very rude. My daughter would come home every night crying because the staff treated her so badly. Meeting after meeting, the situation remained the same. I went directly to the school board. I would move out of the area if my child had to go back their. Too many issues to address here. There are many parents who agree with me and have started their own website to try to get the attention of the school board. This school is very poorly ran. The children are the ones who suffer in situations such as this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

I love the way they promote family involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

This school is a very succeding school. the teacher, staff of this school are very awsome. especialy the sequitary of the school she helped me so well!! i am proud to be a parent of this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

We have two children who attend the La Vergne Lake Elementary School. Our experience with the school has been nothing but extraordinary. One of our children has a disability and the teachers and principal have gone above and beyond what is required to accommodate our child not only with the physical needs, but educational needs as well. Our other child was struggling in Math and was offered free after school tutoring. The school also provided transportation to the students who needed a way home. My husband and I have always felt that the principal and teachers genuinely care about our children, their education, and have their best interest at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

teachers care about the students .try hard to inspire students to learn. very understanding of the students needs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

Great teachers and a dynamic principal make this new school what it is. However, they have a herd mentality to discipline that drives me crazy. One or two students talking or disrupting class or lunch causes the entire class to lose privileges! What?! My son complains every week about how these same students misbehave and the teacher(s) punish everyone. Are those folks so powerless that they can't single out the few troublemakers and let the rest of the class enjoy the rewards they've earned? (If you call recess time a reward.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

This school is okay.It holds very fun programs at night for the children but I keep seeing my child getting bullied by other children so may times.I bet there's not ehough discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

This is a great school with a great staff. The communication to the parents is incredible. Thank goodness our daughter has 3 more years there. She is definitely excited about learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

The teachers really care about the students and are excited about teaching our children!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
36%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students53%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students85%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
White51%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students64%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
White70%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students56%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 39% 23%
White 33% 67%
Hispanic 22% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Davids Way
Lavergne, TN 37086
Phone: (615) 904-6730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT