Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Memphis, TN
Students enrolled: 1,686

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southwind High School 1

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
The rating for this school is wrong. The graduation rate for this school has went down every year. Southwind high school has somevofvthe lowest act scores in the state of tennessee. The teachers don't get alone and there are police at the school at least twice a semester .

Southwind High School 1

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
This school was the worst I have ever dealt with. I have 3 children and we are a military family so I have seen different schools. The Principal is really never there. The Asst Principal is rude and cursed me out to the point that I cried because I didn't know how to handle any of our children being there. I moved...really quick. My son now goes to Bolton High and that has been awesome. I pray for the kids at Southwind daily and feel sorry for them. The ratings should show the leadership value. I did try to complain to the school board but never had a answer back.


Southwind High School 3

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
The school started out great. Ms. Vaughan is a nice person, however, her leadership is not the best. The counselors are not very good at keeping up with the students graduation credits or counseling them on what is needed. Very poor lack of communication!!!!!!

Southwind High School 5

Posted November 20, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has been attending SWH since 9th grade and she is a senior this year. A wonderful school excellent principal and teachers. This campus is under control.

Southwind High School 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school, extremely strict, has made huge steps in the right direction!


Southwind High School 5

Posted December 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Southwind High School 5

Posted November 15, 2009
- a parent
The school is one of the best in Memphis, it provides a great learning environment for the children and helps them in every way possible to become successful and achieve their full potential

Southwind High School 5

Posted November 15, 2009
- a student
I really like this school because it has help me grow into a better person while providing me with the tools I need to achieve academic excellence


Southwind High School 5

Posted October 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Southwind High School 5

Posted November 15, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southwind High School
7900 East Shelby Dr, Memphis, TN  38125
(901) 752-2881
Last modified Southwind High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southwind High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top