Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
As we began the process of finding a school for a daughter, we were very nervous about her transition from private school to public school. We were so lucky that a spot was open at Grahamwood. Not only did they provide diversity but they provide a private style education in a public setting. In addition to providing rigor they provide real work experiences for the students. My daughter comes home everyday talking about new things she experiences. Although she has built a strong bond with her teachers she also has a relationship with many of the faculty members in the building. The school truly makes your child feel like they are part of a family! Grahamwood is truly a gem and as and educator I would rate our school above all the elementary above all in the city!!!!

Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
Grahamwood has proven to be an excellent choice for our children! The teachers we've worked with are outstanding and work hard to help each student excel to the best of his/her ability.


Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
I came from a non-english native language contry,the China,but never felt uncomfortable in here,also was my daughter!She's very glad to go school at the begining,even if she cound'nt know English mostly.Mrs Jorgensen,her teather,the danish,so nice,kindly and patiently with these kids.All of my family are becoming more love it,the kingdergaten,the teatheroh,anything of here.

Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a community member
My granddaughters go to this school & do very well. Love their teachers & fellow students.

Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
It's a shame that some would downplay the excellence of this school. It is highly ranked every year and the principal is fantastic. Many of the teachers have been there for decades and they do show respect to students and parents. For every disappointed parent there is a majority of satisfied and realistic parents who know that this is the best elementary school in Memphis. If you want a real-world, optional school education minus the offensive private school tuition, Grahamwood is the perfect place for your child.


Grahamwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
Grahamwood is an excellent school.When we moved from another state and from a private school,we had a lot of concerns about the school..but after we have been extremely pleased and more than satisfied with the academics at this school .y son goes to the optional program and loves it,the CLUE program is wonderful and there are always exciting field trips.This is a great public school and has a lot to offer to parents looking for enriched academics!

Grahamwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 24, 2009
- a parent
I agree with the parents who acknowledge that this school is just hype. Being one of the best Memphis City Schools is not saying much. Children are not treated with respect by many teachers and the Principal is non-responsive. Teachers put on the hype but do not follow up with action to prove their capabilities of bringing out the best in a student. I would not recommend this school. I would recommend a county school or most of all a private school especially this day and age.

Grahamwood Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and curriculum. Tons of extra curricular activities to enrich the kids' minds.


Grahamwood Elementary School 1

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Grahamwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 17, 2009
- a parent
The Grahamwood optional program has been 'home' to our three children since 2003. Two have gone on the White Station Middle and High Schools and our youngest will graduate from the elementary school this coming year. We've been extremely impressed with the academics, the diversity of the student body, the intense participation of parents and, for the most part, all of the teachers. By far, the strongest component has been the CLUE programs which each of my children has loved. The caliber of work (not to mention the volume of work) is extremely high. Budget cuts at Memphis City Schools have been tempered by more parental involvement and campaigns -most successful- that ended up sparing jobs. Don't know what the future holds but thus has been an outstanding choice.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grahamwood Elementary School
3950 Summer Ave, Memphis, TN  38122
(901) 416-5952
Last modified Grahamwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grahamwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top