Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wilson Central High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2011

Great school. Most of the teachers are great, principals are a lil to strict but other than that great school. Sports there are amazing, dress code has gotten better, the new lunch is great, and I'm proud to be a Wildcat!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

It is the BEST high school in Wilson County!There are so many nice teachers and staff just willing to help the parent as well as the child. Very caring staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

Wilson Central is an overall good school. It has various programs, and has a variety of classes to choose from. I feel that this is a great place to aim for success in your future life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2009

This school is not that great you need a school thats good at what you want to become and not what your forced to learn science teachers here need better teaching habbits soccer and softball are amazing here but all in all traffics bad top parking lots real bad honers have it the worst but they could find a way for strip shorts but its ok i guess
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2009

I am an attending freshman at this school and I love it here. The teachers and principals for the most part are really great. I wouldn't want to go to any other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2009

This school is awsome but to strict on dress code great teachers but some dont teach u anything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2009

I went to this school and the faculty know little about teens who suffer from mental illnesses and do nothing to help the parents when these situations arise in their children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2008

As a student of Wilson Central, I love it. Of course there are the students who just don't care and the teachers the same. Find me a school where it isn't that way. A large majority of students request honors coarses and are involved in athletics and performing arts. The athletic teams do quite well in my opinion and so do the choir and band. The dress code, you may ask? It is not the schools fault because it is the school board that ultimately decides. Plus it is really flexible and easy for your child to 'express themselves'. The admistration is run by the awesome Mr. Mayfield and the other ones, they could be a bit nicer. :) All in all, this school runs pretty smoothly and your child will recieve a better education than provided through the majority of the provided private schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2008

I personally love WCHS! It's the best school ever!!!!! I am an honors student in 10th grade and make all A's. Wilson Central is a huge influence in my life and it is what has helped make me into what I am today: a confident, outgoing, smart student! =)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

I have 2 daughters who choose to go to public school, after being home schooled for 7 years. Their disappointment comes in the lack of respect and desire for knowledge in the students. They feel the teachers try their best to teach in an environment that without rules would be much worse. Try it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

School is not very good because they are far to rule bound and have some of the most silly rules of any school, This school also seems to get students into trouble quite frequently for reasons that would not be considered bad in my opinion. I do not reccomend this school but if you are in this district you dont have much choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

I have had 2 daughters to go through WCHS. My oldest graduated in 2004 and my youngest is a current student. My experience has been with both administrations (original and current). I agree with the poster below that Mr Mayfield is terrific. The staff is involved and caring. Rarely a day can go by that the school isn't open and active well past dark. Given a choice I'd still send my girls to Central. And the dress code? Give me a break, we ALL adhere to a dress code and it certainly isn't going to kill them to dress APPROPRIATELY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2007

I'm a parent AND an employee at WCHS. Yes, the dress code is strict, but it's certainly not impossble. As for team hoodies, they can be worn around town, out on a date, at after school activities,etc - just not in class. That's pretty simple. Like most high schools, your child's experience will be what they make it. If your child chooses an academically challenging route, Central has plenty of AP classes and even a 'dual enrollment' course where they can take college classes from local professors and gain college credits. Both of my children chose this route and were well prepared for college and received full scholarships. Both of my kids played a varsity sport and one was also involved in the fine arts program, also good experiences. Our new principal, Mayfield, is FANTASTIC! He's righting the wrongs as quickly as he can. WC gets an A- .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

This school is very strict on their dress code, but that is mostly because of the school board. The School Board is one of the worst in the state, but the school is great. We have great athletic teams and great arts programs. The halls are really crowded, but they are planning on building an addition starting this fall, so that should help us witht the fullness of the school. Most of the teachers at Central a great and like doing what they do, with a few exceptions. Central is one of the best schools in the county and i would not want to go anywhere else. Most of the student body is so involved in activities in the school whether it be from sports to band to FFA to ROTC to Drama or whatever a person is interested in. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2005

I support a dress code, but I believe revisions need to be made. I speak for many parents at WHC. We belive that the students of all Wilson County schools and all grade should be able to wear their schoold logo, even if it is larger than 3x4. I purchased football and wrestling hoodies for my son. The WCH logo went across the chest. He was sent to ISS twice. He was told that he could wear the hoody inside out! That looks terrible. I could have gone to the local store and purchased my son a plain hoody for $5, instead of paying a higher price. I like supporting the school and the athletic programs. This dress code makes it impossible. Once again, I agree with a dress code, the students look nice. Athletes and non athletes are proud of their School. Each should be able to wear their school logo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2004

While I do not agree with the counties dress code and how spastically WCH enforces (or doesnt)I do believe my child is receiving a good education at this school. I do feel the principal should take into account needs, and reasoning behind needing to drop/add certain classes. His lack of interest in that aspect has been a disappointment. The school is still suffering from 'new school' growing pains, in that teachers are having to teach without text books, some classes are still needing basic equipment such as proper stools in drafting classes. A great deal of my expierence with WCHS is thru my daughter who is an academic over achiever. The students she associates with have more to do with my opinion of the school than that of actual interaction with faculty and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

Despite the advantages they portray in this advertisement, this school is highly overrated. The hallways are unpassable during class changes and this county's school system is one of the worst in the state. If your child has all A average, but misses because of the flu, expect to take finals. If your child is caught wearing a logo, frayed pants or even to tight/loose pants expect to either spend the day in iss or be sent home unexcused. As a parent this school seems more like a prison than a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
39%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
49%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

479 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
59%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

430 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

479 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

390 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students62%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students47%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students76%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students80%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students75%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students48%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 67%
Black 7% 24%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Asian 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

419 High School Dr
Lebanon, TN 37090
Phone: (615) 453-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Advocate @ Y.E.S.
Lebanon, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT