Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ridgeway/Balmoral Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 05, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are very involved. Parent/teacher conferences were routine, and our teacher was always willing to talk or meet if we were concerned about anything.

Ridgeway/Balmoral Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 05, 2016
- a community member
There was homework every day. The whole week was sent home on Monda,, which was great for accommodation extracurricular activities without hindering school.


Ridgeway/Balmoral Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2016
- a community member
The students learn in an open environment. Not having classroom walls teaches a lot of respect and consideration for other students around you.

Ridgeway/Balmoral Elementary School 5

Posted July 05, 2016
- a community member
Best school ever. BRE is a diamond in the rough, here. The level of education here far exceeds the one we received while attending the best public school system in AL. The teachers and administrators were all fabulous. All volunteers undergo background checks.

Ridgeway/Balmoral Elementary School 4

Posted January 21, 2006
- a parent
Three of my children have attended Ridgeway elem. I find the staff and faculty to be extemely caring and concerned about the progress of each and every child. Kudos to the new principal Mrs. Weiss has proven to a powerful force of creative vision.My biggest issue with Ridgeway is a lack of parental involement, but there is a small but strong PTO .The afterschool program at the school is wonderful. The children get tutoring as well as the chance to participate in programs such as Dance and Chess. Memphis needs more programs like Ridgeway. I feel very lucky my kids have been able to go there.


Ridgeway/Balmoral Elementary School 4

Posted September 15, 2004
- a parent
Both my children have attended Ridgeway since they entered kindergarden and my oldest will gratuate to middle school this spring. I find the leadership, including Principal Clark and his teachers, to be outstanding. The staff to be hardworking and dedicated. And the parents and surrounding community are supportive and active. No school is perfect or without need of improvement in some area. The staff of Ridgeway have been open to comments and active involvement to change minor issues. I highly recommend this school and its staff. I commend them for their hard work and for being a beacon for excellence in our community.

Ridgeway/Balmoral Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 02, 2004
- a parent
This is our fifth year to have children at this school. The principal in very courteous, kind, friendly, approachable, and caring. He tries to know each student by name. I have seen him conversing with children while they were eating lunch, helping children one-on-one with schoolwork, picking up children from a field trip in his car, going out with children to the bus to make sure they get on safely, and giving children lots of encouragement. He always expresses appreciation for volunteer work I have done at the school. I drove up one afternoon at 5:30. (School lets out at 2:15) My child had left something important at school. He was about to leave, but backed up when he saw us. He kindly let us in the school to get this item. I wish the parent who described his 'lack of interest' had seen these acts of kindness.

Ridgeway/Balmoral Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 06, 2004
- a parent
We live in the Ridgeway school district. When our children reached school age, I contacted the school to speak with the principal to ask questions regarding the school. I never received a returned call. I attempted to contact him via e-mail through the school's website. Again, no response. I began calling neighbors to ask about this school only to find they had pulled their children from this school and moved them to another public school due to a seeming lack of interest from the principal to meet the families and children's needs. Needless to say we placed our children elsewhere and have been very happy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ridgeway/Balmoral Elementary School
5905 Grosvenor, Memphis, TN  38119
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (901) 416-2128
Last modified Ridgeway/Balmoral Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top