Advertisement
Advertisement

Goodpasture High School

Private | 9-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Madison

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2013

Goodpasture Christian School has been a tremendous blessing to our family. Both of our children have received an excellent education and have been offered numerous college scholarships based on ACT scores and achievement. Both of our children also received over 15 hours of college credit prior to graduating, but many students graduate with between 30 and 40 hours of college credit completed. Although Goodpasture offers several dual enrollment college courses taught by adjunct college professors and many AP courses as well, perhaps the greatest thing about Goodpasture is the spiritual emphasis. Students from all faiths are welcomed and loved as children of God. Students are taught that each child is unique and special in God's eyes. Goodpasture has almost 900 students, and over 225 are children of alumni. That is a huge statement of confidence in the school! We would not want our children to be anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

Goodpasture is a valuable investment in the future. Of all the opportunities and experiences that my husband and I are striving to offer our children, attending Goodpasture is among the top. It is an environment where they can experience high academic learning, competitive extra curricular activities, and spiritual and moral growth that will impact their life from this point forward. This school is unique in its ability to offer many experiences where its students, ages 1 yr. old- Seniors, can interact regularly with one another in ways that offer learning, mentoring and serving opportunities. Nearly 30 years ago, I met my best friend in Goodpasture's Little Red Schoolhouse; I loved cheering with some great girls through middle school and high school; somewhere between the Christmas Food Drive and Calculus, I made lifelong friends; and I married my high school sweetheart whom also graduated from Goodpasture. How thankful I am that I still have those relationships today, and to see so many of those people back at Goodpasture with their children! And while I am so thankful for Goodpasture and the way it enriched my life, I truly believe it has much more to offer our children today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Goodpasture Christian School is in its 48th school year. I believe others should know that Goodpasture is welcoming to all faiths who put their hope and confidence in Jesus Christ. Many of our faculty and staff have worked at GCS for over 20 years and the level of loyalty to our students and to our school is unmatched. Since our school is debt free, our tuition levels make Goodpasture Christian School one of the best values in Middle Tennessee for excellence in Christian / private education. I am impressed that so many of our families sacrifice greatly for their child to attend Goodpasture. We are a school of excellence, but we do not try to have an elitest mindset. We Build Confidence in each of our students, as well as, as nurturing their Spiritual Strength and developing them Intellectually and Cognitively. Our school has improved greatly in recent years with the vast improvements we have made in technology and in our teacher development.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 26, 2013

Absolutely love this school! I went here for 12 years and they were the best 12 years of my life. Not only are the academics great, but the spiritual side has blessed my life so much.


Posted July 3, 2013

Native Nashvillian here AND raised church of christ as well. I know many people that attended Goopasture and even a few kids there now. I will have to say that some of the other reviews are spot on concerning the un-christian like atmosphere. Church of christ churches suffer from this as well - very cliquish and cold. Additionally, I have found the quality of education to be below that of what one should expect from a private school. Just on par with a good public school (not an oxymoron). Also, they suffer from a lack of quality kids in enrollment. I would think that the students would be more motivated knowing their parents are paying for it. Education also suffers due to attempted indoctrination. They should take a lesson from the Catholic schools and don't beat you with their beliefs during school.


Posted June 5, 2013

The academics seemed too easy and I found out I was behind when I switched over to one of the magnet schools. Students at the pubic school also act a lot more Christian-like than most of the ones here. I even found it hard to believe this school represents the Church of Christ, or any church at all. The hostile snooty un-Christian-like environment is enough to make you run for the hills. Cant believe you have to actually pay money to go here. Man, what a dump.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2013

Best choice we made for our children was to take advantage of the education Goodpasture has to offer. Not only are they soaring academically, they are growing in their spiritual walk daily with the help of Christian educators who can freely share their faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

The school is ridiculous. If you haven't been there since day 1 you are not accepted easily and as for sports if you haven't had a sibling go there or goes there or if you don't know the coach's very well you have a hard time at sports academics are not very good either to easy and the school just over all does not strive for execellence


Posted September 16, 2003

The academic quality of Goodpasture Christian School combined with a Christian atmosphere give students the tools they need to meet life's challenges and be future leaders of our country. Your child is worth the investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

619 Due West Avenue
Madison, TN 37115
Phone: (615) 868-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Madison Academy
Madison, TN


Davidson Academy
Nashville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT