Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Memphis, TN
Students enrolled: 881
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Christian Brothers High School 5

Posted July 15, 2011
- a student
With about 900 boys, CBHS is not too small and not too big. Everyone seems to know each other no matter what grade they are in. I found it amazing that the president, principal, and vice principal all know the students by name and greet us throughout the day. They know all about the activities that we are involved in and its nice to see them on the sideline of nearly every sporting event. In my opinion, the faculty and staff really care about the students. For us, the most famous example of this is the fist bump from the president at the end of a long day.
1 person found this helpful

Christian Brothers High School 4

Posted September 28, 2010
- a student
i have to say it is a great school, as a member of the band and a constant actor in its theatre program i have to say its a great school. It has some of the best teachers ever that definetly know what they ar edoing and how, th eonly reason i did not give this school five stars is because a few of the teachers are very smart, but they do not know how to teach. Besides that it is one of the best schools to send your child to. Compared to incarnation catholic school this place is harvard, but which school isnt compared to that aweful place, but this place is amazing, definatly a good school
1 person found this helpful


Christian Brothers High School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
CBHS is an excellent school with challenging academics, sports, incredible band and a faculty of devoted, caring teachers. The faculty and staff have been at CBHS for a long time and not only enjoy but know how to teach boys. This school is so well organized - it is an amazing school.

Christian Brothers High School
no rating

Posted August 04, 2009
- a community member
An amazing school. The camaradarie derived from attending the all male school is second to none. The school is an ivy-leage pipeline and provides its students with the most professional and productive education in the city of Memphis.

Christian Brothers High School 5

Posted January 08, 2008
- a student
As a student, football player, and member of the performing band, I must say CBHS is a fit for me. This school has a great environment to learn, little-to-no conflict betwen students, and a great interaction between students and teachers. I actually enjoy going to school everyday.


Christian Brothers High School 5

Posted June 25, 2007
- a parent
I am impressed with the staff and leadership at CBHS. Strong academic environment with Christian values. Very strong moral code that is enforced. My boys complained at first because of the workload, but have adapted well now. I was both surprised and thrilled with the diversity of boys. I only wish the campus was more accessible for after school activities. It is not a neighborhood school, but is centrally located in order to bring in kids from all over the midsouth. the commute back and forth is a sacrifice, but well worth the drive! The brothers do a great job keeping tuition affordable and financial aid is available. I cannot say enough about what this school has done for my sons. Also amazed how quickly teachers respond to my emails. God bless the brothers!

Christian Brothers High School 5

Posted October 03, 2006
- a student
CBHS is the best school in Memphis for these reasons: 1. It is more diverse than any other school, with kids that are 'rich', 'average' and 'poor' also good racial diverstiy as well. 2. It has a wide variety of academic 'tracks' that one can mix and match to fit one's personal academic profile. 3. CBHS teaches responsibility through various methods, some of which are quite effective. 4. CBHS's athletic programs are top notch. Last year, 6 of CBHS's 11 Varisty Sports were Nationally ranked last year. 5. CBHS has a wide variety of extra curricular activities beyond athletics. Clubs, Theatre, Band, Intrumural Sports, Service Clubs and other organizations. 6. All CBHS students are required to do service hours. If they do not, they will not pass the ethics or religion course for the year.

Christian Brothers High School 5

Posted September 22, 2006
- a student
Christian Brothers High School is an outstanding environment for a young man to be taught what is important for advancing in his life. We were taught to be well rounded young adults, go to college, and be successful. Although the campus is Over 45 yrs old many improvements are made to keep it up to date. 4 computer labs with new or 1 yr old computers, fully automated library, graphics art lab, and high tech science labs are among several areas CBHS shines. Athletics are also catching up with the times with a Beautiful Football/Baseball Complex with artificial field turf and a newly constructed Baseball Field House. Also recently completed a complete renovation of the Athletic gymnasium. The atmosphere is enjoyable and you really get a sense that they care about you. Supportive Alumni allow for low tuition, great facilities, parent involvement, and extracurricular activities. I Consider CBHS the best!


Christian Brothers High School 5

Posted August 15, 2006
- a parent
CBHS prepares the boys to go out and be able to face life's challenges....never need to worry whether they are in a learning atmosphere or 'skating through'. Parents are kept well informed via the website. Good mixture of sports available (club and letter).

Christian Brothers High School 4

Posted April 20, 2005
- a parent
Not much diversity, but an outstanding environment. The Brothers take an active role in discouraging drinking and drug use. They test for drugs, which gives kids another excuse for not using them. Discipline is pretty good, academics are pretty good. Some of the teachers are less than stellar, but English, AP US History, AP Biology are really good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Christian Brothers High School
5900 Walnut Grove Rd, Memphis, TN  38120
(901) 682-7801
Last modified Christian Brothers High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Christian Brothers High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top