Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Ridgeway is built on a tradition of excellence. As the only IB school in West Tennessee, we pride ourselves in educating the "whole child." All students are exposed to the IB curriculum which includes a global focus in all classes. Approximately, 40 unique clubs are also offered to the students. Ridgeway is truly an amazing school.
June 13, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
The school prides itself on promoting honesty and integrity through the IB Learner Profile, IB Academic Honesty Policy, multiple clubs and assemblies.
Posted June 13, 2016

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Ridgeway is built on a tradition of excellence. As the only IB school in West Tennessee, we pride ourselves in educating the "whole child." All students are exposed to the IB curriculum which includes a global focus in all classes. Approximately, 40 unique clubs are also offered to the students. Ridgeway is truly an amazing school.
Posted June 13, 2016


Ridgeway Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank the teachers,IB Coordinator and Principals for creating an environment where the students desire to do their very best. The staff is accessible and supportive of both the students and parents. My daughter has truly blossomed over the past 3 years both academically and socially. She was this tall, shy and timid pre-teen and midway of her 1st year I witnessed her become more independent and comfortable in her own skin,in which all of this is due to the compassion displayed by the faculty of RMS. Kudos to the entire staff.

Ridgeway Middle School 5

Posted June 12, 2016
- a community member
The structure and academic exposure for the students create opportunities for all students to be successful.

Ridgeway Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 12, 2016
- a community member
Principal Williams is tremendous. Highly respect him. Strength, compassion, discipline. I have watched him completely improve the morale of this school.


Ridgeway Middle School 5

Posted June 12, 2016
- a community member
Fantastic administration and faculty. A very well-run school where the children are visibly cared for.

Ridgeway Middle School 5

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
Great school. Great kids and teachers. I will miss RMS as my child move on to high school. Thanks you Ridgeway.

Ridgeway Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a parent
Ridgeway Middle Optional International Baccalaureate Candidate School is a great school! I am a third year parent at the school and I am happy with the changes that the new administration has brought to the school. My child loves to come to school and loves the new staff that have been hired under the administration. This school has stepped up and is after one year, one of two middle schools not on the low performing list in the Southeast region and moved to a level 5 school after one year of the new administration. My child is a part of the optional program and he is not only performing well in school academically but he is finding other interests in the many clubs and opportunities that are offered, that were not available before. As a parent, member of the Roadrunner 100 club, and cheerleader for the school, I want to commend Principal Corey Williams, Mrs. Turner and staff for what they are doing to make Ridgeway Middle School the best school it can be. http://www.mcsk12.net/schools/ridgeway.ms/site/index.shtml


Ridgeway Middle School 2

Posted September 04, 2012
- a parent
This school has been nothing but a headache since day one. The supply lists demand materials for the entire class rather than for my child. I don't mind donating, but supply whole classes is too much. They couldn't figure out their own registration lists. The administration was rude and condescending when I brought attention to a topic taught in class that was inappropriate and not factual. The same teacher wore unprofessional attire to open house. Then one day we happen to be a minute, maybe 2 late (definitely less than 5min). My child was told to call me as I must sign him in. For a simple tardy? I had to turn around, go back to the school, and when I went into the attendance office, there was a room full of kids getting tardy slips and NONE of their parents were there. Every since I complained about the course content, the staff and administration have been rude and it feels as if they are singling my child out. Schools like this are why Memphis cannot garner good teachers and retain them.

Ridgeway Middle School 1

Posted June 12, 2012
- a parent
Ridgeway Middle is a joke and a place of bullying from teachers and administration to students. I've never seen educators so disrespectful to students like those in Ridgeway Middle. I had to pull out my son, two months after school started. How can these educators demand respect from students? They should be a good example and be good roll models of respects, ethics and integrity.

Nearby schools

Ridgeway Middle School
6333 Quince Road, Memphis, TN  38119
(901) 416-1588
Last modified Ridgeway Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top