Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Memphis, TN
Students enrolled: 534
Before care: No

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

St. Louis Elementary School 2

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
Unfortuantely most of the other commetns are correct regarding the sense of elitism and social status at this school. Parents are mean and little johnny thins he can do whatever he wqants. Changes were made 5 years ago regarding teachers and the adminstration. I have held my breath for the last 5 years waiting to see if the changes were effective. Sure we spent millions of dollars renovating the church, adding a junion high wing, and new youth center. Unfortuantely the changes were a complete failure to our children's education. Test scores have actually decreased since changes were made. Let me repeat - the changes have harmed our children. Likewise, we cannot get permanent qualifed teachers in the upper grades. If you are considering this school simply ask how many teachers are licensed to teach in a TN school. The reason the previous teachers were fired was because they were too strict (pretty ironic reason since this is a Catholic school). We replaced them with unqualified personnel. I feel my oldest is not prepared for high school and am pulling my other two children this year to attend other schools. There are numeorus o tehr private and public schools in the area that are superior to SLS.

St. Louis Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2014
- a parent
St. Louis is a wonderful school. I have two children in school here, and both are happy, learning, cared for and loved. From a Faith side, they are grounded by the Catholic faith and are immersed in a God centered atmosphere. From an academic side, they are challenged, pushed, and are given high expectations. From a social side, they are involved, happy, and surrounded by friends. The teachers here truly care how your child is doing both academically and socially. The administrators work tirelessly to keep this school constantly seeking improvements to better it in every way. I highly recommend this school!!

St. Louis Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
Very nurturing environment that is very conducive to learning. The new leadership has been paramount to St. Louis school's overall success.

St. Louis Elementary School 1

Posted January 04, 2014
- a community member
To start the education is average and you are better sending your child to St.Dominic or St. Agnes because they offer a much better education. If you are not involved in things including all social, academic, sport, and religious event it is impossible to find a group of friends. Most of the staff are not qualified and do not do a good job at teaching for example last year they went through three grammar teachers in the junior high which caused the eighth graders (now freshman) to struggle in highschool. The principal and vice principal avoid conflicts that would harm them with popular important parents and social figures so they make examples of all of the students who are not important in their eyes. They have truely harmed kids by doing this and ignore that fact. The education is okay at best and your child is almost garunteed to be bullied and harmed physically and mentally. They do not try to give each student a fair chance at sucess and do a very poor job preparing students for highschool. If you send your child here with no connections or without being an alumni then you will be let down in every way. This school is a pitiful and has harmed more children than it has helped

St. Louis Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
St. Louis Cathlic School in Memphis, TN. My husband and I have two children. One has already moved onto to high school. He is excelling in high school thanks to the fantastic teachers and administratio at St Louis. The ground work they laid has made the transaction to high school seamless. He is still friends with many of his SLS peers but has also made new friends as well. We still have one child in school at SLS. He is also having a great experience. As the mom of these two children, I did not grow up Catholic or was not involved in the catholic community growing up. Neither of us is an alumni of St Louis. We have always felt at home at St Louis. We look forward to each new school as it begins!!

St. Louis Elementary School 3

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately, most of the other posts here are spot on...although the lower grades (K-3) are MUCH less snobby than the upper grades. If you attended St Louis and know alot of people, then you will fit right in. But, don't expect to attend a PTA meeting and find people rushing over to introduce themselves. It doesn't happen here no matter how involved you try to be. Hopefully, some of these 'insider' parents will be moving onto high schools soon and the school will become more welcoming to 'outsiders'---there is no way to know for sure though. Academically, the school is average. I don't feel as if my children are "smarter" than children at other schools. St Louis is the type of school where kids will do fine if they are the type to do fine. It is nothing special academically. There are a couple of teachers who still need to retire because their teaching drive has gone away (for instance, one paints her nails during class and uses handouts to 'teach'). I will say that the Vice Principal is wonderful and welcoming in every single way. She should really be the Principal and I have no idea why this hasn't happened.

St. Louis Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
As with any school, there are positives and negatives. In this case, the positives far outweigh the negatives. St. Louis has many, many active parents that volunteer throughout the school. There are plays and concerts and sports and service organizations. The teachers are there to organize and the parents are there to support. I have three children that graduated from St. Louis and I am very happy with their education. St. Louis is one of the bigger Catholic schools in the area, so there is lots of competition for your little Johnny if he wants to be the star quarterback on the football team. At the same time, there are so many sports offered because it is a larger school. Golf and tennis and cross country and other individual sports to go along with the football and basketball and baseball. Plus the academic clubs, like Junior Beta and Knowledge Bowl and the Math Club. There is something for every child. I highly recommend St. Louis School. Read the negative reviews and remember the positive ones as well. Stop by and talk to the principal and the pastor. See if this school is the right fit for your family. It was for mine.

St. Louis Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a community member
I was a student at St. Louis for nine years and I had an amazing time at this school. It was very easy to get involved and participate. I still have all of my friends that I went here with and they are now more like brothers and sisters to me. I think this is why "outsiders" think the parents are so snobby. This school creates amazing bonds between the people that you grew up with and you fall in love with the school and send your children there. Many of the parents went to school together and are already friends from St. Louis or SAA or CBHS. They are not snobby, they just know the "insider" parents very well. To all you parents complaining about this problem, why would you pull your child out of an amazing school because you are having problems becoming friends with other moms? Sounds selfish to me. Try to get more involved because your child will always look back at this time as an amazing experience that helped shaped them to become the person that they will be become.

St. Louis Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2012
- a parent
St. Louis is a very good school, with a strong curriculum, strong teachers who work hard to give your child a wonderful academic experience. I have been a parent there for nine years, and I still marvel at this gift of a school we have in East Memphis. Is it perfect? Of course not, no school is. But our principal greatly desires to make it the best school it can possibly be. I am not from Memphis, and I did not go to St. Louis myself, and yet, I have never stuggled to make friends, to find opportunites to be involved, to feel that I am part of a community. Our principal and vice principal have an open-door policy. I know, I've used it. They listen, they care. They tell parents to call them at school if their child is having a bad day, and they will make a point to check in on that child during the day. That's the kind of people we have running our school and caring for our children. I also love that the Catholic faith is first and foremost at school. We are proud to be Catholic and it is taught every day, in every way. If you are interested in finding a great school for your child, go visit St. Louis Catholic School.

St. Louis Elementary School 2

Posted July 28, 2012
- a community member
I was a student at this school for nine years and did not enjoy it. I liked it up until the point when the new principal came. She changed everything and I feel like St. Louis lost it's originality and tradition. All the past and unforgettable teachers were either fired or retired and it made the school not feel so much like home. The kids are annoying and mean to new-comers. Also, new parents are not very welcomed unless they have deep roots within the school. Don't send your kid here. Go to Holy Rosary.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Louis Elementary School
5192 Shady Grove Road, Memphis, TN  38117
(901) 682-9692
Last modified St. Louis Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Louis Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top