Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Downtown Elementary School 1

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
The principal has set a very negative tone for the whole school. She has no respect for students or parents. Teachers literally seem to fear her. I pulled my student from the school and have had zero regrets.

Downtown Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
My son has joined kindergarten. The Principal and administration are highly enabling and facilitating the registration process. The teachers, assistance, and before/after care staff are also passionate about what they do. They meet the child where they are and let them grow further actively striving to get them into Optional (magnet / enriched academics) program for years ahead. Cafeteria manager accommodates special meal needs and all meals are free. Just like anywhere else, kids would learn words you may not like and with parental care and school team's guidance, it will be alright soon for my kid. Music, PE, CLUE teachers are also great. Thanks.


Downtown Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2013
- a community member
Your stats are deliberately misleading to parents and more harmful than beneficial. This school is outstanding. You eliminated the subgroup data because it indicates how good this school is.You mixed data that has nothing to do with the principal, teachers, students or this campus. There is a deliberate attempt to hide the ability of this school to educate white students or "non-disadvantaged" students and also disadvantaged students TOGETHER. Shame. Understand what racism is and what poverty is and what it does to kids - and how people overcome that. Post stats that represent the ability of a campus to educate kids on a normalized dataset with cofactors. I suspect that this school is BETTER than any other Shelby county school at educating a non-disadvantaged child not living in poverty with involved parents. What it also shows is that this school is able to teach LESS advantaged and advantaged kids TOGETHER. What the site is doing is trying to push all the white kids into another district and that has nothing to do with the campus or the teachers ability to teach ALL children at Downtown. Post the normalized data please.

Downtown Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Our son Joshua is in the Pre-K program at Downtown Elementary. I have to admit I was somewhat unsure about it initially, but since I work in downtown Memphis and the idea of him being close, his first year of school, it outweighed any of my concerns. I have to say I really have come to love the school, especially his teacher Mrs. Finlayson. We LOVE HER!!!! And sort of saddened by the idea that we will soon be saying goodbye to her and he will be moving on. I think she is a GREAT teacher and was the PERFECT fit for our son and his first year attending school. We will certainly miss her

Downtown Elementary School 2

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
I never thought I would feel compelled to write another review about this school. I jumped in with both feet since my son started here in kindergarten. I was a tutor in the volunteer tutoring program, volunteered in my son's classroom when needed and went on many of the really great field trips. Unfortunately, this year I was involved in a situation with a child and parent, received absolutely no support from the school personnel and was basically hung out to dry. I am removing my son from the school this year. I will recommend this school with one caveat; WATCH YOUR BACK.


Downtown Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2008
- a parent
Despite the Great School rating, Downtown Elementary is a great school. It is a unique jewel in the system that takes advantage of its location to use the downtown area as a interactive classroom. It is both academically challenging for my three sons who attend the school and socially rewarding. My oldest son just returned from an elite summer program at Northwestern University for gifted students. He excelled along with other private school students because of the learning skills achieved at Downtown Elementary. The test scores are skewed by a certain percentage of the students who come from economically impoverished backgrounds. The school has two tracks for students, gifted and traditional. The beauty of this school is that it seeks to educate all children at their skill level. Visit Downtown Elementary and you will see that it is a 10.

Downtown Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2007
- a parent
Downtown Elementary School is one of the best inner-city public schools in the South. The Memphis business community brings recruits here to show off top-of-the-line facilities and staff. For this reason, they invest in the school, so it is funded beyond the public allotment for such things as a science lab, music program, computer lab, and play/gym equipment. Parents are very involved and help make the school a success along with the incredible staff led by the most dedicated principal. Diversity is reflected as the children of the international medical community bring many cultures to the classroom. This school pulls from the wealthiest and poorest sections of Memphis representing the district, and as an optional/CLUE school reaches accross the city to bring in the brightest. These varied perspectives make learning a real world experience that teaches values far beyond the curriculum.

Downtown Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2006
- a parent
My children love to learn at this school. They are taught to read in Kindergarten. The teachers are excellent. Afterschool activities include chess, dance, art, swimming, guitar, piano and acting. My children love the art and dance classes.


Downtown Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2005
- a parent
Well run school. good leadership from Principle down to excellent control in the classroom. Modern facilities. Spacious classrooms. Good communication with parents. Parents know exactly what work is being covered every 6 weeks. Parents actively encouraged to participate in school life. Very happy with my choice of school

Downtown Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2005
- a parent
After being involved in another Memphis school, my family is very pleased with Downtown Elementary. The teachers are enthusiastic and very competent. Downtown Elementary offers excellent after-school enrichment programs, in which my children participate. We have also found the student population to be diverse, with children of different nationalities represented in the student body. Parents seem to be very supportive of the school and the school's programs, and I have seen a great deal of parent interest in what and how the children are learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Downtown Elementary School
10 North 4th Street, Memphis, TN  38103
(901) 416-8400
Last modified Downtown Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Downtown Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top