Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
30 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Elliston Baptist Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are not board certified or teachers at all. We were forced to call the men "brothers" and the women were just "ms". Very few had even been to college. The teachers were in no way qualified to teach any subject.

Elliston Baptist Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
Pace program is a booklet you use and do your work at your own pace. There are no other assignments or obligations.


Elliston Baptist Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
This "school" preaches hate and intolerance. It's the scariest place I have ever been in my life.

Elliston Baptist Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
Preaches homophobia and fear. Inaccurate science lessons with deception. Still uses paddling as punishment without consent of parent.

Elliston Baptist Academy 4

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
My child loves this school and I love that the teachers are friendly and they are they there for the kids, to help them learn.


Elliston Baptist Academy
no rating

Posted July 21, 2009
- a parent
I was alittle discouraged when I drove up and saw this school, but as I decided to not judge a book by it's cover and go ahead to enroll my son, he was done a huge turn around from last year, where he attended another school. They a small number in the classroom, which work perfect for him, because he got all the attention he needed. My son is growing and learning everday. I think if more parents thought I like I did, and give the school a try. This school could get back on the map

Elliston Baptist Academy 4

Posted July 21, 2009
- a parent
My daughter has attended Elliston for a couple of years, and I never once worried about her safety. I felt like she was with family. She learned a lot from her teachers because they provide a lot of TLC. There is a lot of one on one with the children, and the teachers always tried to see how each child learned best and cater to their specific learning needs. Not every child is the same, they learn differently. So I respect they take the extra initiative to teach each child the best they can.

Elliston Baptist Academy
no rating

Posted July 07, 2009
- a teacher
I have been an employee of Elliston for a number of years and I would like to say I am very proud of this school and the staff. We have a very good group of dedicated people who care about your children and go the extra mile. I also had a child that attended Elliston who is now in medical school. I credit the school for leading her in this direction. I would recommend the school to everyone, if you want a caring, safe, learning enviorment.


Elliston Baptist Academy
no rating

Posted February 10, 2009
- a community member
I have worked at Elliston for almost 35 years. We have always strived to do the best for the students here. As most schools, there have been some teachers that were better than others. We are trying to build the school back up. We have excellent teachers for 2008-09. Our facilities may not be the Ritz, because we don't charge $10,000.00 per student. We provide a Christian education in a safe environment, that alot of parents could not afford otherwise. Those who usually complain, are those that don't put anything into their school, so therefore they don't get much out of it! We provided some students with a good education, whose parents left owing money when they were capable of doing so. Regardless, God has blessed us with keeping our doors open for 37 years now. We must be doing something right!

Elliston Baptist Academy 5

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
Ellliston is turning back in the right direction. They are moving away from the pace curriculum and the new administration has a great vision for the school. Previous posts do not represent the school as it is today. This school is going to do great things for our choldren.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elliston Baptist Academy
4179 Elliston Road, Memphis, TN  38111
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (901) 743-4250
Last modified Elliston Baptist Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top