Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Anne Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 130 students

Our school is best known for having a small, caring environment.

 

Living in Memphis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $71,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

This school is woderful. My daughter is in the PreK3 class and they teach her so much. It is very structured and not a daycare but a school. They teachers are wonderful and very patient. I am impressed with what they offer at such an affordable price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

Great school! Catholic identity is strong. Students work at a fast pace to prep them for their future. They also get one-on-one help due to the small class size. I highly recommend this school!


Posted November 15, 2013

The communication with the teachers is awful. The principal is the best the thing at the school. The learning is another good thing about the school. However they move pretty fast so your kid have to keep up.When my kids arrived at St.Anne I just knew they was going to love it. However after a few months of school I noticed their attitudes' changing . When I send letters to school, I receive no response. One teacher actually made a very rude remark to one of my kids. This school to need to start practicing being Catholic. When I say that I mean I do not feel the love in the atmosphere. Especially not with the teachers.


Posted December 1, 2010

I was a student teacher in Spring of 2009. I thoroughly enjoyed my experiences there. The principal, Ms. Perry was always helpful and Miss Letty at the front desk still remembers me to this day. I found the 1st grade parents eager to participate with activities such as a field trip to the zoo and in having an Easter egg hunt for the residences of a nearby nursing home. I was there on a daily basic for 2 months and I loved it!


Posted July 26, 2010

This is an excellent school where your child can grow academically, spiritually, and emotionally. I am always highly impressed with the level of knowledge and patience the staff/teachers have. The principal has incredible leadership skills, and she knows all the kids by name, and she TRULY cares about each and everyone of them! The school secretary is awesome as well. She's organized and makes the kids feel welcomed just like staff members do! This school has made a major, unforgettable impact on my son's life - and our whole family's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

As you can see from the December 2008 review, we are not dealing with rocket scientists here. Unfortunately, parents are only too happy to put the blame on the 'principle' of the school and its teachers. It's easier than dealing with your child, I suppose. As for the 'non-existant' communication, grades are posted in real-time through PowerSchool. Moreover, graded papers are sent home weekly in a Friday folder. (This is stated both in the handbook and at the 5th-8th grade parent meeting held before school starts.) The vast, vast majority of parents don't attend PTO meetings, let alone reach into their pockets and pull out any money for the school. School volunteers are the same group of parents every year. The school has had its share of problems, but I believe--and know--that the teachers care very much about their students.


Posted December 12, 2008

My child is in fifth grade and my experience with this school has been horrible. I am not going to let my child finish the year. I am very disappointed with the teachers of this school as well as the priciple. I have made phone calls, written letters, sent emails, and visited the principle with a list of my concerns and I received a lot of double talk and stonewalling. Parents are not encouraged to participate unless it is for a financial contribution. Communication is non-existant and I do not understand why graded papers are not returned. Do not send your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

This is a great school! The staff are truly vested in teaching these children academically as well as spiritually. The size of this school makes it so easy to know everyone and feel connected like a family. My only regret is that it doesn't go all the way through high school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

This school has improved greatly from this past year with the new principle, the kids are having more fun while still being able to focus on the school work! The teachers give each individual child the attention they need ,with school work or their home life if you ever need to talk! Also this school has great food and offers a variety of different programs such as Choir, Band, Strings, Studio Art and Dance. We attend Church twice a week and the children help serve at mass, but you don t have to be catholic to serve or attend this school. St. Anne is the a really great school to attend and I highly recommend this school because your child will learn more and have fun doing it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2007

St. Anne provides a caring learning community for the students. While many teachers are new, most have already earned or are in the process of earning advanced education degrees. The students are the focus for all employees of this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 12, 2007

This school has excellent leadership. The administration always puts the needs of the children first.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 11, 2007

To anyone considering St. Anne as an educational institute...whether you are a member of the catholic faith or not...this school is well worth a visit. St. Anne is an excellent all around school. We have five children attending and they love everything about it. We have been apart of the St. Anne family for the past 3 years. The teachers are concerned about the students and their progress-any academic problems that may arise are quickly rectified by not only taking extra time with the student but letting the parent know what is occurring. They also have a wonderful resource teacher who not only cares about students that attend her class regularly but also about other students that may also have problems. We also have a wonderful guidance counselor. Next to our cafeteria; the P.E. and art classes are rated #1 by the students. The students also enjoy learning Spanish and Latin, as well as taking music, choir, band or one of the other elective studies in the arts and humanities department. St. Anne is kept in tip-top-shape by our great building superintendent and his aide. Our assistant principal and administrative assistant are the best-they know ever child and parent in the school by name and you can always talk to them about any concerns that may arise. Our principal is wonderful-he cares greatly about the students and their parents as well as the school staff. The children love our priest and they enjoy going to mass. Of course you can never appreciate a school such as this one by just these postings-make the first step and visit the school yourself...from there speak with the faculty, students, parents, and volunteers of this wondrous school. Think of it like this: Don't judge a book by its cover-read the pages and in between the lines-and just like an interesting book you just might like what you find at St. Anne.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

My second grader goes to this school and I will recomend this school to any and all who will listen. The teachers are amazing and everytime I pick up my child he always tell me how wonderfull of a day he had. This school puts my mind at ease when i go to work in the morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

My child attends third grade at this school. I will recomend this schol to any and all who will listen. My child has become so advanced since he started attending this school in first grade. This school is the best thing that could have ever happened to us. The teachers are very attentive and answer all the questions I can come up with. My child comes home everyday with a smile upon his face because he loves his school and his teachers, while I love the environment which he is in. This school is the only one for him in my eyes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

Parent involvement is limited. We signed up to help on numerous things, but were never called. In the 2 years we have been here we have yet to receive a student directory even though we have filled out info on more than one occasion just this year. The availability of sports is low since it is a small school there is not a large pool of participants to draw from so many times not enough to make a team apparently. Not many extracurricular activities either. Only one Beta club meeting per year. Academics are okay at best. There is a definite lack of organization. The school/exam schedule changed twice in the last 2 weeks. The Christian principles are not as evident as they should be for a school that professes Christ first. Discipline is not consistent or, in some cases, even appropriate. Principal is leaving this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

This is a great school. I love the small class size which affords an intimate learning experience. There is a lot of diversity in staff and client make-up which reflects the real world. Learning is not only talk through books and discussion but through creativity. This allows for multiple types of learning processes. Kids learn differently and this school takes that into account.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

The principal and teachers at the pre-k and kindergarten levels heavily emphasize the catholic faith. Expect problems, especially if you disagree with any teaching method or lack in the curriculum or care of your child. Not worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

One person stated that their child did well. That child was also a first grader. The lower classes seem to do well, but if your child is in middle school they will not get the grade level of education required. The teachers for the most part are alright. Some refuse to answer your questions but most were helpful. The principal leaves little to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

Well this school has improved greatly since my child began 4 years ago. She has only been involved in the early childhood department so far and will attend the 1st grade this fall. I believe the school is moving into a good position to be a great place for a quality education. Parents need to support the principal and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

Principal leadership: I rate at 1 the lowest. The current principal, Denise Mason has failed. Teacher quality: I rate a 1 the lowest. Many hold higer education degrees, but this does not mean they can teach. Parent Involvement. Parents wish to be involved, but you cannot get info from the principal or she sugarcoats it. Discipline: Although the principal states is fair and consistent, it is not. St. Anne, in the past has been a good, quality school, but now the middle school children do not have the grade level of education that they should have. Many families within the church are withdrawing their children from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 66% 25%
White 22% 69%
Hispanic 11% 5%
Asian 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Cristy Sneed
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (901) 458-5215

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Memphis
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
30
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
40

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Immaculate Conception Cathedral School
Christian Brothers High School
St. Benedict High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

670 South Highland St
Memphis, TN 38111
Website: Click here
Phone: (901) 323-1344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Campus School
Memphis, TN






East High School
Memphis, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT