Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William Herbert Brewster Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
I want to thank the Pre-k assistants who have to work with the lead teachers and endure what the students go through daily! I'm sure this is hard for them as well!

William Herbert Brewster Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
As I stated in my earlier responses that my concerns are only related to the pre-k lead teachers at this school!


William Herbert Brewster Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Pre-k is assigned nightly work which is about the only fair thing about my experience with this program!

William Herbert Brewster Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
No persistence nor determination is shown! The Pre-k lead teachers are not happy with their jobs and they do not hide it from their students nor the parents!!

William Herbert Brewster Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Everything reported today is based on the lead Pre-k official at this school and should not be held against the remainder of the school and its staff!!!


William Herbert Brewster Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
I don't see anything instilled in the pre-k students! Most of them have a look of utter disgust on their little faces!!

William Herbert Brewster Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
The Pre-k lead teachers see their chosen career path as just a pay check! They have no love for their job nor their students!

William Herbert Brewster Elementary School 3

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Good School. No aftercare for all students. Limited to just 50. If you need aftercare do not go here! Also school is dismissed at 3:00PM not 3:15PM!!!!!! Parents have less than 30 minutes to pick up their kids to avoid late reporting. BECAUSE THE STAFF IS LEAVING AT 3:15PM


William Herbert Brewster Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2014
- a community member
This school is a good school. It challenges students to do there best . I went pre-k though 1 then 3 until 5 so I enjoyed it. They have many activities for your child. Brewster does not care who or what you are yea I under that test scores are low but look at it some kids help the scores then you have the percental that bring it down no it's not a bad school some of the student make the school bad.

William Herbert Brewster Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
WH Brewster is a wonderful school. Sadly they face many challenges including language barriers and some parental apathy. I feel that they give 110% and really love the kids. My son is in Optional, Clue, and scored above average on all parts of the T-CAP in 3rd grade, and is well on his way to do just as well in the 4th grade. Overall the T-CAP scores for students at this school are low, but I feel that the school is not to blame because they constantly reach out to parents and encourage them to get involved. I am pleased with the school and don t have a single complaint despite what some people might think. I think some people are missing out on a diamond in the rough.

Nearby schools

William Herbert Brewster Elementary School
2605 Sam Cooper Boulevard, Memphis, TN  38112
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (901) 416-7150
Last modified William Herbert Brewster Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top