Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maryville High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2013

I attended an incoming freshman student meeting designed for parents. This was the summer before Maryville opened up the Maryville 9th Grade Academy at the former Maryville Middle School, now designated as the Maryville Junior High School??? This meeting consisted of 45 minutes of bragging about ACT scores at MHS, but very little about a student's adjustment to MHS. It turned-out to be a pointless 1 hour+ meeting. Before you prepare to hold a meeting with incoming parents, please consider what these parents and incoming students may need to know, and create a script with that information outlined. DO NOT waste the parent's and student's time bragging for 45+ minutes about your past success on the ACT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

This school is all about popularity, religion, and money. The school is all good 'ol boy operated. Staff cares nothing about students, only the football team. Many students are rich and snobby, while I have seen much pot smokers. Theschool is old and is typical the souther bible belt views and beliefs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2010

I strongly suggest not sending your child here i attended three years here and i was finally able to move to start my senior year. People talk about the county schools in the area being drug schools. I have never in my life seen so many pot smokers in one place. But of course most kids parents are rich and allow their perfect children to pull the hood over there eyes and would never believe their kids would do drugs. This is a severely preppy school with severely stuck up parents, teachers, principles, and students. If football is the reason you want to send your kid here think twice and send them to one of the knoxville private schools that win state every year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2010

Maryville High School has been known in the past as a great school, however, it has lost it compassion and love for the students. It is very test driven and score focused. Teachers are frustrated with the lack of leadership quality and they take it out on the kids with sarcasm and humiliation. This school needs some up-to-date training on how students learn. The school can not accomodate the population adequately which is another frustration for both students and teachers. The school board and director needs to step-up and take charge, by providing adequate space, qualified teahers that care about the whole student, and competent administrators. It is no longer about being a great football team. There is more important things to address. The new school being built in Maryville should be a NEW HIGH SCHOOL not an intermediate school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

My boys are receiving an excellent education and life experience at Maryville High. Just another step in developing great men and the final school in an excellent system!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

I think that some of the people talking negative about Maryville High may need to look at their children first. My children are getting a fantastic education from Maryville and we are very middle class. I think if you look at the academic standards set forth my Maryville, they stand tall compared to any school in Tennessee. The average ACT score is a 24.1 where the state is sligtly over 20. Another great thing is that over 90% of graduates go to a 4 yr college, regardless of income or social status. The school is very well rounded when it comes to Theater, Music, Athletics and Academics. We are blessed to have found Maryville schools and are children will have a great education. Oh, by the way, we have a Senior, 8th grader and 5th grader. We have had the opportunity to have children in all phases of the School system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

We absolutely hate Maryville City Schools. Our son has had problems from day one. We moved here Michigan where the school systems are top notch and don't boast about it day and night. He was picked on for being a 'Yankee'. If your child is a male and not involved in football, be prepared for the problems. We have tried to work with the teachers on up to the principal and we are treated as if we have no right to question a decision. If anyone asked me if they should send their kids to Maryville, the answer would be NO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

Looking at it from an alumni's point of view, I disagree with a lot of the statements below. I went to MHS and I wasn't in AP or Honors class, nor did I participate in sports, and I still got treated fairly. Unless you have gone to the school and spent at least a year or two there, no one can really say that their programs aren't good or they need new ones, because if it weren't for MHS I wouldn't be as advanced in college as I am. Also when it comes to english classes, students who went to other area highschools has no idea, or most of the time, they had no idea what MLA format was or how to write an english paper correctly.Lastly, some parents should take a good look at their children & try to figure out why they aren't fitting in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2008

I rate the Education that Maryville gives to its students at a 10, but I give the school a very low mark when it comes to how students are treated that transfer from out of state. If you are not from the state, you are labeled right away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

My children have attended Maryville schools, and absolutely hated the experience. The school is extremeley cliquish. The only things that matter are sports and family Income. I attended a very prestigious Medical/Professional University, which I was able to get into academically, not because of my family income. While I was there, it was obvious that the students that were there bought their way into universities, not by performing academically. My kids are motivated with school and get good grades, but don' t fit in because they wear the wrong clothes. So what exactly are they teaching there? PS. My university makes Vanderbilt look like a grade school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

My second and youngest daughter graduated from Maryville High last year. She is now attedning college in Virginia with a very decent scholarship. My oldest daughter graduated 2 years prior and will be graduating college next year and credits her education at maryville high for helping her thru college. Most of their closest friends also landed scholarships at good colleges, including Vanderbilt. Maryville High school prepares students well for college. They have to work, they are challenged thru advanced classes but they do succeed in college. Yes, like any school there could be improvements, but if your child seeks to learn, is willing to work and wants to go onto college, Maryville High school is the school that can help them..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

MHS is becoming overcrowded and may be renovating to accomodate the ridiculous number of 2200 plus students. This is still up in the air. Our sons fit in well here. Fortunately our boys have had sufficient life experiences elsewhere that enabled them to rise above the need to spend money to fit in. Very religious here, too. This was a minus for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I attended Maryville High School, and my son is now a Freshman. My sister and I attended four year universities. The quality of the academic programs at Maryville helped us tremendously. My sister never made higher than a 'B' on an English paper, but her English teacher at Bostan University thought she wrote well enough to be an English major. I work in Oak Ridge, but I live in Maryville because of the school system. People like to talk about state championships in sports, but I am more impressed by the character and integrity that the coaching staff has. I also enjoy my access to my son's teachers. I get one on one time with them as often as I need, and they are great at using email to inform me. Ratings are always subjective, but I can't imagine a better high school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

I currently attend Maryville High. I am going to be a sophomore, and I enjoy every second of school. I have a small group of friends in the band, but we all have fun. The arts program is very well, the teachers are all nice with the exception of a few. The only thing I dislike is that sports have a higher place over the band and drama section. That is okay, though, because the sports are wonderful. I love all the courses I took over the past three years. I'm excited to take my classes this year. There are cliques, but where aren't there? To those of you wo complain about it, they aren't leaving. Cliques will follow you everywhere you go. I love it here. Everything about it is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2006

As a recent graduate of Maryville High School, I feel that the quality of education that I received is very high. I now attend a private, very selective, 4-year college. I am positive that Maryville High School prepared me well for this institution. MHS offers many AP and honors classes for their students to make the best of their high school education. I do believe that teachers are more geared towards 4-year colleges, however, somehow I don't see this as a bad thing. Teachers expect the most out of their students. I think that's why a 4-year degree is pressed so hard upon students. As far as extracurricular activities go, I was always busy. MHS has a standard of excellence where students involvement is concerned as well. High school is always clique-ish. I never felt like I fit in, but I don't blame that on the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 14, 2006

I also graduated from Maryville. I think that Maryville is geared more towards those students who are college bound. I also think that Maryville is geared more towards those students who are going into a 4 year college and not those who are starting out at a 2 year college such as myself. Maryville does have its groups of certain kinds of people who hang out together - but what school dosen't? If I had to choose between schools in Blount County, I would choose either Maryville or Alcoa for the academic programs that seem to excel over the others. But that cannot be the ONLY reason you send your child to Maryville. They do seem to be lakcing on their other vocations - such as shop, woodworking, etc... I still had a great 4 years there though. :-) Although it was a while back.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 23, 2005

I graduated from Maryville. I think it should be noted that this school is very clique minded, and that children who do not come from a family with a large income do not fit in very well. Emphasis is placed on college readiness, however students who have other interests such as vocational, arts, music, etc., are left in the shadows. This staff at the school is very snobby--once you get to know them. They, too, seem to generally look down on students who are not heading off to a four year university. This is not the school for a child who has trouble fitting in. Many of the students drive vehicles that are more expensive than cars driven by many adults I know. (It should be noted that while I did fit in, hindsight has opened up my eyes to the many faults of Maryville.)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 2, 2004

I feel confident that Maryville City Schools have the highest quality educational program in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
59%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
55%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students24%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White22%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students72%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students86%
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students73%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 67%
Black 3% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hispanic 1% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

825 Lawrence Av
Maryville, TN 37803
Phone: (865) 982-1132

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT