Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southwind High School 1

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
I wouldn't recommend anyone to send their child to Southwind High School. Mr. Brown is the worst leader this school has every received. He doesn't care about the children education at all. The administrators are ones that I wouldn't want my child to come in contact with. When attempting to deal with any issues the staff is very disrespectful. They treat the parents as if they are students. They are unprofessional on all levels. I hope that the Shelby County Board of Education make changes or parents please keep your children away if you care about their education because Southwind High School is not it especially under the leadership of Mr. Brown.

Southwind High School 5

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
This is a good school. The previous comment left by the parent with bad grammar is a fake review.


Southwind High School 1

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
The rating for this school is wrong. The graduation rate for this school has went down every year. Southwind high school has somevofvthe lowest act scores in the state of tennessee. The teachers don't get alone and there are police at the school at least twice a semester .

Southwind High School 1

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
This school was the worst I have ever dealt with. I have 3 children and we are a military family so I have seen different schools. The Principal is really never there. The Asst Principal is rude and cursed me out to the point that I cried because I didn't know how to handle any of our children being there. I moved...really quick. My son now goes to Bolton High and that has been awesome. I pray for the kids at Southwind daily and feel sorry for them. The ratings should show the leadership value. I did try to complain to the school board but never had a answer back.

Southwind High School 3

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
The school started out great. Ms. Vaughan is a nice person, however, her leadership is not the best. The counselors are not very good at keeping up with the students graduation credits or counseling them on what is needed. Very poor lack of communication!!!!!!


Southwind High School 5

Posted November 20, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has been attending SWH since 9th grade and she is a senior this year. A wonderful school excellent principal and teachers. This campus is under control.

Southwind High School 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school, extremely strict, has made huge steps in the right direction!

Southwind High School 5

Posted November 15, 2009
- a parent
The school is one of the best in Memphis, it provides a great learning environment for the children and helps them in every way possible to become successful and achieve their full potential


Southwind High School 5

Posted November 15, 2009
- a student
I really like this school because it has help me grow into a better person while providing me with the tools I need to achieve academic excellence

Southwind High School 5

Posted May 27, 2008
- a parent
This a wonderful school. The Principal and the teachers work very hard to make sure that their students and our children excel to the highest level. Ms. Patterson is a principal that believes in zero tolerance but she also has compassion. Ms. Patterson is a principal that all principals need to learn from. My son has received student of the month twice and had nothing but A's and B' the whole school year. Thank you Southwind High School Principal and Faculty for a job done well done. A. Bates

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southwind High School
7900 East Shelby Drive, Memphis, TN  38125
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (901) 752-2881
Last modified Southwind High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top