Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Memphis University School

Private | 7-12 | 85 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Memphis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2011

I know many of your sons, parents. But I am not accepted among them. I am in college and I'm too poor to party with them. I'm not cool enough and I'm not good looking enough. If you child really cares about academics this school works. But if he's just floating by, he'll be a great partier if he isn't already. They'll be the life of the Greeks once he gets in college with a lot of "experience" under their belt. We non MUS boys truly detest you. Only because you make us feel inadequate.


Posted March 18, 2011

My son was not doingn well at all at the school. He was bullied heavily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

As an alum, I cannot praise this school enough. It prepared me not only for college but for the rest of my life. As a scholarship kid when I attended, I cannot thank the many benefactors of the school enough. This school changed my life. If you are a prospective parent, beg and borrow to get your sons to MUS.


Posted May 4, 2010

Hands down the best school in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

There is simply no better school in a 500 mile radius than Memphis University School. What other school earns state championships in multiple sports while dominating academic contests and offering a dozen AP courses? No matter how brilliant your son is, he will find challenge here. And, if your son is a hard worker but mediocre student, he'll find a place to work to his potential. Everyone here, students and teachers, really loves it. Alumni support is phenomenal and the grounds are better than a university's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2009

You can not send your son to a better school in memphis


Posted October 27, 2009

This is a great school and my son loves it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

MUS is the premiere school in the SE in educating boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

My sons are graduates of MUS (Classes of 2007 and 2009) and received outstanding educations during their years there. Among MUS's strengths: challenging academic curricula; a dedication to character development; an empowering Honor Code; strong mentorship by impressively engaged faculty; collaborative and collegial student relationships; and a strongly supportive parent base. MUS combines cherished tradition with a commitment to progress, celebrates diversity, and steadfastly promotes an atmosphere of civility and respect. Faculty support each student's journey of self-discovery while fostering a life-long commitment to service. My sons and their peers learned to be other-oriented v. self-oriented, and were helped to see the many ways their lives can make a significant difference in t while making their make on the world. Students are expected to work hard with purpose and perseverance, and to take responsibility for--and learn from--the choices they make. MUS well-prepares its students for college and adulthood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

I go here and it is no good, I don't learn anything and the sports are horrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2008

I go to MUS and I personally think it is absolutely the best school out there. The facility is amazing! The teachers are hard on you, but still care about you. The sports are amazing and the sports facilities are some of the best in the nation. The school work is hard yet not overly tough. The food is absolutely ridiculously good too! MUS truly is the school for boys.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2008

MUS is an academically rigorous school where boys are certainly well prepared for college. Faculty is strong although there are some issues with tenure. However, if you are not from Memphis, if your child is not athletic, or if he did not attend the all boys feeder school PDS, I would consider his probability of acceptance carefully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

Best boys school in Memphis, if not in Tennessee. It has excellent academics, extra-curriculars, and athletics. Small classrooms allow fantastic learning expierences. This is an extremely difficult school though, it's standard courses being advanced courses for the grade above in a normal school. Come to this school if you want a challenge and great education and experience overall


Posted May 23, 2004

This school is one of the best all boy schools in the city! they have excellent athletics. I am so proud to know many people who have their sons go their! they also are very hott! And they have excellent christian attuitudes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2004

The best prep school in Memphis. It is 'cool' to be smart and high achievement is encouraged and rewarded. The boys who put in the effort become nationally competitive. My son has now been admitted to an ivy league college and his board scores are in the top 1% of the nation. The solid foundation provided him with wonderful opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Exemplary college prepatory education. College board test scores among the best in the country. Intimate approach to education, very well funded, extensive extracuricculur activity. Top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

At one time a great learning institution, now corporate desire for expansion has diluted much of the greatness of Memphis University School. Perhaps this shift from actualized education to an advertised experience is the result of an administration too focused on their own selfish agendas rather than the well-being of the student population at large. However, I must say that while the administration definitely leaves much to be desired and will probably be the ruin of MUS, the faculty continue to be wonderful, despite the loss of many integral teachers who were replaced with inadequate substitutes. Overall, while it may not be the school it once was, until St. George's fully develops its high school, Memphis University School will remain near the very top of the list for college preparatory education in Tennessee.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 67%
Black 8% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6191 Park Avenue
Memphis, TN 38119
Phone: (901) 260-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hutchison School
Memphis, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT