Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Evangelical Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 99 students

 

Be sure to visit

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

Most of the teachers are great but the students and parents aren't the nicest. They need a fresh perspective to see what they aren't willing to see or acknowledge. Wasn't a friendly environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Our children have attended ECS for 8 years, and I can honestly say I have not regretted it for one second. While ECS is not perfect (no school is) the leadership, including faculty, staff, administrators, coaches and support personnel, are all committed to providing a top flight education centered around a Christian worldview, and caring and mentoring to each child and their unique needs. The teachers are all genuinely loving and caring, provide a great mix between discipline and "grace", and do all they can to encourage each child to develop their unique strengths and abilities. The school is a fantastic steward of its financial resources. While the facilities are not the biggest or shiniest, they are all high quality and effective, and the school continually looks to upgrade and improve. The school offers a very strong variety of programs across the spectrum sports, fine arts, academic extra cirricular and leadership development. But above all, this is a school whose community looks to honor and glorify God through all it does, and provide an excellent Christ-centered educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

ECS is outstanding. A rigorous college-prep curriculum is infused with Christian worldview for a truly unique education. ECS is large enough to offer a full academic, athletic, and fine arts program but small enough that every child is known and cared for. My children have flourished at ECS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2012

I Love ECS! Great curriculum! Great environment! Great Faculty! Great Christian Worldview! Great experience for my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

This school is the greatest school on all of the planet! The teachers are involved with the students, working with the students who are struggling or need help. The English department is one of the greatest the city of Memphis has to offer. All of the teachers in that department speak with great intelligence and great wisdom. They teach students to love knowledge and to pursue knowledge, not just for the sake of getting the best grade but for the sake of seeking out Truth and pursuing ultimate Truth, or God. The Science department also excels, bringing students to a greater understanding of the natural world. ECS also offers a fantastic foreign language program that offers Latin, French, and Spanish. I would put more but this website won't let me. Great sports, teacher involvement, focus on God, and many clubs offered at this fine institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

ECS provides you with a challenging curriculum and a Christian atmosphere. It truly is one of the last Christian schools in Memphis. While it may not be the cheapest, it provides you with a good environment for learning. We have very few students who smoke, drink, etc. unlike some other schools in the area. The students are truly kind and really care about the community around them. They have a high participation in all events and a great student section. The lunch program is amazing, with tons of healthy options and good tasting food.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2010

This school is a great school where your children can excel. The students are friendly, good kids. The teachers really care about your children and will help them by providing tutoring before school and by keeping contact with you. The food is great and has tons of options. There is an activity for every child. ECS really wants every child to succeed. The academics are challenging without being impossible and will provide your child with a top-notch education that prepares them for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

One of the best schools our children have ever attended. After our previous school experience, we were a bit gun shy. That fear was quickly put to rest. Excellent leadership, teachers, friendly parents and students. Rigorous academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

ECS has become our family! Their commitment to have a strong focus on both academic and spiritual matters without sacrificing one for the other is apparent. We love the highly-educated teachers, small class size and the commitment of the faculty and staff! WE LOVE ECS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

ECS has been such a blessing to us as a family! It's so refreshing to see a school actually doing what they are supposed to be doing: teaching to various learning styles, using lots of hands on materials and technology. The staff is highly qualified and the curriculum is the best I've seen put to use in this city. By providing christian families a great school with strong academics, ECS partners with parents and churches to develop a strong Biblical Worldview. After much prayer, we found the school I can be proud to send my children to and know they are being taught a rigorous academic curriculum and Truth from the Word of God! Best in the city!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

We have been delighted with ECS and the character and integrity they develop in young people. They work with Christian parents to establish qualities that will serve children for the rest of their lives. The teachers and curriculum are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

We love this school. The education is so much better than the public school system, and there is also the added bonus of the Christian atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

overpriced, arrogant families who think their kids are better than anyone else. In Cordova area, you can get just as good or better education at the public schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2004

This is the finest school my daughter has been to. It has wonderful teachers and a loving and learning environment. The curriculum is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 67%
Black 7% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 1030
Memphis, TN 38088
Phone: (901) 754-7217

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT