Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Richland Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
My younger son goes to this school. His progress in first grade surprised me. Its a great school indeed!

Richland Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
My 2 children attended Richland and both had a wonderful experience. Interaction with the teachers and parent involvement reminded me of a private school. We were fortunate enough to live in the district. I drive by the school several times a week and smile thinking about the great foundation my children received.


Richland Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
My daughter will be entering 3rd grade in August, she has been here since Kindergarten on a choice transfer. I can't possibly overstate how GREAT this school is. The principal, Ms McNary and vice principal, Mr Acker are amazing. Perfect balance. There is a teacher request system through 4th grade and you have input in that area along with the existing teacher which is great! We woudl highly recommend Ms Bounds in 1st grade and Ms Pechak in 2nd grade. Both wonderful, nurturing ladies - while striving for your child to be the best they can. Still has neighborhood school feel, high parental involvement. Better than any private school I have experienced. Will be sad when 5th grade comes around! Don't hesitate to send your child here.

Richland Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
This is my first year at this school. I simply love the school. My daughter is in kindergarten and I just can't say enough about her teacher and the administrative staff. The assistant principal is so attentive and caring to the children. The school treats the children like family. I simply love this school.

Richland Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
My oldest went to a local private elementary school. We feel that we have gotten a much better experience at Richland for a our youngest child. The teachers are amazing, creative, and so invested in each child's success it is amazing to watch as a parent. Being a part of the learning process, you can't help but want to be involved. It truly feels as though this school is one that has survived "the times", like a neighborhood school. The parents know the other children in the class. The teachers know the parents names, the siblings names, and actually care if a child has lost a tooth, got a new pet, or is struggling. I love it and wish we had found this school for our son. I don't know of any parent or student who doesn't feel at home here.


Richland Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
I wanted my son to go to a private school but when it came time to enroll him we just could not afford the cost. I live in the Richland Elem. District and was told l was nuts not to send him. Well l had no choice so off to Richland he went. This year he is entering the 5th grade. There are no words to describe how l will miss this school. From K-4 l have loved every teacher. . it's. McNary, the principal, does an outstanding job. I would actually pay money to attend this public school. I think that sums up my feelings in a nutshell.

Richland Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
I'm a parent of a new kindergarten student....and WOW!!! We spent close to 7k last year for a private pre-K school....but no lie, since she started at Richland, she is reading everything she sees. (She has only been there 2 months so far) I would recommend doing whatever it takes to get your child here! A++++

Richland Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 students at Richland and am so sad that this is my daughter's last year there. I have been so pleased with the education that both of my children are recieving! I would not hesitate to stand them up to some private school kids here in town to compare!


Richland Elementary School 2

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
Cannot get a hold of the main office for 2 days straight. I tried 18 times. There is no voicemail :(!!!

Richland Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2012
- a parent
This is such a wonderful school. We feel very blessed to have our two children attend school here. Parental involvement is a huge plus at this school. I volunteer every week for my children's teachers. I can't begin to tell you how much it means to me that I can come and be apart of their daily routine at school. I was so nervous about sending my first child to a public school, especially in Memphis, but after visiting this school and others; Richland Elem. is like not other public school in the Midsouth. It exceeded all of our expectation!!

Nearby schools

Richland Elementary School
5440 Rich Road, Memphis, TN  38120
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (901) 416-2148
Last modified Richland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top