Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kingsbury High School 2

Posted December 26, 2013
- a parent
This school has some good aspects such as being able to provide students with dual enrollment classes and AP Classes but the way I see it, the school is definitely getting worse. There are teachers who truly care about the students but the principal seems to find ways to make their hard work go unnoticed and instead pressures them and makes it seem as if they are in the wrong, causing the good teachers to leave. On the other hand, there are teachers who barely do anything and still get plenty of praise for it. The principal also tries to make it seem like students are doing better academically but that is surely not true. Some do deserve the grades they get because they work hard for them but others rarely go to school or do any work and they still receive the same grades.The teachers are also told that they can not fail students which just contributes into making it seem as if the students are doing better academically. Students also get suspended for the dumbest reasons and for a long time while others who do worse things get suspended for little or no time and are back at getting away with what they want. I see little hope for most of the students there if things do not change.

Kingsbury High School 1

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
The workers in the front office are HORRIBLE. If a parent comes in, they will make you wait while ignoring you until they finish gossiping. Very unprofessional employees with the worst attitudes . They will suspend students for any reason and I 'm actually surprised they are still open. Gang territory . They will pass a child that never goes to school. Worst school ever ...


Kingsbury High School 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
Kingbury High School administrative staff needs to be replaced with people who actually care about the students. Sending a child home because the staff didn't put the child in the system don't make any sense whats so ever.

Kingsbury High School 1

Posted January 12, 2013
- a parent
I loved KMS when the principal was Mackin, he was a great man and great at his job. The teachers worked so hard for the kids and it was a very safe zone. However, at kingsbury high school it's HORRIBLE! The staff is so disrespectful and rude. I went up to the office one time picking something up and a staff lady named ms. Bosstick was ordering food and made me wait a hour. The principal is ok, but all he's good for us suspending people for no reason. The kids that are the worst at the school are treated better and don't recieve a big punishment. In the office they have 3 students every time just hanging out on the teachers desk skipping class, but if a straight A student did that they would literally suspend them for days. Also if you're a good student wearing pants that are 98% cotton, but they think it's jeans you will get suspended. They won't even tell you not to wear it again. No body really cares about your future at KHS. It's a horrible school and you're on your own. Their night be a couple if teachers helping you, but that's it. MCS should really fire all the administrators and hire new ones. This school really needs help!

Kingsbury High School 4

Posted July 26, 2010
- a student
I am a recent graduate of Kingsbury High School. I attended Kingsbury Middle as well as High School. The school has always been my favorite place to be. I was a great student, but that was not my reason for wanting to be there. Kingsbury offers it's students more than just a wonderful education. It offers a whole new world for students. Kingsbury's diverse atmosphere and programs makes every day worth going. The orchestra program was my favorite part. I was in it all 6 of my middle & high school years. They have the best orchestra teacher in Memphis City Schools. The school also offers piano and guitar; also taught by the same wonderful lady. Band is also offered, taught by another wonderful lady. The AJROTC program is nice. The only problem I ever had with the program was the lies they sometimes told. Overall Wonderful School!


Kingsbury High School 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Kingsbury High School 5

Posted October 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Kingsbury High School 5

Posted January 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Kingsbury High School 0
no rating

Posted September 26, 2008
- a student
The school recently got a new principal. I thinh that they are on their way to improving their school but they still have a long way to go.

Kingsbury High School 5

Posted September 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kingsbury High School
1270 North Graham, Memphis, TN  38122
(901) 416-6060
Last modified Kingsbury High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kingsbury High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top