Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridgeway Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 799 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2012

Ridgeway Middle Optional International Baccalaureate Candidate School is a great school! I am a third year parent at the school and I am happy with the changes that the new administration has brought to the school. My child loves to come to school and loves the new staff that have been hired under the administration. This school has stepped up and is after one year, one of two middle schools not on the low performing list in the Southeast region and moved to a level 5 school after one year of the new administration. My child is a part of the optional program and he is not only performing well in school academically but he is finding other interests in the many clubs and opportunities that are offered, that were not available before. As a parent, member of the Roadrunner 100 club, and cheerleader for the school, I want to commend Principal Corey Williams, Mrs. Turner and staff for what they are doing to make Ridgeway Middle School the best school it can be. http://www.mcsk12.net/schools/ridgeway.ms/site/index.shtml
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

This school has been nothing but a headache since day one. The supply lists demand materials for the entire class rather than for my child. I don't mind donating, but supply whole classes is too much. They couldn't figure out their own registration lists. The administration was rude and condescending when I brought attention to a topic taught in class that was inappropriate and not factual. The same teacher wore unprofessional attire to open house. Then one day we happen to be a minute, maybe 2 late (definitely less than 5min). My child was told to call me as I must sign him in. For a simple tardy? I had to turn around, go back to the school, and when I went into the attendance office, there was a room full of kids getting tardy slips and NONE of their parents were there. Every since I complained about the course content, the staff and administration have been rude and it feels as if they are singling my child out. Schools like this are why Memphis cannot garner good teachers and retain them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

Ridgeway Middle is a joke and a place of bullying from teachers and administration to students. I've never seen educators so disrespectful to students like those in Ridgeway Middle. I had to pull out my son, two months after school started. How can these educators demand respect from students? They should be a good example and be good roll models of respects, ethics and integrity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

Ridgeway Middle School is one of the very best if not the nest public school left in the city of Memphis: Every school be it public or private has it's good and bad points but over all. Ridgeway has more to offer in a public school facility & academic. The location is awsomne!, the academics are on point & the extra curricular activities. As far as teachers & administrative staff goes! it's all the same Globally in the city or County or private; a person's educational portfolio cannot make up for what is lacked in character & common sense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

The only thing that I like about this school is the CLUE teacher Mrs. Causey. The principal, the administrative staff, and the majority of all teachers that I have come into contact with at this school are rude, speak to you in an undignified manner, and single out children that stand up for themselves when they are wronged. Ridgeway Middle has lost my child leaving me to spend 2 hours looking for her, a teacher snatched her and threw her into a wall, and I am currently looking for another learning environment all together for my child. This school has caused stress and durest for my entire family. It was the same for my little brother when he attended this atrocious facade of a learning facility. In my opinion, Ridgeway Middle is one of the worst schools in the entire city, and should be closed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I love Ridgeway Middle School because my teacher Ms. Collins is the most patient teacher I have ever had. I am in Honors Algebra I and it is very hard. Ms. Collins is willing to stay after school or whatever it takes until I understand the problems. My other teachers are nice also. The Principle and Asst. Principle are tuff but fair. Don't get me wrong, every school has some bad teachers and some bad students; but overall Ridgeway Middle is a G-R-E-A-T SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

Iam not just a parent but I was a teacher at Ridgeway for the past year as well. My child loves everything about Ridgeway and never wants to come home. She literally goes to sleep and wakes up with Ridgeway on her mind. Academically, I was impressed, she did very well and I credit the wonderful teachers, who are so inspirational, motivational, and teaches so enthusiatically duing hands-on self-created lessons at times. They are awesome. The PTA meetings are more like a game. The parents are so supportive and involved. The administrators were on top of their jobs everyday on the halls making sure teachers were inspiring young minds. I have never seen a school so on top of their game or gain. Ridgeway is one of the best schools in the USA not just Memphis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

I absolutely love this school! It reminds me of the time when teachers cared about the students back in the day. I attended the Parent Meeting tonight and could not believe the parent involvement and the enthusiasm of the entire faculty. My son went to Kirby Middle for one semester, and Ridgeway Middle is so different. At Kirby, when my husband and I went to the PTA meeting, there was a handful of parents and only the principal. That is so sad! Tonight at Ridgeway, there was so many parents, teachers, and students there. Amazing!! This is the way a school should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

Great school!!! My son loves it!! My husband and I love it too. It reminds me of when we were in junior high. Good quality leadership and teachers. Ridgeway, keep it up!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

its just a great school for students to go it has lots of activities and more!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2008

Ridgewayis okay i guess.Some teachers can be really annoying sometimes.Thay don't have sanitary bathrooms either.But the best thing there is band.I really enjoy it.Mr.Kennedy is the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

This school is the best ever, I've been going to it for a whole year and it been awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2007

Ridgeway is not the best school because the teacher do not care about the students they jest want their money. The parents are not involved. I do not think you should let child or children should go here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2007

I am highly disappointed in this school. many of them do not want to teach and are just there to collect a paycheck. The homework assignments that are supposed to be posted on the school website are rarely up to date. The children are kept busy with take home projects instead of quality homework assignments. School of the year? That's a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

Ridgeway is an excellent schoool! I believe it is one of the top schools in the state! Dr. Richmond is a wonderful leader an role model, and keeps the school safe, organized, and focused on the goal of teaching and learning. I beleive he DOES want the kids there to succeed and cares about them. Most of the teachers are friendly and enthusiastic about learning. The school is beautiful on the inside, out! Students are given many optional programs and extra-curricular activities in order to expand on their knowledge on various subjects and studies. RIDGEWAY---A++++!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2007

I attend Ridgeway Middle School and I am not too fond of it. Most of the teachers are careless. The restrooms are horrible, the administration and falcuty is horrible. I would advise you to choose another school for your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2007

I am very happy with Ridgeway Middle School. Dr. Richmond leadership skills are to be commended. His concept of a fight free school is awesome. It is because of this concept and the structure of the fight free program, that I allow my child to attend this school. Ridgeway Middle also offers diverse extra cirricular activities. There is something for everyone to be apart of regardless of skill, gifts, ethnic background, or talent. Ridgeway Middle School students exempliy confidence, pride, and respect of authority and others. Ridgeway Middle is 'The very, very, very best school'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

I think Dr. Richmond is a great principal.I'm not satisfied with the communication with parent/teacher.The teachers my son had last year where not reponsive to my calls or notes sent to them concerning my son.It took one teacher 6 days to call me back after several atempts to contact.The school has great activites to keep the students active.I like that Dr. Richmond make the boys put their short tails in.That makes them look presentable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

My grandchild attends Ridgeway Middle School after moving to Memphis from another northeastern state. He has progressed beyond the norm per standardized tests results.Discussions with others about our 'wonderful grandchildren'at Ridgeway has not warranted much fault,substantive fault anyway. Ridgeway Middle School concert band wentin Atlanta this month and in a National Concert Band competition that included middle school bands AND high school bands...Ridgeway Middle School Concert Band was 1st in the nation against 33 of the top bands. The discipline and academic level required to participate in extracurricular activities including more than 50+ students is commendable... and it is expensive HOWEVER...the parents came up with the resources. The principal IS NOT the band director yet it is apparent he is director of the staff to warrant such accomplishments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

I had a child who attended Ridgeway Middle School and I have been nothing but disappointed and disillusioned. The outside of Ridgeway is beautiful and sleek The students are dressed well and move about orderly. But beneath the gleaming facade lies a multitude of problems. Teachers seem more worried about security than teaching. The school is more like a prison than an instition of higher learning. Standards are so low only the most uneducated fail.I dont know how they are able to juggle and hide the fact that so many students are little more than functionally illiterate. My child made Honor Roll evey six weeks but when I compared his work to the work of a child from an out of state you would have thought he was at least 5 years younger. Shame on You Dr. Richmond. Shame on You Ridgeway. Your grade is F.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
9%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
28%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
22%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
9%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
24%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
1%

2011

 
 
3%

2010

 
 
2%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
18%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
33%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students16%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students37%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students56%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students81%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students23%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students39%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students65%
African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students25%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students28%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students64%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
80%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students50%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 90% 23%
Hispanic 7% 7%
White 2% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (901) 416-1477

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6333 Quince Rd
Memphis, TN 38119
Phone: (901) 416-1588

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hutchison School
Memphis, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT