Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lebanon High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2013

The school is new and beautiful. The teachers are caring and helpful to the the kids that show respect, and they do their best otherwise. The old school was in sad shape and our town is so proud of our new facility. I sent my oldest child to Wilson Central and we loved it there as well. I was pleasantly surprised at the school's environment after hearing ugly rumors. My child is now a junior there and is enjoying the LHS experience very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

As a recent graduate from the University of Georgia, I look back fondly on my time at Lebanon High School. I find many of these reviews inaccurate and harsh. I was involved in many clubs and sports at LHS and then became a lettering athlete and sorority president in college. I had amazing recommendations from my LHS teachers (who cared about my future), which helped me receive an academic scholarship and graduate in 4 years, cum laude. I found I was just as prepared as most students when I started college. It is possible, that any poor experience at LHS reflects the efforts of the student or the parents. LHS gives young people everything they need to succeed, they just have to be willing to take advantage of it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2012

I agree with the parents who said that Lebanon High School was getting a raw deal by the reviews of some parents. My son graduated after attending this school four years, and I found the teachers to be intelligent , compassionate, and caring individuals.who taught because they loved teaching The campus itself was very old, Now there is a new Lebanon High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

Avoid buying or renting in this area like the plague if you honestly care about your child's education. We moved from Ca. and the only research I was able to do was online. Seemed like a decent school, not the best but okay--I was wrong! SOME of the teachers are good, most are mediocre at best. It's like they take the dead weight teachers from all of Wilson county and send them to Lebanon. I'm honestly regretting buying in the area and am seriously considering home schooling as a result of Lebanon High (no complaints with the elementary school my younger kids go to though). Please do yourself a favor and buy or rent in the Wilson Central or Mount Juliet area if you're moving to Wilson County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

Lebanon High School is an excellent school. The teachers are really involved in my students education. They also take time to help my child whenever they need it. I love this school and appreciate all Lebanon has done for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

The school is okay. We need a new one! someone ran into a wall and yellow ooze came out! i have seen 4 or five cockroaches this year. The teachers pretty much let the kids run all over them. Occasionally the teachers discipline students, and then other kids call them 'mean' when they are just doing their job. The dress code is loosening up after spring break. (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2010

Lebanon High School often gets 'the raw end of the deal.' This is certainly the case in regards to many of the other posters. By and large the school is staffed with excellent teachers who care about their students. If only more of our children could say their parents cared as much; they would enjoy much greater success both in school and in life. While I do agree that the school's facilities are abysmal, that is hardly the fault of the staff. Perhaps it is time that the parents of LHS's children and those of Wilson county put their money where their mouths are and fund a new school. I know I will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

I really like this school I think the teachers are great but the principal & teachers are worried about the dress code more then the students. I remember it was close to the end of the school year and the teachers was cracking down on the students. I bet half of the students was mad because they wasnt doing that at the being of the school year why start now. I feel that the teachers are doing a great Job at doing what ever they have to do to get the students to pass.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2009

i think this school is great but they really need to worry more about the safety and education for the student more than cell phones and dress code Example: last week they made a sweep though the school looking for people out of dress code now what do those student learn all day in ISS nothing so the school is more worried about the stupid dress code than the education of the students! And reading some of the parents answers i know for a fact that at least WJB took great care of CDC becasue i helped in there i disagree parents try hard at least i know mine do to help my education the School is too small and my fourth block teacher has to borrow someone elses room because a differnt teacher uses her class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2008

Wow from what I can see on this website, you parents are not involved in your children's lives at all. This school is not a bad school. I recently graduated from LHS and am going to The University of Tennessee, Knoxville and not paying a penny out of my pocket for it. I The AP classes at LHS are outstanding. They are far more superior to any other within the county. You parents obviously have not seen the some of the amazing classes at LHS (the AP ones). Apparently, the parents who believe this school is a bad institution must have children who are in the lower level classes and do not do their work. My classes alone were harder than any other classes in the county and continue to expand to my college career. You parents are simply being ignorant to anything positive about the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2008

I have a handicapped child and the special ed classroom at this school was a joke for my child. There is not equipment and limited PT and OT. She regressed so much I had to pull her out and homeschool her. I also found office staff rude and teachers uncaring. They got an attitude if I tried to get more services. I would never put my child back in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

Being a former LHS student and graduate, I am completely disappointed to see how the school has gone down over the years. My son was only a student there for a short time and I will admit that he was not the perfect student...but for him to be able to just walk out of the school with no one knowing where he was or be signed out by an older girl (claiming to be his aunt) is absolutely ridiculous. The school needs to tighten up on security, education and control over the students before it gets totally out of hand. From what I can tell they are too focused on the dress code and cell phone usage to truly grasp what is really important which is helping our students and building them up to succeed. These kids will be our future leaders and that scares me to death.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

I'm a student at this school currently, and I love it. It's way better than my elementary school. At that school, we had no clubs other than beta. And all we had was basketball,baseball, and football.And that was added about 4 or 5 years ago. Lebanon has so many clubs, it's crazy. We do have some fights,but rarely. Like a few in the beginning of the year and at the end. It's a really great school.Some of the teachers don't really teach[those are the one's every student hates] and others really try to help the student.It all depends on the student and the class. If it's a bad class, you won't learn anything. If it's a good class, you'll learn a lot while having fun. The new principal is trying his best, but I think he can do a whole lot better. Let you child come and try this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2007

I hope if considering going to this school, please read all of the reviews and pay close attn to what students r saying. My son is a soph. and MOST of the staff that I have met are rude.MayB that is why there is little parent involvement. My son was always on the principal's list prior to LHS.He is bored in MOST of his classes. Some teachers want to help, but most find excuses or feel they r being attacked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

For the age of the school, I think it is in remarable condition. It is overcrowded, but the faculty and administration have done wonders raising test scores and overall student performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

Before my son started at LHS I had heard some stories and was truely concerned. He wanted to go there because all his friends were going there. We were new to TN and not sure about the schools. I am an involved parent, so we tried it. Now, I see how good this school and the staff is. It is a shame that there is so little parent involvement though. I see that the staff truely loves the students and tries to do their best for them during school hours. There are some really talented teachers there and caring staff members thoughout the school that are happy to help with anything. I would definitely recommend LHS to anyone for their high school age children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

Lebanon High School provided me with every opportunity I needed to succeed in college. I am currently attending the United States Military Academy at West Point. Without the support of great faculty members and extremely talented teachers, I would not be here. The problem isn't in how the faculty members are 'incompetent', it rests with the student. If one isn't willing to work and put forth the effort, he or she isn't going to benefit at all. Furthermore, I guarantee that the age of the building has little bearing on how well a student learns.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2006

I have had 5 children graduate from LHS with the last one graduating in 2006. I have been a substitute teacher in this school as well. I would rank the school as low as possible in ALL aspects. My husband and I were proponents of public education and supported it whenever possible and felt that what the school could not provide our children we could pick up the slack so that is why we left them there. Teachers were very inadequate, honors classes were nothing more than regular classes elsewhere, students are spoon-fed the material, office staff is grossly unhelpful, and administration is horribly inadequate. Building is old and in poor repair and needs to be replaced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2006

I am a student at Lebanon High School and I believe that this is the worse school that I have ever attended. Most of the teachers care nothing of the students, and though they claim that they do, they have an odd way of showing it. I don't know how the extracurricular activitys are because, after meeting the staff, I do not even want to waste my time. The only thing that LHS does is discipline. They will write you up for most anything small, yet student will drink or smoke at school, and come into class smelling strongly of alchohol, cigarettes(sp?), or even weed. The school also takes the dress code way to seriously, for minor things like frayed pant legs you will get written up. The school even leaks when it rains, and roaches live in the walls. I definatly would not recomend bringing your kids into this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2006

Speakin as a former student of this school coming from a fantastic school system, the system at Lebanon H.S. is awful. The building should have been fixed, as in torn down and rebuilt, years ago. Instead of stepping forward, I took 3 steps back. The extracurricular activities need more money, and not to mention better facilities. Parental involvment is next to nil. The teachers don't care then students won't care, and if the students won't care most parents won't care. And again I speak as a former student. Parents if you want your child to get a great education, get them to a better school. Get them in a school where the staff cares.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
65%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

401 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
63%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

421 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

437 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
49%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students72%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students70%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students75%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students73%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students65%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students37%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
White42%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 67%
Black 14% 23%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

415 Harding Dr
Lebanon, TN 37087
Phone: (615) 444-9610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Advocate @ Y.E.S.
Lebanon, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT