Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Paul Elementary School

Private | PK-6

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Memphis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $54,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $640.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2012

I went to St.Paul"s in seventh and eight grade. I do not think they now have those grades in St. Pauls. While there was plenty of help for class, sadly in eight grade there was a teacher that really was awful!!!!! She allowed others to tease me and she herself was the ring leader. This one teacher was spoken to by my parents and doctor, there was no help for me. Even after spoken to by the principal, I was still targeted and treated unfair. IN the years to come it has taken alot to work through these issues.


Posted May 19, 2010

My child has been at St Paul since PK-3. It is a good and caring atmosphere howeveer, not perfect. The teachers are great the school secretary is very caring and loving also the cafeteria and maintenance staff is really great. I compared the school with other Catholic and Public Schools and they are up to standards and in some areas ahead that is a big plus. The do need some type of music program for 1st thru 3rd grade for children. We now have a new computer lab thru support from donors and the PTO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

I have 2 children who has attended St. Paul since Pre-K4. I am very pleased with the school overall. A Spanish class would be a bonus
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

I have been a teacher with St Paul Catholic School for 12 years. I have truely enjoyed teaching here. The kids are sweet and thoughtful and love learning. The parents who can and choose to volunteer thier time and efforts are always welcome. Our program is for children Pre-k 3 through 6th grade. Our technology program is up and running thanks to the many past and present donors and contibutors witha new lab and computers in each classroom and still growing. Our music/drama department is lively and dramatic,ask any student in the choir... The boys and girls are very excited each season to play the various sports offered with the help of our parent coaches. Private school means participation of all invovled: parents and faculty/staff. Come see for yourself how much we have to offer and how your 're welcomed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 22, 2009

St Paul offers education in a Christian environment, something that our children are lacking in public schools. As for extra curricular activities, private schools always have fees for sports programs. There is not a language program, but there is an up to date technology program with a as well as an intro to band and music/arts. I have never been turned away for wanting to help in the school. In this day most parents must work to provide for our kids. This school provides the nurturing and educational needs the students need. I am pleased to be a St Paul Parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2007

All extra curricula activities will cost extra! No foreign language, computer class, band or orchestra. Parents really not welcomed for observations or assistance of any kind. This is like getting a McDonald's meal at the cost of a dinner for 4 at a fancy restaurant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2007

If you are looking for a nurturing environment for your child then consider this school. If you are looking for academic rigor, LOOK ELSEWHERE! This school is overpriced for what it offers, no foreign language- no up to date computer lab, no in-house resources (guidance, asst. prin. ((the librarian is the PE teacher and the Asst. Principal)), you pay for any extra sports)) THIS SCHOOL IS A RIP OFF!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

This is a very good school. My daughter goes to this school and it is so beautiful there and everyone is so nice and kind. If you want your child to be in such a fine institution you child/children to grow.And to be better Christians in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1425 East Shelby Drive
Memphis, TN 38116
Phone: (901) 346-0862

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT