Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carpenters Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2013

I defiantly rate this school at a five. The teachers and faculty are very nice to the students and help the children in any way they can. They are also easy to talk to if you have any concerns about your child. I have seen major improvements come from my children as a result from attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

CMS is the best school EVER. There's a certain 8th grade history teacher who is probably the best history teacher ever. CMS is clean, with GREAT teachers, and an AMAZING staff. The administrators are the best I've ever had. They really get to know the students. The rules actually work. And the Cougar Cash rewards system is actually a good thing. The teachers are all understanding and very cool. I wish more schools were like this! The teachers here have made this school one of the best school's I've ever attend. I LOVE CARPENTERS MIDDLE SCHOOL!


Posted August 11, 2010

I can't say enough positive attributes about CMS. Both of our kids had the priviledge of attending CMS ~~ it was the best 5 years of our lives! I had heard from other parents how horrible the middle school years were at any school but CMS is the exception to the rule. Our children excelled and wanted to go to school everyday. The faculty really care about the overall well being of all students on and off campus. Any teacher really stood by an open door policy. This school should be rated 5 stars! Both of our kids have graduated from CMS and have moved on to William Blount High School. We will miss CMS! They have best faculty and principal! It is group effort that they take seriously everyday in teaching your child and keeping them safe ~~~ Priceless!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

The teachers try to do fun activities that is just embarassing to otheres the students should have a choice of whether tthey want to play or not.If a student is having trouble in school confront them and ask if they would like to be in a after school class or a study hall.


Posted November 19, 2007

I love the individualized attention given to each child's needs. My son excels at school and it is in no small part to the great teachers at CMS. You are appreciated more than you know, thank you for caring about our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2006

Carpenters is an excellent school. My daugher came there from Maryville Christian where she would come home with 3 hrs of homework and made very little academic progress in the year she was there. WOW what a difference Carpenters was! She has advanced so much this year-making A/B honor roll and even Principals honor roll one 9 weeks. The teachers are GREAT and very easy to communicate with. The few times I called, I was called back within the hour most of the time. Everyone seems very involved and vested in the children and the school and it shows. I cannot think of a bad thing to say. Say what you will about 'county' schools, but this is one county school that can blow all those other schools out of the water!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

My son started this school this first year it opened - 2001. We moved from Illinois, where he had to go to private school because of learning disabilities that the school system there just couldn't deal with. What a difference Carpenter's was! They welcomed him with open arms and made every accomodation necessary without one complaint. They made him number one! He flourished, and by the time he graduated from 8th grade, a kid who would never do his work, was asking for work to do! My dauther is going to graduate from there this year, we will really miss it. It's been the best school my kids have ever attended. Thank you to the the teachers, principal and all of the staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

I think this school is excellent. The teachers for the most part seem very competent and are even liked by the children. I have two children there now and out of 8 or 10 teachers, there is only one whom my child does not feel is teaching what is needed to address the subject. The principal and vice principal are wonderful. They are motivational and fair, and they really believe that the children are wonderful and tell them every morning to 'go be excellent.' The children also like them but respect them also. Wonderful school. Wouldn't change if I had the chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 67%
Black 1% 23%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 980-1404

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

920 Huffstetler Rd
Maryville, TN 37803
Phone: (865) 980-1414

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT