Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lausanne Collegiate School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
Unfortunately, many excellent, award winning teachers have been fired by the Administration. The school does not seem to be run by an educator, but a business; an insecure businessman to be more specific. It is a sign of strength, not weakness, to surround yourself with people who are smarter than you are and will challenge you. If you can only tolerate sycophants, then the students suffer. The Board either isn't paying attention or they are clueless.

Lausanne Collegiate School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a student
I feel that this school is a huge letdown in terms of what you expect. As a student I expected it to be a magnificent place but I was soon discriminated racially by the basketball program which hurt me very much from an emotional standpoint. Many of the students here are great but the school is accepting many students who are very uninterested in their academics which has led to the deterioration of the teachers. Many quality teachers are leaving such as the 9th and 11th grade history teacher, he was very passionate about his job and really cared about the students but he challenged administration on many things which led to his firing. This school truly has the potential to be great, which is why my experience there was so disappointing.


Lausanne Collegiate School 2

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
The saving grace is there are still some good teachers..however, many are leaving...some not of their own choice. The choice is made for them. One example is a nationally award winning Upper school teacher. The students loved him. However, the Administration seems to be threatened by competence. There is no academic dean and this shows in the lack of course planning, sequencing, curriculum flow etc. Very hands-off approach; students are basically not supported and there is little or no structure. Their reason is always that students need to learn to advocate for themselves. It borders on the ridiculous. Definitely not that strong academically. Keep in mind that individual students can always achieve admission to great colleges; look carefully at the bulk of the college acceptances. If you attend here, you may eventually feel as if you are being brainwashed and berated with the constantly repeated phrases "It's a privilege, not a right, to be at Lausanne" and "We are child-centered" - if it has to be said so many times, it may be a marketing tool - not reality. If a school has to say those things constantly, and not let reputation and experience speak in lieu for this constantly pushed narrative, it may be propaganda.

Lausanne Collegiate School 1

Posted May 08, 2015
- a student
At Lausanne School, everywhere you turn they are pushing diversity and saying we're a big family. Be warned, because this is not at all true. While there are many races and many religions and many opinions, they don't all go together. A principal once gave a speech about microagressions, claiming he knew how it felt (though he was a wealthy, white, straight man). They tell us to accept everyone has now shut down the GSA (Gay Straight Alliance) idea TWO times. Do not waste your money here. All they do is say "hey! look! we have a lot of not white people! DIVERSITY" and ask for your money.

Lausanne Collegiate School 3

Posted December 31, 2014
- a parent
The rating that our family would like to give this school is based on 5 years of experience that our child has had in the elementary classes. We do give many of the teachers five stars. But we, like many other parents, felt the need to supplement with extra tutoring despite paying nearly 20k per child in tuition every year. Considering this kind of tuition is not affordable by many, you only have kids from a certain strata of society attending this school - not really a 'global experience'. Our children have moved to good public schools (although limited in number, there some good options) and their school life is already enriched. The grading system in Lausanne did not make sense. Now, we know for sure where our children stand among their peers. This ensures a healthy competitive spirit in our kids now. At Lausanne we never knew for sure what they are good at, where they stand among peers and whether it was the child's performance or the parents' monetary capability that produced encouragement and praise for the kids. After 5 years in this school, we now know that the school is not exceptionally different from other schools.


Lausanne Collegiate School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
Lausanne is the best private school in Memphis. The academics are rigorous and prepare students for a high level of academic success with subject matters that require critical thinking and relate to life learning experiences. The teachers are excellent in helping students and go the extra mile to make sure the students succeed. More than half of the students graduate and are accepted to Ivies, such as, Yale, Stanford, MIT, Princeton, and so on. Other great small and large private colleges and universities visit Lausanne year around to seek high academic level students because of the reputation they've earned for years on a national level. The school offers great academics and diversity to prepare students for global success. The alumni and graduates are located worldwide and have phenomenal careers worldwide. There is no other school that offers great academics and diversity to prepare students for success globally. nal level. The administration is friendly and professional from all over the world.

Lausanne Collegiate School 4

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Administratively, the school does not perform very well. Months go by before your child's reading and math levels are assessed. Even then it doesn't appear that the proper tools and resources for the assessment are used. My child went to a public school for a half day where they were able to provide me with creditable documentation on were my child stood on both subjects. We later chose private because the public schools' class size was too large. Lausanne doesn't appear to have any thought out curriculums for the lower school. Children are given various worksheets that do not build upon each other which is essential for strong math skills. The positive aspects of the school include the class sizes, foreign language, and diversity. Most of the parents I have spoken with agree that the lower school academics are very poor compared to other schools, but believe the diversity is worth it because several of us have multi-racial children or religious beliefs that would prohibit us from attending many of the other private schools in the area. As such, in addition to paying the $20k in tuition, the parents supplement academics with enrichment programs such as kumon.

Lausanne Collegiate School 1

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
The IB program advertised by school is run by very young & inexperienced teachers . They advertise heavily .This school main focus is all around Tuition & NOT the student welfare . They are least bothered about a child well being. God forbid if you sign up there contract & decide the school is not the right fit - They will refuse to meet you and hound you through collection agencies & threaten to sue you.


Lausanne Collegiate School 5

Posted February 16, 2014
- a teacher
Interesting to read some of the comments below, most I wholeheartedly agree with. There is no other school like Lausanne in the Memphis area. Lausanne is a student centered school that supports, challenges, and encourages students to grow and be themselves. I encourage you to compare college acceptances and scholarships with any other school, you will find no one else comes close, Early acceptances in 2014 already include Harvard, MIT, Yale, Stanford, Georgetown, Rice, University of Chicago and many more. It is a privilege to work at such a wonderful and diverse school, I encourage you to visit and find out for yourself!

Lausanne Collegiate School 4

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
We've been Lausanne parents for over 10 years. The school's best strengths are its sincere care and respect of each individual student and the diversity of the student body. It's not the most rigorous academic program in town (we wouldn't mind if it were), but if you are looking for a school that is nourishing to your student and passionate about making them good and healthy citizens, Lausanne is the place to go. It is also constantly trying to better itself by continuously trying new things and making positive changes. Lausanne was a front runner to introduce Mandarin to its foreign language program, and now is an IB school as well. We feel fortunate to have our kids there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lausanne Collegiate School
1381 W Massey Rd, Memphis, TN  38120
(901) 474-1000
Last modified Lausanne Collegiate School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Lausanne Collegiate School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top