Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Craigmont High School

Public | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2014

This school is terrible. Kids set the garbage cans on fire, pull the fire alarm, have riots, steal from staff, have fights every day. If your child has a little potential don't bring them there. It's horribly set up the teachers smoke with the students. And their are gangs everywhere


Posted January 18, 2014

Craigmont High school is a very excellent school. The community thinks that it is a bad school because they only hear about the bad things that happen. There are many bad things that happen at other schools as well. Craigmont high school has a plethora of positive things going on. They have an excellent optional program and much more. If the community takes a chance to stop looking at the bad things that occur here and look at the positive things they will love it. I recommend students with positive behavior and work ethics to come and enjoy Craigmont High School.


Posted July 19, 2013

Don't send your child this school if you are white because they will be very uncomfortable.


Posted May 3, 2012

this needs some help. i have to say as a student that went there it not good. The teacher in the other hand are very very good. by Ab .A
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2008

As far as Craigmont goes, I think is a wonderful place to get and education, being that I am a current student there. The teachers are excellent, and most of the students as well. Of course there are a few bad apples in the bunch but there's everywhere. People think that Craigmont is a bad school but its only because the media chooses to show bad things.There are many positive things going on at Craigmont, but no one cares about that anymore.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2008

Craigmont is an excellent school for African-American students because it is filled with other wonderful teachers and students who build a sense of community amongst each other that lasts a lifetime.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2007

I have walked in this school unanouced several times and each time I see kids in the hallways wandering around. They have an in-school police. The students are disrespectful. The principal has no control over the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

Great school. There are only a few students that bring bad light to the school but I am sure ms. brown will change all of that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2007

This is an excellent school I would recommend my friends to go to this school any day
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2006

My son graduated from Craigmont 2001, after attending from the seventh grade in all honors classes. They did not have a principal that had any control over students behavior(or teachers), and Douglass High was bussed there. They didn't want to be there and so they never cared how they treated the school. My son did have the opportunity of a great ROTC program which has provided him a great career as a Marine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2005

I think that Craigmont High School is a great school and wonderful place for the students to learn. I think that my child is getting the best education at Craigmont High School. I attend Craigmont the first year the school opened and I enjoyed myself. The staff is great they take time with the children and make sure that they understand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

I would have to say that this High School was a joke. I attended only my senior year and graduated in 2001. Almost half the class expected to graduate did not. Also I rarely attended classes and still managed to pass. I believe that this school needs much improvement. Lets focus a little more on education then on cheerleading.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

As a Craigmont alumna, I feel that I had the best education that any public school in my city could offer. They offered classes that no other school in the county offered and was even awarded the President's Blue Ribbon of Excellence a few years back. We also had several National Merit Scholars and our cheerleaders won the nationals several years running. The dropout rate was also extremely low. Not many schools can boast of that many accomplishments.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
22%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
13%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
34%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
45%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
9%
U.S. History

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students45%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students49%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students14%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students23%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students30%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students18%
African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students90%
African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 89% 23%
Hispanic 7% 7%
White 3% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (901) 416-7675

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Soccer
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3333 Covington Pk
Memphis, TN 38128
Phone: (901) 416-4312

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Youth Dimensions
Memphis, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT