Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
Grahamwood Elementary is an outstanding school. The teachers and Principal have created a school culture that is second to none--based on respect and an expectation of academic excellence for all students. As an earlier reviewer stated, Grahamwood Elementary provides a private school style education in a public school setting. Simply put, you can not buy a better education!

Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2015
- a community member
My daughter showed so much improvement but above all the teachers and staff are incredible at doing what they love!


Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
As we began the process of finding a school for a daughter, we were very nervous about her transition from private school to public school. We were so lucky that a spot was open at Grahamwood. Not only did they provide diversity but they provide a private style education in a public setting. In addition to providing rigor they provide real work experiences for the students. My daughter comes home everyday talking about new things she experiences. Although she has built a strong bond with her teachers she also has a relationship with many of the faculty members in the building. The school truly makes your child feel like they are part of a family! Grahamwood is truly a gem and as and educator I would rate our school above all the elementary above all in the city!!!!

Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
Grahamwood has proven to be an excellent choice for our children! The teachers we've worked with are outstanding and work hard to help each student excel to the best of his/her ability.

Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
I came from a non-english native language contry,the China,but never felt uncomfortable in here,also was my daughter!She's very glad to go school at the begining,even if she cound'nt know English mostly.Mrs Jorgensen,her teather,the danish,so nice,kindly and patiently with these kids.All of my family are becoming more love it,the kingdergaten,the teatheroh,anything of here.


Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a community member
My granddaughters go to this school & do very well. Love their teachers & fellow students.

Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
It's a shame that some would downplay the excellence of this school. It is highly ranked every year and the principal is fantastic. Many of the teachers have been there for decades and they do show respect to students and parents. For every disappointed parent there is a majority of satisfied and realistic parents who know that this is the best elementary school in Memphis. If you want a real-world, optional school education minus the offensive private school tuition, Grahamwood is the perfect place for your child.

Grahamwood Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
Grahamwood is an excellent school.When we moved from another state and from a private school,we had a lot of concerns about the school..but after we have been extremely pleased and more than satisfied with the academics at this school .y son goes to the optional program and loves it,the CLUE program is wonderful and there are always exciting field trips.This is a great public school and has a lot to offer to parents looking for enriched academics!


Grahamwood Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 24, 2009
- a parent
I agree with the parents who acknowledge that this school is just hype. Being one of the best Memphis City Schools is not saying much. Children are not treated with respect by many teachers and the Principal is non-responsive. Teachers put on the hype but do not follow up with action to prove their capabilities of bringing out the best in a student. I would not recommend this school. I would recommend a county school or most of all a private school especially this day and age.

Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and curriculum. Tons of extra curricular activities to enrich the kids' minds.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grahamwood Elementary School
3950 Summer Ave, Memphis, TN  38122
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (901) 416-5952
Last modified Grahamwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top