Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cummings Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The few I have met and dealt with seen to care a great deal for their students.

Cummings Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The homework I have seen for a Pre-K Student from the school seems just right for that age group.


Cummings Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I cannot honestly respond to this, as I have seen no evidence of this occurring or not.

Cummings Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
This should be taught at home and only enforced by schools... The school shouldn't be expected to teach this.

Cummings Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
This starts at home.... Too many "parents" have become people with children instead of parents....


Cummings Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I cannot honestly answer this question yet, as my daughter is only in Pre-K, and has not yet had any actual life lessons tested at school.

Cummings Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
This school certainly is not an awful one, but there is always room for improvement.

Cummings Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Davis, Ms. Green, Mrs. Knapp, and Ms. Anderson at this school did a magnificent job with the Pre-K children for the 2015-2016 school year! I had serious doubts about my daughter attending, but those four put all my fears to rest from the very first day until the end! The school itself is in a very poor community, but it is a diamond in the rough! The principal is retiring this year, and I sure hope this won't change the school!


Cummings Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2008
- a parent
This is an excellent school. It provides a small school atmosphere with caring people and teacher. It is truly a place 'where education is everybody's business'.

Cummings Elementary School 4

Posted February 20, 2004
- a community member
Thanks to the leadership of Mr. Terrell and his excellent faculty, Cummings Elementary is a Jewell in the crown of Memphis City Schools. It is clear the nurturing yet disciplined enviornment will lead to the students' continued academic improvement and eventual success in life. As a provider of after-school activities for Cummings students, I'm pleased to note they are very enthusiastic learners and well-behaved.

Nearby schools

Cummings Elementary School
1037 Cummings Street, Memphis, TN  38106
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (901) 416-7810
Last modified Cummings Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top