Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montvale Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
They make sure me and my children understand and are very patient and all on the same page. Very kind. I have no idea how you all do what you do. You are under paid, under appreciated, looked over,... You are doing the most important jobs in the world. Shaping our children into wonderful, kind, smart, polite,.. people. If I could change it. You all would be making millions. Our children are the future. They are our biggest and best accomplishment we could and will ever get to be apart of! You always find time to write encouraging notes and work hard to help them in the areas they need to improve in. You, Mrs. Elrod, Mrs. Finley, Mr. Jackson, Mr. Brooks make my boys experience at school a joy and they are so very smart and doing so well. Thank you all for pouring all you have into this work. The most important work and hardest. You are all made for these positions and have followed your calling. We appreciate you all so very much. Thank you for always making the time to call or meet and help me help them.

Montvale Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Everyone!!!! You all flow so well together and get the job done. Every staff member. whether cafeteria staff, teacher, office, bus driver, gym, substitute,..... One could not function properly without the other. You all work hard to provide a safe and loving and very homey environment for my boys Danny and David lambert! You are all doing fantastic. NO one is perfect but as a whole unit you are. You all compliment each other so very well. I am always overwhelmed with smiles and genuine kindness when I am able to come see my boys for lunch or pick them up early


Montvale Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Sometimes to much but it does help them reiterate what they learned during the day and does help them retain it better. there needs to be more hours in the day so we can accomplish homework, supper, showers, and more snuggle and reading time at night. lol My children are 6 and 9 so bed time is around 7:30 and they get home around 4. After we all have been working all day, the kids job is school, we are just wiped out but everything seems to be coming along just fine and as long as they are improving. I will not complain. :)

Montvale Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
yes My older boy struggled with reading when he first got there but now he reads us our bedtime story. He has help when he needs it but they encourage him to try and figure it out which is what he needed and I did not know that I was hindering him till now. He has improved so much and is so very smart and proud! My little guy is learning so very fast even though he wasn't able to go to preschool. Awesome teachers

Montvale Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Amazing school and Staff! My boys love it and the office staff, teachers, bus drivers, cafeteria staff, substitute teachers, volunteers are a blessing to our family! thank you mrs. wilson


Montvale Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
This is the best school my boys have been in. we have moved twice. my boys look forward to going to school everyday. the teachers are amazing, kind and patient and the office staff are very funny and welcoming! #10 bus driver is a great woman and makes my boys laugh! Mrs. Finley, Mr. Brooks and Mrs.Elrod have blessed Daniel and David Lambert and we have seen such wonderful improvement. They are truely dedicated to their children and are changing lives everyday. So thankful for the school and all the hard work, time and care the whole staff puts into communicating with the parents and encouraging the children to grow and make learning exciting. This could be really long but I think the point is clear. You all are doing amazing and were made for your careers. This was your calling and you are exactly where you need to be. No one else could do what you all are doing the way you all do it! Amazing Job guys sincerely, Mrs. Wilson

Montvale Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
yes, I have spent time with them there at the school at lunch times and have noticed how well behaved the children are and obedient they are. My boys also tell me new ways that they learn to walk quietly, share, listen,.....

Montvale Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
My children wake up excited to go to school and come home with smiles on their sweet little faces! they cant wait to tell me about their day! Thank you


Montvale Elementary School 3

Posted December 17, 2012
- a parent
most of the teachers of this school are very good and will work with you as for the person that said its the parents fault they have problems ether dont have a child that has a easy time at school or has had the good teacher at this school i've went through 5 of these teachers and trust me it makes a difference as for the meetings i organized a meeting with one the teachers and was told 5 people including the princaple and teacher one person showed up and i've never seen here before in my experance a few of the teachers rely on there student to do everything thereselves and when thay ask for help there told to go sit down and if they dont get done they just send it home for the parents to deal with it one year i got a packet of work everyday that was classwork and it was because my son didnt understant how to do it so from the time he came home to the time he went to bed it was homework time

Montvale Elementary School 4

Posted January 23, 2012
- a parent
My child has attended Montvale for the past 4 years. We have had fabulous teachers 3 of those years, one in her first year of teaching and really didn't know what to do. The principal is a good person. He knows the kids, works the halls, even helps with morning drop off and afternoon pick up. He knows his school and his kids. I have never been to any school function or away ball games or anything associated to Montvale where he wasn't there. This is a school with very economically diverse families yet everyone is treated equal. Yes, there are schools with better scores in the area but you can't leave your child's education up to the schools alone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montvale Elementary School
3128 Montvale Road, Maryville, TN  37803
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (865) 983-2666
Last modified Montvale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top