Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brownsville Rd Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 597 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2009

Thanks to Ms. Adair my child had an awesome third grade year. She worked very hard and brought my child's reading up to grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2005

I have two children who attends Brownsville Road. Both had a wonderful learning experience.They recieved quality and challenging instruction. Their teachers were two of the best that MCS has to offer! They were very nurturing and my kids knew it. We pass at least fifteen schools before we get to BRS. It is well worth the drive. I tell everybody I know about how great this school is. My children hate to miss a day even when they are ill. Thanks for doing an outstanding job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2004

My daughter is a fourth grader here at Brownsville Road. And we were lucky enough to be place in Mrs. Cincore's class. The only word to discribe the method of teaching here at our school is Fantastic. There are no lengths too great and no student relationship to meanial. Her love of children and her job is evident in the way she prepares and exacutes her lesson plans. My daughter is a C.L.U.E. student and a member of the Bronco Chorale and she loves every minute of it. I can't think of a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

I am a proud parent of a kindergarten student at Brownsville Road. She is in Mrs. Tinsley's class who is an excellent teacher. She is great with my child and her other 20 students. My child also attended Brownsville Road last year as a part of their Pre-K Clue. Mrs. Avis was her teacher. My child was really shy and her attending school had me really nervous, with the loving, positive attitude Mrs. Avis had toward her students she really put my mind at ease. Now that my child is in Kindergarten she is really doing well. She is one of only 6 Kindergarteners that are in clue at this school. I would like to say thanks to all the teachers and support staff for making yourselves available to the parents. Your support and willingness to help in anyway is what helps me to be an active parent in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

Brownsville Road is a good school probably one of the better Memphis city schools, although I don't feel enough time is spent on any one subject to make sure the child fully understands it. It is up to the parents to be the teachers, my child did great up until the third grade after that things changed including her love of school, it's a shame, I will be putting my child into county schools where the math and reading scores are excellent, and hopefully the love of school will be back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2004

My child attended 2nd grade with ms. Moore and mrs. Porter... They were both wonderful teachers! My child attended white station elem. Last year and it was terrible! My son hated school when he left there. Once attending brownsville road, he now loves school again! he has been challenged in every way at this school and he at exceled due to the wonderful, loving leadership that is provided to each and every student! the staff encourage and greatly appreciate all that parents do. This is a wonderful staff and school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

On last school term, my child transition from a Mississippi school to Brownsville Road. I feel her teachers at Brownsvile Road helped her with this smooth transition. Thanks Brownsville Road. Katrel Jones
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2004

My daughter has improved so much and her teacher is wonderful! This is one of Memphis best schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
32%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
26%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
13%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
20%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students27%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students48%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students75%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students23%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students20%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students62%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students31%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students33%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students74%
African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 84% 24%
Hispanic 9% 6%
White 6% 67%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (901) 416-4302

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5292 Banbury
Memphis, TN 38134
Phone: (901) 416-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT