Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
320 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Woodland Presbyterian School 5

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
We have now been at WPS for over 3 years and have never once regretted the decision to send our boys there. It has been the best environment not only for them, but us as well! I cannot say enough positives about this school and the people in it. From the moment we inquired about enrollment until now, everyone has been amazing. Our whole family has made so many friends. It truly is so family oriented and just a great, fun place. The curriculum is outstanding as well and the Christian influence is so comforting. We have been very impressed with how well our boys are growing and learning and what all is taught even at an early age. They actually beg to go to school and tell us often how much they love it. The teachers are very hands on, so loving towards the kids and truly want them to succeed. We are so thankful for Woodland and highly recommend this school!

Woodland Presbyterian School 5

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
Woodland is a great school with a long history of success. The teachers genuinely care about my child and all children in their care.


Woodland Presbyterian School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
There isn’t enough room for me to write about our experience with Woodland. At some juncture, each teacher has provided an individualized plan for my son. Those plans varied from a couple of days after school to months or partnership. Our son’s SK teacher was attentive and knew things about him that only an observant teacher would know. His first grade teacher was so engrained in his development that I was beginning to think he was her child! I say this in jest, but there was a level of involvement that gave credence as to why we chose this school. Last year we experienced something very similar By the middle of the year, his teacher recognized that spelling just wasn’t clicking for him. We had mini discussions with her about how to support his efforts. Nothing we did at home was working. It even baffled her to some degree because his reading level was above average. We had the teacher conference with her. Before we could even offer our suggestion, she uttered “This Friday, I would like to give him his spelling test one on one to see if this makes a difference.” Although this is exactly what we were going to suggest, it still touched us that she was preemptively willing to do so. This wasn’t a fleeting exercise for his teacher. This was an enduring one. Dating back to second semester, every Friday, she would come early to facilitate his spelling test. This carried on until the end of the school year. Our son sustained a B average for the remainder of the year. We are confident that her undertaking is what made the difference in the retention on his grade. The guidance counselor aided our family this year when our son witnessed a traumatic car accident. He went into her office no less than three times in one day. Her techniques helped him in being able to manage those fears. Even the nurses go above and beyond to ensure the wellness and needs of our son are met. It is comforting to know that there is a team willing to dote & love on your child through sickness. The teachers felt empowered to provide us structure and guidance because of leadership. In my assessment, the school is a direct product of Adam Moore’s leadership and support for those who work tirelessly behind the scenes. The staff and teachers are amazing and clearly love what they do. We already have angst about what comes after Woodland!

Woodland Presbyterian School 5

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
My child recently graduated from Woodland Presbyterian School in 2013. She received a great education from caring teachers at Woodland. While there, her teachers and the school staff went out of their way to give her opportunities to extra work in areas that she was especially interested in. She was also (discreetly) given personalized instruction in areas that she struggled in. She always received encouragement and support from her teachers and coaches. She is now making straight A's in high school, where all of her classes are "Honors". Choosing Woodland for my child was one of the best decisions I ever made.

Woodland Presbyterian School 5

Posted February 07, 2015
- a parent
Sending our boys to Woodland Presbyterian School was one of the best decisions we ever made for our family. Woodland is truly a community of people who will educate, nurture, encourage, challenge. love and support your child and family. From the caring and dedicated teachers, to the strong and steadfast administrative leaders, to the families who are part of this community, Woodland is a great school for your children. I would highly recommend Woodland Presbyterian School!


Woodland Presbyterian School 5

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Woodland!! This is my son's fourth year at Woodland and I have NEVER once worried if he was being well taken care of. Every one of his teachers have nurtured him and treated him with such kindness and care....all while holding him to high behavioral and academic standards! It is true that the administration knows every child by name....that's because they truly love and care for the kids! I consider myself somewhat shy and I have still felt included by the other parents. If you haven't taken a look at Woodland you're missing out on something REALLY SPECIAL.

Woodland Presbyterian School 5

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
We have been at Woodland for 3 years and I could not be happier for my daughter who is in the 4th grade. The school is warm and loving to the children with a great academic structure second to none. I can see why they have won best school so many times. If you are considering a private school for your child, I would definitely recommend Woodland.

Woodland Presbyterian School 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
What a fabulous place to send your children to school. Woodland is a caring, compassionate school that not only teaches to a high academic standard, but also puts emphasis on being a service minded citizen. From PK-8th grade your child will be nurtured in a place they won't want to leave at 3:00. The teachers bend over backwards to help your child succeed. They offer before and after school work times for extra practice and acceleration. Communication between teacher and parent is appropriate at each grade level. As students transition from year to year, you see such growth and independence. I have watched in awe as my own son has morphed into a responsible middle schooler who knows what is expected of him at school from his teachers and does it without me needing to remind him daily. He want to succeed for his teachers- I owe that to Woodland. I know that without a doubt he will be fully prepared to attend any private or public school he chooses when the time comes. There is no doubt that Woodland is one of the best, if not THE best private school in Memphis. I wouldn't send my child anywhere else and am thankful we found this place for our son to grow and learn.


Woodland Presbyterian School 5

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
Both of my children attended WPS through 8th grade and now attend large high schools in Memphis. The foundations of confidence and hard work instilled at Woodland allow them to be extremely successful in high school. They now take honors and AP classes have have a 3.92 and 4.46 GPA. I am so happy that we choose Woodland for their elementary and middle school years.

Woodland Presbyterian School 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
There is no other place I would send my children! The environment is like no other! The teachers balance out traditional teaching with excellent use of modern technology to prepare them for a versatile future! It is loving, safe, fun, and truly a blessing for our family. It is the hidden gem in our city!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodland Presbyterian School
5217 Park Avenue, Memphis, TN  38119
(901) 685-0976
Last modified Woodland Presbyterian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Woodland Presbyterian School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top