Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwind High School

Public | 9-12 | 1686 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2014

The rating for this school is wrong. The graduation rate for this school has went down every year. Southwind high school has somevofvthe lowest act scores in the state of tennessee. The teachers don't get alone and there are police at the school at least twice a semester .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

This school was the worst I have ever dealt with. I have 3 children and we are a military family so I have seen different schools. The Principal is really never there. The Asst Principal is rude and cursed me out to the point that I cried because I didn't know how to handle any of our children being there. I moved...really quick. My son now goes to Bolton High and that has been awesome. I pray for the kids at Southwind daily and feel sorry for them. The ratings should show the leadership value. I did try to complain to the school board but never had a answer back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

The school started out great. Ms. Vaughan is a nice person, however, her leadership is not the best. The counselors are not very good at keeping up with the students graduation credits or counseling them on what is needed. Very poor lack of communication!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2010

My daughter has been attending SWH since 9th grade and she is a senior this year. A wonderful school excellent principal and teachers. This campus is under control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

Excellent school, extremely strict, has made huge steps in the right direction!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

The school is one of the best in Memphis, it provides a great learning environment for the children and helps them in every way possible to become successful and achieve their full potential
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

I really like this school because it has help me grow into a better person while providing me with the tools I need to achieve academic excellence
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

This a wonderful school. The Principal and the teachers work very hard to make sure that their students and our children excel to the highest level. Ms. Patterson is a principal that believes in zero tolerance but she also has compassion. Ms. Patterson is a principal that all principals need to learn from. My son has received student of the month twice and had nothing but A's and B' the whole school year. Thank you Southwind High School Principal and Faculty for a job done well done. A. Bates
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
23%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
19%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

718 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
28%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
46%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
44%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
22%
U.S. History

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students67%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students33%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students42%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students60%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students47%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students26%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students94%
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 93% 23%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
White 1% 67%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7900 East Shelby Dr
Memphis, TN 38125
Phone: (901) 752-2881

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kirby High School
Memphis, TN


Germantown High School
Germantown, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT