Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Immaculate Conception High School

Private | 9-12 | 125 students

We are best known for excellent college preparation.

 
 

Living in Memphis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $128,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, October 15, 2014

If you read these reviews, you'll see the last positive ones were three and four years ago. The new HS principal is a joke. My daughter has been at ICCS for eight years, and we will be changing schools next year because of the new "leadership," and I know we're not the only ones who are leaving. I've always been very involved and had a great relationship with the teachers, but the school has taken a 180 degree turn for the worse. The family atmosphere is gone and parent-teacher-administrative effort has fallen apart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2014

There is simply not much to choose from in Memphis as far as schools go. My child has been at IC for the past two years. The new director of schools is not good. She does not communicate with parents, ignores emails, and is a terrible role model for the girls, in my opinion (she is friends with students on social media and complains about being "fat"-- really??). My biggest complaint, however, is that the teachers do not seem committed to the students. It's as if they thought teaching at a private school relieved them of "real" teaching. They give a ton of homework that is busywork, and have limited opportunities for the students. I'm looking for a better school, but again, they're difficult to find in this city. Good luck, parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2011

Immaculate Conception High Schhol is s a great school and the teachers are always willing to help at all time. They take academics seriously. By the time you become a senior, you will already know what college you would look to attend and prepared to fill out your college resume! Even though the tuition is a bit high it totally worth it academically wise. You also get over the whole"all-girl" thing real quick. And when you let IC, you classmates will still be friends. Your class is like you family no matter what ethnicity etc. The school is very diverse and does not discriminate what so ever! I think the school needs to work on the school by updating it and keeping it clean. Yes, its nice to go to a school to learn but you don't want to be in a nasty environment. If you are in a clean environment you will learn better. But overall if you want to excel in your academics and be a successful young lady, Immaculate Conception is where you want to be! (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2010

Living in DeSoto County is a long way from ICCHS but the cost and drive are worth the education our daughter is receiving. The teachers actually care about your child and the school where they work. Our daughter can't wait to get to school and is always smiling when she leaves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

The faculty and administration at IC couldn't be better! The teachers care as much for their students as the student's family does and are committed to the academic success of each student in their classroom. We have students from every demographic (economic, ethnic, and religious) so every day is an opportunity to learn more than just the "book stuff" - our students learn life-lessons about the differences and similarities in people, cultures and faiths, they learn how to accept people who are different than they are, they learn how to live in real-world environments, and they learn to care about others.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 15, 2010

I graduated from IC and got a wonderful education! I made lifetime friendships, and thoroughly enjoyed my highchool years.


Posted November 15, 2010

Love this school! My daughter is a freshman and we couldn't be happier with our choice of school for her. As an alumni I am thrilled my daughter is enjoying high school as mugh as I did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I'm a freshman at IC, and it's a pretty good school. Not a lot of people or too many extracurricular activities, but the academics are excellent. It's pretty fun.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 69%
Black 32% 25%
Hispanic 16% 5%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Alabama
University of Memphis
University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Hindi
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Hindi
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sally S. Hermsdorfer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • All girls
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (901) 725-2701

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Hindi
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Memphis
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Our smaller class sizes and highly qualified faculty have benefited young Memphis women since 1949. Our student body comprises girls from over 20 zip codes in the Memphis area; among Memphis private schools, IC is by far the most diverse in student body, whether the categories are ethnic, income, religion, or geographic area of town. Our average ACT score is 24.5; we have a 100% graduation rate, and a 99% rate of college matriculation. Our 2010 valedictorian was a National Merit Scholar. Over the past 5 years, our graduates have received over $5 million in merit scholarships.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Alabama
University of Memphis
University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1725 Central Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
Website: Click here
Phone: (901) 725-2705

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Pyramid Academy
Memphis, TN


MRC School
Memphis, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT