Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering 2

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Mase could be a good school if they would do better by there students no one listens to them, they lock the bathroom door so the kids can't use it. because of a few bad kid and the lunch room they delegate food to curtain student's they want . there should be enough of all the food so the student can have a choice of what to eat. they just really started offer classes that have anything to do with engineering,they can't keep teachers and there are too many chiefs and not enough Indians. they also have outdated online courses for the kid so when the kid go online to do there work it is graded incorrectly they don't have anyone to go to because it is always passed on to someone else and nothing gets done about it so the kids are failing. they do have a new director not sure of what he will do in this up and coming school year but Memphis Academy of Science and Engineering needs to clean up there act.

Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
If I had to describe this school it would be one word "OPPORTUNITY". They inspire their students in fields you wouldn't think possible in this society and day and age. Great Job!


Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering 2

Posted June 01, 2012
- a community member
As an avid supporter of Memphis public schools, let me state for a fact that MASE has just as many behavioral problems, if not more, for a school of its size. In addition, the administration of this school has a history of adopting a "smile-to-your-face/stab-you-in-the-back" attitude toward its faculty and staff. With these conditions in existence, along with letters from benefactors calling for the school's shutdown, I would never consider sending my child there in the first place. MASE, who do you think you're fooling?

Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering 3

Posted January 31, 2012
- a parent
It is time for an overhaul at this school. New ACTIVE leadership, better curriculum, better management of what few funds they do have access to. Much like the majority of the school system in Memphis, the old traditional ways don't work anymore and narrow minded pundits insist on focusing on test-taking skills, rather than actual learning. At least MASE doesn't have a history of violence on school campus, the school is fairly small, so behavioral issues aren't as bad as at some other schools in the area. The worst part is that honestly, there aren't really any better public school/charter options in the inner city area of Memphis. Be prepared to basically homeschool as much as you can and put your child at MASE mostly for record-keeping purposes.

Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering 1

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
MASE is a fake school that needs to be investigated. The current leadership is weak. There is more wrong than right in this place.


Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering 3

Posted May 29, 2011
- a parent
my son is currently attending mase 2010-2011 school year. the school is very unorganized. the things i like about the school is the teacher ease program where you can check grades of your child and communicate with teachers without calling. I also like three out of 5 of his teachers. his reading teacher,science teacher, and social studies teachers are very good. they give creative assighnment and work with the students. what i don't like the ordering of uniforms i never recieve my childs order, when planing feildtrips they only had one bus for a trip and they return back to school after school got out because they made two trips. I never see the principle when i go to the school always the dean of 7th grade or councelor. Sometimes teachers are slow updating grades on teacherease. They get out of school at four, but the extra time that they have they are doing nothing when they could be doing homewoork or tutoring. I just think it could stand for major improvement and would be better if they get organized.also a plus they send emails to parents of schlorship opportunites and summercamp programs through emails.

Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering 5

Posted May 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering 1

Posted April 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering 0
no rating

Posted February 17, 2009
- a student
I love MASE. MASE is an excellent school. i've been here since 5th grade and now that im about to graduate, i say it was the best experience of my life. Wooooh!!! Go MASE Phoenix!!! Black and burgundy!!! '09!!!

Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering 5

Posted October 22, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering
20 South Dudley St, Memphis, TN  38103
(901) 448-6273
Last modified Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top