Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kingsbury High School 1

Posted October 27, 2015
- a community member
My child was constantly bullied in this school. I'm so happy he's not there now. He was hit in the face with a book in a classroom and nothing was done. No suspension or anything. My son is autistic and the school allowed him to be tormented. This is the worst school in Memphis. The assistant principal is a heartless so called lady who's just there for the paycheck. Please don't send your child here. This school needs to be closed down ASAP.

Kingsbury High School 2

Posted December 26, 2013
- a parent
This school has some good aspects such as being able to provide students with dual enrollment classes and AP Classes but the way I see it, the school is definitely getting worse. There are teachers who truly care about the students but the principal seems to find ways to make their hard work go unnoticed and instead pressures them and makes it seem as if they are in the wrong, causing the good teachers to leave. On the other hand, there are teachers who barely do anything and still get plenty of praise for it. The principal also tries to make it seem like students are doing better academically but that is surely not true. Some do deserve the grades they get because they work hard for them but others rarely go to school or do any work and they still receive the same grades.The teachers are also told that they can not fail students which just contributes into making it seem as if the students are doing better academically. Students also get suspended for the dumbest reasons and for a long time while others who do worse things get suspended for little or no time and are back at getting away with what they want. I see little hope for most of the students there if things do not change.


Kingsbury High School 1

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
The workers in the front office are HORRIBLE. If a parent comes in, they will make you wait while ignoring you until they finish gossiping. Very unprofessional employees with the worst attitudes . They will suspend students for any reason and I 'm actually surprised they are still open. Gang territory . They will pass a child that never goes to school. Worst school ever ...

Kingsbury High School 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
Kingbury High School administrative staff needs to be replaced with people who actually care about the students. Sending a child home because the staff didn't put the child in the system don't make any sense whats so ever.

Kingsbury High School 1

Posted January 12, 2013
- a parent
I loved KMS when the principal was Mackin, he was a great man and great at his job. The teachers worked so hard for the kids and it was a very safe zone. However, at kingsbury high school it's HORRIBLE! The staff is so disrespectful and rude. I went up to the office one time picking something up and a staff lady named ms. Bosstick was ordering food and made me wait a hour. The principal is ok, but all he's good for us suspending people for no reason. The kids that are the worst at the school are treated better and don't recieve a big punishment. In the office they have 3 students every time just hanging out on the teachers desk skipping class, but if a straight A student did that they would literally suspend them for days. Also if you're a good student wearing pants that are 98% cotton, but they think it's jeans you will get suspended. They won't even tell you not to wear it again. No body really cares about your future at KHS. It's a horrible school and you're on your own. Their night be a couple if teachers helping you, but that's it. MCS should really fire all the administrators and hire new ones. This school really needs help!


Kingsbury High School 4

Posted July 26, 2010
- a student
I am a recent graduate of Kingsbury High School. I attended Kingsbury Middle as well as High School. The school has always been my favorite place to be. I was a great student, but that was not my reason for wanting to be there. Kingsbury offers it's students more than just a wonderful education. It offers a whole new world for students. Kingsbury's diverse atmosphere and programs makes every day worth going. The orchestra program was my favorite part. I was in it all 6 of my middle & high school years. They have the best orchestra teacher in Memphis City Schools. The school also offers piano and guitar; also taught by the same wonderful lady. Band is also offered, taught by another wonderful lady. The AJROTC program is nice. The only problem I ever had with the program was the lies they sometimes told. Overall Wonderful School!

Kingsbury High School
no rating

Posted September 26, 2008
- a student
The school recently got a new principal. I thinh that they are on their way to improving their school but they still have a long way to go.

Kingsbury High School 5

Posted January 06, 2007
- a student
Kingsbury Middle High School is a very good school. The teachers and principal try to help the students reach their goals in life. The teachers help and encourage the students to try their best. They offer rewards and other activities to the students if they reach their goals. Even thought their test scores are not great, they still have great programs and teachers and a wonderful principal to keep the school going and having the students be interested in going to school!


Kingsbury High School 4

Posted August 10, 2005
- a student
Kingsbury is a very good school. The staff takes their time to help the students and you are able to obtain college credits. They have a very good technology program, AJROTC program, and an excellent fine arts program. The test scores may not be the best, but it still is a very good school.

Kingsbury High School 3

Posted July 21, 2005
- a parent
Kingsbury High is an excellent school, but it lacks some attention. The school is extremely diverse with many different ethnic backgrounds. The students are great and friendly and they really seem to know where they will go in life. However, despite the drive for students to pursue further goals, parents have had to become extremely active to get results. The honors programs are really getting into shape and the school strongly supports the intelligent and is wiling to work with those not as gifted. Overall, I have been satisfied with Kingsbury, but there is a lack of direction for some of the teachers who cannot gain respect from students partially because they themselves do not regularly demand it. The science and ROTC programs are extremely successful. It is now just a matter of getting some parent involvement in providing the students with a broader view of the competition (bigfish, smallpond)

Nearby schools

Kingsbury High School
1270 North Graham Street, Memphis, TN  38122
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (901) 416-6060
Last modified Kingsbury High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top