Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grahamwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1046 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2014

As we began the process of finding a school for a daughter, we were very nervous about her transition from private school to public school. We were so lucky that a spot was open at Grahamwood. Not only did they provide diversity but they provide a private style education in a public setting. In addition to providing rigor they provide real work experiences for the students. My daughter comes home everyday talking about new things she experiences. Although she has built a strong bond with her teachers she also has a relationship with many of the faculty members in the building. The school truly makes your child feel like they are part of a family! Grahamwood is truly a gem and as and educator I would rate our school above all the elementary above all in the city!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

Grahamwood has proven to be an excellent choice for our children! The teachers we've worked with are outstanding and work hard to help each student excel to the best of his/her ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

I came from a non-english native language contry,the China,but never felt uncomfortable in here,also was my daughter!She's very glad to go school at the begining,even if she cound'nt know English mostly.Mrs Jorgensen,her teather,the danish,so nice,kindly and patiently with these kids.All of my family are becoming more love it,the kingdergaten,the teatheroh,anything of here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My granddaughters go to this school & do very well. Love their teachers & fellow students.


Posted November 18, 2009

It's a shame that some would downplay the excellence of this school. It is highly ranked every year and the principal is fantastic. Many of the teachers have been there for decades and they do show respect to students and parents. For every disappointed parent there is a majority of satisfied and realistic parents who know that this is the best elementary school in Memphis. If you want a real-world, optional school education minus the offensive private school tuition, Grahamwood is the perfect place for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

Grahamwood is an excellent school.When we moved from another state and from a private school,we had a lot of concerns about the school..but after we have been extremely pleased and more than satisfied with the academics at this school .y son goes to the optional program and loves it,the CLUE program is wonderful and there are always exciting field trips.This is a great public school and has a lot to offer to parents looking for enriched academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

I agree with the parents who acknowledge that this school is just hype. Being one of the best Memphis City Schools is not saying much. Children are not treated with respect by many teachers and the Principal is non-responsive. Teachers put on the hype but do not follow up with action to prove their capabilities of bringing out the best in a student. I would not recommend this school. I would recommend a county school or most of all a private school especially this day and age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great teachers and curriculum. Tons of extra curricular activities to enrich the kids' minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

The Grahamwood optional program has been 'home' to our three children since 2003. Two have gone on the White Station Middle and High Schools and our youngest will graduate from the elementary school this coming year. We've been extremely impressed with the academics, the diversity of the student body, the intense participation of parents and, for the most part, all of the teachers. By far, the strongest component has been the CLUE programs which each of my children has loved. The caliber of work (not to mention the volume of work) is extremely high. Budget cuts at Memphis City Schools have been tempered by more parental involvement and campaigns -most successful- that ended up sparing jobs. Don't know what the future holds but thus has been an outstanding choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

The school is an excellent school. The leaderhsip provided by Mr. Ware, former principal and Mr. Johnson have helped this school maintain it's stellar reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

Grahamwood's optional program is outstanding. My daughter received a first-rate education during her years there. Graduates of Grahamwood go on to become top students in area public and private schools. The educational, organizational, and social skills she received while at Grahamwood helped lay a solid foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

It is just a city school. There is lots of hype with the optional programs. Students are just average compared to other county schools in Germantown, Collierville or Lakeland. I moved my son last year back to Arlington and I have to say, Grahamwood is not as good as others claim. They do have some programs but nothing that you can find in other county schools around. Like with all other city schools with poor management, I am concerned about the future of this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

The optional program is excellent. The new principal is doing a great job so far and we are very impressed with the teachers. You can't get much better in the city of Memphis or Shelby County unless you pay through the nose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

The optional program is outstanding. The teachers love their jobs and show it with their enthusiasm. The teachers feel that the new principal is providing they want, but also gladly accepts input from the staff. We have been at Grahamwood for three years and each year seems to get better. Clue is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

My husband and I were so excited when we found out that our children were going to Grahmwood. One finished last year and with two more to go we are looking for other options. The CLUE program is terrific but the rest of the school leaves a lot to be desired. The school has been a steady fall from expectations since we began. We are leaving at the end of this year if we can endure it until then. We are having to home school our children after school to keep them interested in school at all. No we are not pleased at all and do not recommend Graham wood at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

It is a shame that the test scores for the Option Program for this school can not be presented separately from the whole. I think then you would see why Grahamwood has a 4 out of 5 by parent rating, but only a 3 by test scores. While I have rated the principal leadership as low, we are expecting a great improvement with the new incoming principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

We are just starting out with Grahamwood and have been very impressed with the level of teaching in the optional program and the PTA is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

Mr. Ware deserves a A+ rating. Most of the teachers are great. My child has made a complete turn-around since being enrolled in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

I must say that this school is exceptional. The principal has an open door policy and will talk to any and all parents. The teachers are demanding and have high expectations. The school faculty and administration can't be faulted for many of the issues mentioned by other reviewers. Many students are left off at the school as early as 7:15 a.m. -- the school starts at 8:15 a.m. After school supervision is superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

I have been very disappointed about our experience at Grahamwood. The counselor is overwhelmed and the principal in unconcerned and will not even bother to return phone calls. My son's teacher is very commited to teaching, but her classroom is overcrowded and the expectations that are placed on her are unreasonable. The children are not sufficiently supervised in the mornings before the school bell rings or in the afternoons once school is released. It's only a matter of time, before a child is seriously hurt.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
African American54%
Asian94%
Hispanic45%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learners38%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students60%
African American46%
Asian94%
Hispanic28%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners23%

Science

All Students71%
African American58%
Asian94%
Hispanic48%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learners42%

Social Studies

All Students85%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learners35%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students61%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learners22%

Science

All Students60%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learners32%

Social Studies

All Students87%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learners82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
African American59%
Asian90%
Hispanic50%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners42%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students72%
African American62%
Asian95%
Hispanic52%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners50%

Science

All Students67%
African American35%
Asian90%
Hispanic50%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners42%

Social Studies

All Students93%
African American83%
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 67%
Black 24% 23%
Hispanic 16% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Pete Johnson
Fax number
  • (901) 416-5954

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3950 Summer Ave
Memphis, TN 38122
Website: Click here
Phone: (901) 416-5952

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Michael School
Memphis, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT