Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
224 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a community member
I went to ILS in the early 1970's,which was when the public schools were in such turmoil due to bussing. ILS was a life saver, the environment was superb and the curriculum was wonderful. Whenever we drive through Memphis, my head always turns to look at the school when we pass it on I-40- I loved it there. Jeff Call

Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted November 27, 2013
- a parent
We are a military family and ILS has been the perfect fit for us! Very welcoming and our children assimilated very quickly and made many friends. The school is increasingly diverse and does a fantastic job of bringing the many facets of its student body together as a family. Outstanding value too. We could not be more pleased with our choice.


Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
Can not recommend this school highly enough. From the first day, teachers, kids and administrators were highly welcoming to our Navy family. The atmosphere is warm, creative, stimulating and fun and our children come home teaching us the most awesome things they are learning at school about the world and our God! They ask lots of questions and are clearly encouraged toward being active participants in their learning process.

Immanuel Lutheran School 2

Posted March 26, 2013
- a community member
This school is okay. As much as it does great things academically, but it is very exclusive. If you aren't just like them, you are excluded and picked on. Both my sister and I encountered kind teachers and kind kids, but we also suffered from horrendous teasing and bouts of depression. However, when we switched schools, we were immediately accepted in a way we never were at ILS. So it wasn't just us. If you are looking purely at academics, then ILS is a wonderful place and prepares your children for even the most rigorous honors and AP high school courses. If you want your child to be excited to go to school every morning, you had better hope your child is just like all the other kids.

Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
I am so happy with the challenging education my child receives at Immanuel. My older two girls have had great high school experiences because they were well prepared at ILS. My son is in 7th grade and he has loved literature this year. He tells me about the novels or plays they are reading and also about the blog his class writes. The teachers are extremely dedicated and responsive. Spanish, P.E., art, and music are all a part of the school curriculum. The musicals and athletic programs give kids a place to shine. Each class has a ministry they partner with to live out their Christian faith. The family at Immanuel cares for my child and for me.


Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
We love this school. The teachers are wonderful and caring. The facilities have recently been remodeled and it looks great. The academics are top notch. Music, Art, and Sports are all there along with lots of extracurricular activities. My daughter loves to go and has had perfect attendance so far this year in the 6th grade.

Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted November 05, 2012
- a parent
ILS is a great school with a dedicated staff. The teachers and office staff really DO care for the children and have their best interests at heart! Of all of the christian private schools that we visited and considered, ILS was the one that we felt the most welcome at.

Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted October 26, 2011
- a parent
ILS IS A WONDERFUL SCHOOL!!! It is deeply faith centered and offers a very challenging education at a reasonable price, which are the basic requirements for us. Our 3 kids have been there since kindergarten and it has been close to perfect. The small school environment and low student to teacher ratio creates a personalized atmosphere that you simply will not get from the larger more expensive elementary schools. Be sure not to judge it by the cover, either...it is a very safe environment and they are constantly working to improve the facilities each and every year. This is a rare occasion where you actually get "more" than you pay for. What a blessing ILS has been and paired with Immanuel Church, you simply cannot do any better at any cost if you prefer a truly Christian education for your child!!! **Visit their websites at: ilsmemphis.org and ilcmemphis.org


Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted January 19, 2011
- a parent
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this school. My child came from a montessori school and other schools that I interviewed showed concern about how he would fit in coming from such a free environment. Not Immanuel, they understand and appreciate the montessori philosophy and welcomed my child with open arms. He's adjusted very well, goes to school with a smile every day and loves this school. The peace of mind that we get from having our child at this school is PRICELESS. He's challenged academically and loved. Need I say more?! In my opinion, the fancy bigger schools with multi-million dollar buildings don't hold a candle to what Immanuel offers. We are VERY happy with our decision to send our child here.

Immanuel Lutheran School 5

Posted January 14, 2011
- a teacher
I continue to find more to love about Immanuel. I am a preschool teacher and we have such wonderful students and families. My own children have dedicated teachers that challenge and support them.

Nearby schools

Immanuel Lutheran School
6319 Raleigh Lagrange Road, Memphis, TN  38134
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (901) 388-0205
Last modified Immanuel Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top