Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Downtown Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2013

Your stats are deliberately misleading to parents and more harmful than beneficial. This school is outstanding. You eliminated the subgroup data because it indicates how good this school is.You mixed data that has nothing to do with the principal, teachers, students or this campus. There is a deliberate attempt to hide the ability of this school to educate white students or "non-disadvantaged" students and also disadvantaged students TOGETHER. Shame. Understand what racism is and what poverty is and what it does to kids - and how people overcome that. Post stats that represent the ability of a campus to educate kids on a normalized dataset with cofactors. I suspect that this school is BETTER than any other Shelby county school at educating a non-disadvantaged child not living in poverty with involved parents. What it also shows is that this school is able to teach LESS advantaged and advantaged kids TOGETHER. What the site is doing is trying to push all the white kids into another district and that has nothing to do with the campus or the teachers ability to teach ALL children at Downtown. Post the normalized data please.


Posted May 16, 2013

Our son Joshua is in the Pre-K program at Downtown Elementary. I have to admit I was somewhat unsure about it initially, but since I work in downtown Memphis and the idea of him being close, his first year of school, it outweighed any of my concerns. I have to say I really have come to love the school, especially his teacher Mrs. Finlayson. We LOVE HER!!!! And sort of saddened by the idea that we will soon be saying goodbye to her and he will be moving on. I think she is a GREAT teacher and was the PERFECT fit for our son and his first year attending school. We will certainly miss her
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I never thought I would feel compelled to write another review about this school. I jumped in with both feet since my son started here in kindergarten. I was a tutor in the volunteer tutoring program, volunteered in my son's classroom when needed and went on many of the really great field trips. Unfortunately, this year I was involved in a situation with a child and parent, received absolutely no support from the school personnel and was basically hung out to dry. I am removing my son from the school this year. I will recommend this school with one caveat; WATCH YOUR BACK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

Despite the Great School rating, Downtown Elementary is a great school. It is a unique jewel in the system that takes advantage of its location to use the downtown area as a interactive classroom. It is both academically challenging for my three sons who attend the school and socially rewarding. My oldest son just returned from an elite summer program at Northwestern University for gifted students. He excelled along with other private school students because of the learning skills achieved at Downtown Elementary. The test scores are skewed by a certain percentage of the students who come from economically impoverished backgrounds. The school has two tracks for students, gifted and traditional. The beauty of this school is that it seeks to educate all children at their skill level. Visit Downtown Elementary and you will see that it is a 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

Downtown Elementary School is one of the best inner-city public schools in the South. The Memphis business community brings recruits here to show off top-of-the-line facilities and staff. For this reason, they invest in the school, so it is funded beyond the public allotment for such things as a science lab, music program, computer lab, and play/gym equipment. Parents are very involved and help make the school a success along with the incredible staff led by the most dedicated principal. Diversity is reflected as the children of the international medical community bring many cultures to the classroom. This school pulls from the wealthiest and poorest sections of Memphis representing the district, and as an optional/CLUE school reaches accross the city to bring in the brightest. These varied perspectives make learning a real world experience that teaches values far beyond the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

My children love to learn at this school. They are taught to read in Kindergarten. The teachers are excellent. Afterschool activities include chess, dance, art, swimming, guitar, piano and acting. My children love the art and dance classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2005

Well run school. good leadership from Principle down to excellent control in the classroom. Modern facilities. Spacious classrooms. Good communication with parents. Parents know exactly what work is being covered every 6 weeks. Parents actively encouraged to participate in school life. Very happy with my choice of school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

After being involved in another Memphis school, my family is very pleased with Downtown Elementary. The teachers are enthusiastic and very competent. Downtown Elementary offers excellent after-school enrichment programs, in which my children participate. We have also found the student population to be diverse, with children of different nationalities represented in the student body. Parents seem to be very supportive of the school and the school's programs, and I have seen a great deal of parent interest in what and how the children are learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
24%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
22%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
24%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
30%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
22%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students44%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
African American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students50%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students57%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students88%
African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students38%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students38%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students67%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 90% 23%
White 5% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (901) 416-8085

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 North Fourth St
Memphis, TN 38103
Phone: (901) 416-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Patrick School
Memphis, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT