Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kirby High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

Most people always talk about kirby high school in a bad way. They say "the kids at kirby is bad", "the teachers are not teaching the students right", "the administers can't control the kids"...etc. But all of this is not true, there's alot of kid that are disrespectful, not because of the school its because of their parent or parents are not raising them up right. The first time i heard of this school all i heard was bad and nagetive things. At first i was scared to come to this school because if the negative reports, but every since i have deen here the school has been getting beter by Dr Willia (principle). There academic scores are going up and their sports programs are getting better through the man rise program (Germantown baptis church). People, schools, the comunity and memphis look at kirby and say the negative things, but never looks at the good things kirby students had done. I promis you, if you find the good things kirby has done you will be shocked because you never hear the good things. Last but not least Dr Williams has done a more than great job with kirby high and the students. They are realy moving for good to great.


Posted April 4, 2014

Kirby is a great and very educated school. Yes I am aware of the behavior that has nothing to do with the school if the child wasn't raised right. It was between that child and that child's parents. The teachers are great and wealthy .
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2012

Please don't make the mistake of sending your child to this school like I did! This school needs to be shut down. Most of the teachers & administration are unprofessional & the students run the school with their bad behavior! This school is a great example of how Memphis City Schools not getting it right & preparing children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

I am very disappointed in Kirby High School. There is no control of the students because and teachers let them do whatever they want to. The police presence before and after school made me feel like I was dropping off and picking my child up from prison instead of high school. My child attended Kirby for one semester and as a concerned parent I am will to take whatever steps are necessary to keep her from returning. My child didn't have behavioral issues so I feel she was passed along based on her conduct. She never had homework and when I attended PTA meetings most of her teachers were very unorganized or should I say surprised because I was the only parent to show up in most of her classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

this school has made AYP the last two years with a new principal. The enrollment has increase from 1400 to 1800+..students are now on the waiting list trying to get into the 'new' Kirby High school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

This school had A huge Makeover. the principle is amazing with kids and he is extremely fair, he promotes education and respect, and teaches the kids have respect for themselves. He promotes everything good he is the shiny example of honesty and integrity and Mr. Williams should go down in history for what he is accomplished at this school, I hope he will continue to lead this school, I dont' know what the kids will do without him. This my son's last year and my daughters first year and I am honored to have this man, principle, Father, and powerful figure, as a leader over my kids. I am excited for the up and coming year and I know that it will be great. Antoinette Brittman is a fan of Mr. Reginald Williams, Hats off to the staff they lead by example. To Mr. Williams congradulations for creatng the 'New Kirby'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Kirby was a great school when Mr. Killough was there, I graduated in 2003. I learned so much during my 4 years there, Mr. Caldwell, and Mrs. Linda Davis played an important part in my life during that time. I currently work for the school system and I love my job. These teachers along with many more can be accredited for making sure that we learned not only our Academics but they also taught us about life and how to cope in the real world. I can honestly say that everything that I have accomplished today is because these wonderful teachers took the time to teach there students how to succeed in life. Tasha
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 16, 2004

kirby is a great school the teachers are wonderful and a student i have learned so much from tis school. the staff there has ample oppritunities to excel. now accademcly the scool is great it is that some of the students there make it difficult for some students to achieve. other than that Kirby High School is a good school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 1, 2004

Kirby is a great school. Kirby like any other school gets a bad reputation because of the kids who aren't involved in their education. The same kids who just come to school to start trouble is at every school. And I get angry when I hear people misjudge the teachers at Kirby high. I have been to two previous high schools in Memphis and never have I meet such dedicated teachers until I got to Kirby. But how would you people understand 'Because to understand Kirby you have to had went to Kirby' So if your planning on sending your child to Kirby just make sure their involved in their education a sport, and/or extra-curricular activity and they should do just fine! Congrats c/o 2004 we are and always will be the best!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 4, 2003

I think that Kirby High is a good school to attend. Honestly I feel that this school is no different than any other Memphis City School. Yes, it does lack some things, but what's new? Many people in Memphis often criticize Kirby due to its perceived unsavory reputation. However, to those who hold that perception, there is more to Kirby that meets the eye. People should take a closer look at the community known as Kirby High School. While Kirby may not have a fifty plus year track record like Central or White Station High Schools, Kirby has managed to graduate students and send them to schools as diverse as Princeton University, Rhodes College, Howard University, West Point, and The Air Force Academy.


Posted August 19, 2003

This school has been taken over by the city of Memphis. It lacks a great deal in teacher education & enthusiasm. I attended this school when it first opened it's doors in the early to mid-80's. By the time my nephew arrived in the mid 90's, it was in a very poor state and has never recovered. There were many racial problems that involved 'sit-ins' and such by all students, due to over-crowding, that occured for years. This school is nothing more than a stain. If you have the means, send your child to a more formal, better learning environment, despite color of your skin or location. By now, 2003, I'm sure Kirby has several teachers now trying to 'right' the schools situation, however, parents need to be invovled as well. Good luck. Don't expect much.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 12, 2003

i loved my school especailly the football games!!! but to be real, the best time of the year was spirit week. the teachers do care about the student that want to learn. because i still go back and visit from time to time. and dr. jones, who teaches marketing, is the best teacher at that school. i learned so much from her, that it would take all day the write about all the things!!!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
34%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
4%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
28%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
26%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
39%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
8%
U.S. History

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students48%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners29%

Algebra II

All Students10%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students49%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learners38%

English I

All Students40%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students37%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students9%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students90%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 88% 23%
Hispanic 11% 7%
White 1% 67%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (901) 416-1968

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4080 Kirby Pw
Memphis, TN 38115
Phone: (901) 416-1960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT