Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace-St Lukes Episcopal School

Private | PK-8

We are best known for excellent program and outcomes.

 
 

Living in Memphis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $128,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2008

We love Grace-St. Luke's. We are student's there and we can't imagine going anywhere else after eighth grade. This will be in two years. We love the coed environment. --GSL Girls ---GSL students
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 1, 2008

This school is the greatest school in the galaxy .
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

We have two children enrolled presently at GSL, and really haven't been overly impressed by the school based on the amount of money we pay to send them there, and it is a lot. Like the previous poster stated, the school is touted as a great school, but really academically, it offers everthing any school should offer a child, nothing more, nothing less. Also, the constant plea to donate money to the capital fund can become aggravating. GSL has a very intimate feel, as it is very small, but it lacks a lot of diversity. Parent involvement is encouraged, which is a plus, but functions almost have too much of a 'social' feel to them. Overall, academically the school is not too bad, but cultural, not just racial, diversity is minimal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I'll give GSL this: it has really improved afterschool care activities and general afterschool care. Aside from that, though, I honestly don't see what's so amazing about GSL. everyone in town talks about it like it's one of the best schools ever, and yes, the teachers are wonderful. I have a sneaking feeling that the teachers at other local public schools are just as amazing, though. The tuition at GSL is high, but the school is constantly asking for monetary donations to the capital fund. This is not the school for you if you want your children to be exposed to real world diversity, but if you're interested in raising your kids in a bubble, then by all means, send them to GSL. Oh, and if you're a working parent, forget being involved in the parent's association; this school caters to nonworking parents. We're switching to public school soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

While GSL is a good school, it has its problems. It is hard to become involved as a working parent because the parent organizations tend to cater to non working mothers. The tuition is high and I would expect more activities and a nicer learning environment. The buildings are old and dirty. While the school enrolls a diverse group of students in preschool, the diversity tends to fade with each grade. I want my child to be exposed to a wider range of people and will be looking for other options. The best thing about the school is the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

This is the fourth year here for my boys, and we couldn't be happier. The teachers are amazing. They view kids as individuals, and teach in remarkably creative ways. As a result, my children have a great love for books and learning. Even in kindergarten, they were writing simple sentences. The atmosphere of the school makes you feel as though you were part of an extended family. Warm, friendly, caring. The after-school care program available for kids of working parents is ideal. Fun and educational play, projects, plus enrichment classes in a safe happy environment. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

I'm not sure if this site is simply for parent reviews or alumni but as a former student I can say GSL is a terrificly fun school although it is quite small. I remember enjoing the people and the terrific teachers. Mr. Phill if your reading this, you're still one of my favorits. But as I say it is a small school so if your looking for extreme variety and depth when it comes to extra-curriculers then mabe GSL isn't quite for you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 13, 2006

I have a daughter and a son who have been at GSL for a combined total of 14 years. What a positive learning environment! My children are academically challenged, well prepared, and happy. GSL nurtures their growth as students and as human beings.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 21, 2005

Tuition far exceeds the quality of education as compared to other private institutions in the area. When we were new, we were treated like royalty, but as a parent they really don't care for my input.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2004

Terrific, nurturing environment. The teachers are excellent, the parents involved and the children are well prepared for even the most rigorous high schools. My child is now graduating from high school and has been admitted to an ivy league college from this great foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

We are so happy to have 2 boys(ages 5 and 7) at GSL. The school is a wonderful place to learn and grow. We love the staff and the after-school activities are a great benefit to our boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 67%
Black 4% 23%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Thor A. Kvande
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (901) 272-7119

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • For more than 60 years, we have been educating boys and girls from Memphis and from neighboring communities at our campus in beautiful Central Gardens, the heart of Midtown Memphis. We provide an unparalleled PK-8th grade experience in an exceptionally creative and caring environment. When our 8th graders graduate they are highly sought after by high schools across the city, and they enjoy success in academics, athletics, performing arts, student government, and much more. As a leading independent school in the city of Memphis, it is our mission to prepare students to become creative problem solvers, lifelong learners, and responsible citizens of their communities and the world.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Memphis University School
Christian Brothers High School
Hutchison School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

246 South Belvedere Boulevard
Memphis, TN 38104
Website: Click here
Phone: (901) 278-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT