Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Madison, TN
Students enrolled: 382
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Joseph School 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
I have three children attending St. Joseph (for last six years) and I could not be more pleased with the school. The teachers are well-qualified and caring. It is truly a community effort as the parents and church get involved and support the school. Students graduating from St Josephs are prepared for a rigorous high school curriculum.

St Joseph School 5

Posted December 02, 2012
- a parent
We have been at St. Joseph for 5 years. This is an awesome school. Great teachers, administration and parents. Academically challenging. Overall great school. Go bulldogs!


St Joseph School 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
We have been at St. Joseph school now for 7 great years. We have three children in grades 5th,3rd and 1st currently. The special classes including art and language have been great. Our kids are also involved in sports, drama & choir. The St. Joseph School family is a great one to be involved with. Go Bulldogs!

St Joseph School 5

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
We have been sending our children to St. Joseph School for several years now and continue to be impressed with all aspects, including the staff and faculty, student body, facilities, as well as the many parents who willingly volunteer so much of their time to the many programs and events. Did I also mention the Dominican Nuns who teach there are AWESOME? They are an inspiration to both parents and students! Since enrolling our oldest child there eight years ago, we have seen improvements such as instituting bus service for Hendersonville and Gallatin students, implementing a 'talented and gifted' program for exceptional students, and investing heavily in classroom technology to provide the latest desktop computers, 'smart boards,' and overhead projectors that allow teachers to incorporate powerpoint presentations and Internet-based learning in the classroom. My wife and I recommend St. Joseph School without reservation!

St Joseph School 1

Posted October 06, 2008
- a student
Do not send your child to St. Joseph School. I was treated very meanly by the students and all they care about is popularity. I just moved to a public school and they act nicer than most of the people at St. Joseph. Nothing important is there. And plus there is a racist teacher who aims at Asian children who makes your average grade low on purpose. Please consider another school. Students need to be more disciplined. Some of the student talk about drugs and sex, and I'm surprised that none of the people do that at my public school. It is crowded there also. They keep attracting more people to consider more students going there, but there is simply no space. And the lunch program is expensive just for a very very small serving of food.


St Joseph School 3

Posted October 26, 2006
- a parent
Although we feel the education program is very good, the teacher/student ratio is very high in our class. We agree that attracting more students to the school is important, but not when it comes to the sacrifice of one or two classes. When a class size is double the size of most other classes, then that class should have an additional teacher added to keep the class size down. If the school does not have the space to accommodate than maybe they shouldn't be expanding. The large class size impacts both the teachers and the students and forces the focus away from education to that of discipline, which is why we choose private vs public to begin with. This school is not addressing this issue and the parents had no input to the decision to increase the class size this significantly.

St Joseph School 5

Posted May 17, 2006
- a parent
St. Joseph's is a great education for a child. Small Teacher/Student ratios and teachers that actually want to be at the school and teach. Wonderful religious grounding for the children! The parents and administration are working toward making the school better every year.

St Joseph School 5

Posted April 13, 2006
- a parent
St. Joseph Catholic School has been such a pleasant surprise for our family. We were very excited about the accelerated reading program and the enthusiasm that our 1st grader brings home about school and learning. The teachers truly put each child's learning first and at their own pace. Their Pre K program is first rate. The curriculum for the Pre K was a Kindergarden curriculum at a slightly slower pace. They definitely give the students a step ahead of the rest! The new principal is a dream to work with. The student's learning and teachers resources are her first priority. All in all it provides the children with a wonderful academic background with a loving Christian atmosphere.


St Joseph School 2

Posted July 03, 2005
- a parent
Poor safety supervision of children. Unprofessional and gossipy staff. Very cliquish PTO and parents. Greatly decreases parent participation among ALL. What used to be a very nurturing environment has turned into an almost hateful atomosphere within the school.

St Joseph School 5

Posted May 13, 2004
- a parent
SJS is a wonderful school, where children receive a quality education in a loving, Catholic environment. The teachers are first-rate and dedicated to helping their students reach their full potential, spiritually and academically!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joseph School
1225 Gallatin Pike South, Madison, TN  37115
(615) 865-1491
Last modified St Joseph School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Joseph School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top