Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

First Assembly Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 67 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Memphis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2007

I went to FACS for 3 years, and hated every minute of it. I never had any homework and the quality of the classes was horrible. The classes only last 45 minutes and the teachers don't even use most of that time to teach. None of the classes challenge your student except for Math with Mr. Flickinger. I completely regret my parents sending me there. I missed out on 3 years where I could have been at a school where I actually learn. Please do not make the mistake of sending your child there if you want them to achieve in life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2007

I have 2 children who attend FACS. They both are receiving a high quality social and educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

We are very pleased with First Assembly Christian School. One thing that stands out about FACS is the caring, loving teachers and staff. You know that you are in a Christian School from your first visit. The academics and sports have been outstanding. There are a variety of courses for your high school student, to include very challenging honors courses. Many of the teachers have been with the school for years and have a strong background both from an experience and academic standpoint. I have no reservation in recommending FACS. We love it. Lisa Pruett - parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

I have been affiliated with FACS as a student from 1-12(graduating with high honors) and as a parent. Twenty years ago, this was a caring, excellent school that was wholly dedicated to true education and expansion of horizons. Those days are passed. FACS is not for you if your child is anything but average. If they are gifted or have learning difficulties, they will be passed by. Teaching to the middle, rote memorization and regurgitation of facts are the order of the day. True education, the kind that teaches a child to look at a set of facts and come up with reasonable conclusions, is no longer found here. If your child requires actual teacher involvement rather than teaching from the teacher's manual, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

I would certainly support a parents decision to send a child to FACS. Teachers are qualified and have a strong desire to see each students succeed in a safe and nurturing environment. They are committed to the spiritual as well as the intellectual growth of students. When you look at the Alumni of this school, you find Doctors, Lawyers, teachers, clergy, businessmen and presidents of companies. Obviously something was accomplished over the years. I certainly would not 'beg' someone to send their children here, but would encourage parents to find the best school for their child and I am sure that if that is done, you fill find that FACS is the place where they can get a quality education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 5, 2006

I am not a parent of a student at FACS. I am a past student - having attended from Pre-K all the way through 12th grade and graduation in 2004. I beg you not to send your children to this school. I realize the other comments make it sound great, but those comments come from outsiders who it seems are led away from the truth by the good front that the school puts on. Very simply, there are only two qualified teachers in the whole of FACS - Ms. Metcalf (English) and Mr. Flickinger (Math).
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 25, 2006

I love this school.I get along with all the students.First Assembly teaches their students to put Jesus first in their life and they are so successful in doing that.Also the teachers and assistants are 100% dedicated to helping the students to learn everything needed to know to live a life with God coming first.I am a student of FACS and I love this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

Student/teacher ratio is misleading due to lagre number of students in chorus program. *Excellent* academic school, as long as you fit their mold. But when problems arise, such as extended illness, you may run into a lack of flexibility on the part of both the faculty and the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

We enrolled our daughter at FACS when she was just 4 years old during her Pre-K year. We continue to be amazed by God's guidance in our lives and we are proud to celebrate our eighth year at FACS this year. FACS offers strong Christian values while education is the obvious focus. High standards are set and met within the school. I am proud to say that we are a part of the FACS family and plan to be until our daughter Alicia graduates in 2010. FACS is a wonderful place to feel confident your child/children is/are getting a solid based Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 67%
Hispanic 8% 7%
Black 6% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACTS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8650 Walnut Grove Road
Memphis, TN 38018
Phone: (901) 458-5543

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Houston Middle School
Germantown, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT