Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
534 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Louis Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
St. Louis is a wonderful school! We have been here for 6 years now and are absolutely in love with the faculty, staff, and other families. It is a real community of friends. I didn't attend SLS as a child and have been welcomed with open arms. I DID get involved with the parent club right away, which helped me to meet other moms. Having attended public schools myself, I LOVE that my kids are able to explore their faith while they get a fantastic education.

St. Louis Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
The Principal and Assistant Principal have taken this school to the next level. What was already a happy, safe environment for kids, is now all of that and more!! I am amazed at all of the opportunities available to my kids, even with such a small student body. Thanks to both of these great women for their leadership and hard work!!


St. Louis Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are here because they want to be. They are very effective and test scores prove it!!

St. Louis Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
My oldest is entering 4th grade. So far the homework load has been fine. My daughter is able to practice the skills she learns at school and have time to play and relax.

St. Louis Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Students are challenged in academics, sports, and other extra curricular activities. Persistence, grit, and determination are rewarded and kids are able discover all of their unique talents.


St. Louis Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Students are expected to respect themselves and others. The teachers reward good behavior and have a strict discipline policy for those that don't follow the rules.

St. Louis Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
The school counselors, teachers, and staff all care a great deal for the students. My children definitely feel loved and cared for!

St. Louis Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Students are encouraged to make good choices starting in preschool. They are taught to share, to do their own work, and to treat each other with respect. Consequences for misbehavior are age appropriate and fair so that students can learn from their mistakes and develop good character before they move on to high school.


St. Louis Elementary School 2

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
Unfortuantely most of the other commetns are correct regarding the sense of elitism and social status at this school. Parents are mean and little johnny thins he can do whatever he wqants. Changes were made 5 years ago regarding teachers and the adminstration. I have held my breath for the last 5 years waiting to see if the changes were effective. Sure we spent millions of dollars renovating the church, adding a junion high wing, and new youth center. Unfortuantely the changes were a complete failure to our children's education. Test scores have actually decreased since changes were made. Let me repeat - the changes have harmed our children. Likewise, we cannot get permanent qualifed teachers in the upper grades. If you are considering this school simply ask how many teachers are licensed to teach in a TN school. The reason the previous teachers were fired was because they were too strict (pretty ironic reason since this is a Catholic school). We replaced them with unqualified personnel. I feel my oldest is not prepared for high school and am pulling my other two children this year to attend other schools. There are numeorus o tehr private and public schools in the area that are superior to SLS.

St. Louis Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2014
- a parent
St. Louis is a wonderful school. I have two children in school here, and both are happy, learning, cared for and loved. From a Faith side, they are grounded by the Catholic faith and are immersed in a God centered atmosphere. From an academic side, they are challenged, pushed, and are given high expectations. From a social side, they are involved, happy, and surrounded by friends. The teachers here truly care how your child is doing both academically and socially. The administrators work tirelessly to keep this school constantly seeking improvements to better it in every way. I highly recommend this school!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Louis Elementary School
5192 Shady Grove Road, Memphis, TN  38117
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (901) 682-9692
Last modified St. Louis Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top