Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
382 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Joseph School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a community member
As already stated, this is a faith based school that fully develops students into intelligent and compassionate persons. It provides a well rounded education.

St Joseph School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a community member
The school is faith based and honesty, integrity and fairness is a major component. instilling morals, along with excellent academics is a primary concern of the school. Three generations of our family has attended.


St Joseph School 5

Posted January 08, 2016
- a community member
It's an academic and faith based school with small classroom numbers that allows teachers to spend more time with each student. It is definitely geared toward students who plan to eventually enter college.

St Joseph School 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
I have three children attending St. Joseph (for last six years) and I could not be more pleased with the school. The teachers are well-qualified and caring. It is truly a community effort as the parents and church get involved and support the school. Students graduating from St Josephs are prepared for a rigorous high school curriculum.

St Joseph School 5

Posted December 02, 2012
- a parent
We have been at St. Joseph for 5 years. This is an awesome school. Great teachers, administration and parents. Academically challenging. Overall great school. Go bulldogs!


St Joseph School 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
We have been at St. Joseph school now for 7 great years. We have three children in grades 5th,3rd and 1st currently. The special classes including art and language have been great. Our kids are also involved in sports, drama & choir. The St. Joseph School family is a great one to be involved with. Go Bulldogs!

St Joseph School 5

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
We have been sending our children to St. Joseph School for several years now and continue to be impressed with all aspects, including the staff and faculty, student body, facilities, as well as the many parents who willingly volunteer so much of their time to the many programs and events. Did I also mention the Dominican Nuns who teach there are AWESOME? They are an inspiration to both parents and students! Since enrolling our oldest child there eight years ago, we have seen improvements such as instituting bus service for Hendersonville and Gallatin students, implementing a 'talented and gifted' program for exceptional students, and investing heavily in classroom technology to provide the latest desktop computers, 'smart boards,' and overhead projectors that allow teachers to incorporate powerpoint presentations and Internet-based learning in the classroom. My wife and I recommend St. Joseph School without reservation!

St Joseph School 1

Posted October 06, 2008
- a student
Do not send your child to St. Joseph School. I was treated very meanly by the students and all they care about is popularity. I just moved to a public school and they act nicer than most of the people at St. Joseph. Nothing important is there. And plus there is a racist teacher who aims at Asian children who makes your average grade low on purpose. Please consider another school. Students need to be more disciplined. Some of the student talk about drugs and sex, and I'm surprised that none of the people do that at my public school. It is crowded there also. They keep attracting more people to consider more students going there, but there is simply no space. And the lunch program is expensive just for a very very small serving of food.


St Joseph School 3

Posted October 26, 2006
- a parent
Although we feel the education program is very good, the teacher/student ratio is very high in our class. We agree that attracting more students to the school is important, but not when it comes to the sacrifice of one or two classes. When a class size is double the size of most other classes, then that class should have an additional teacher added to keep the class size down. If the school does not have the space to accommodate than maybe they shouldn't be expanding. The large class size impacts both the teachers and the students and forces the focus away from education to that of discipline, which is why we choose private vs public to begin with. This school is not addressing this issue and the parents had no input to the decision to increase the class size this significantly.

St Joseph School 5

Posted May 17, 2006
- a parent
St. Joseph's is a great education for a child. Small Teacher/Student ratios and teachers that actually want to be at the school and teach. Wonderful religious grounding for the children! The parents and administration are working toward making the school better every year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joseph School
1225 Gallatin Pike South, Madison, TN  37115
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (615) 865-1491
Last modified St Joseph School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top