Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Star Academy 5

Posted April 20, 2013
- a parent
My 5 year old twins attend Star Academy they love every bit of it as well does my niece. I know my daughters have a bright future here at star academy.

Star Academy 5

Posted January 11, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attends Star Academy (kindergarten)and I am pleased with the school. The curriculum challenges their mind while helping them propel to higher standards than most schools.At first I was overwhelmed with it myself, but after I saw the dedication and natural desire the teachers have to educate the kids I felt proud to be a parent of a child at STAR ACADEMY!!!! I can't wait until she gets to 3rd grade to do college tours..Yes college tours in the 3rd grade, how amazing!


Star Academy 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
I love this school because for one, it challenges my son. The principal and the teachers are awesome. The reason I say that about the staff is that, I have never been to a school that everyday you drop your child off or pick your child up, that the principal and her staff is opening the doors for our children and the same thing in the evening. The only thing we have to do is drive up and unlock the door.

Star Academy
no rating

Posted March 01, 2010
- a parent
My son started at STAR in his kindergarten year and is now a 5th grade 'senior'. He has loved this school from the start and has often expressed to friends and family how his school's #1 goal is making every student college bound. The STAR Academy faculty and staff made my son into a lifelong learner. Thank you Dr.Tate!

Star Academy
no rating

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
My children are attending star academy this school year and i love. My oldest child has been there 4 years and my youngest has been there 2 years. I couldn't ask for a better principal, teachers nor staff members. I fell in love with the school on my first visit, they are truly there for the needs of all children.


Star Academy
no rating

Posted July 13, 2009
- a parent
My child has been attending this school since it first opened and it is the best school ever and it keeps and getting better. My son is only 9 years old and he is reading on an 6 grade level.

Star Academy 4

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
My child is passing to the third grade and have been attending this school since the kindergarten. I am pleased with the overall learning environment of the school. I just wish there was a library and a computer lab inside the school.

Star Academy 5

Posted February 22, 2008
- a parent
STAR is a wonderful school and I wish they went to the 12th grade. Dr. Tate and Mr. Branch are great. The students are learning things that you wouldn't imagine. Mrs. Brooks is the best she will challenge your child on every level. She works to expand their thinking.


Star Academy
no rating

Posted August 10, 2007
- a parent
i really like this school although the classroom size is going up. (the smaller setting was better) But i wish they had resource classes and if your child is struggling and needs more one on one this is not the school for them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Star Academy
3240 James Road, Memphis, TN  38128
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (901) 219-7063
Last modified Star Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top