Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shady Grove Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 384 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2013

Shady Grove used to deserve a 2 rating, but not anymore. The current principal has worked very hard to improve the atmosphere and culture of SGE. I have had 5 children there, and all have had overwhelmingly positive experiences. We came from a school rated a 10, so my expectations were rather low, but we have been pleasantly surprised. The faculty work well together to improve and support each child's academic and social growth. They emphasize good behavior and good attitudes. The teachers are communicative and listen to parental concerns. I have been welcome to attend class with my children when I felt they needed my presence to improve their performance. The guidance counselor and resource faculty are stellar! SGE really deserves a much better rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Teachers, Principal, and staff really do work together as a team for my child's special educational needs. Due to privacy laws, the public school setting makes it more difficult to meet other parents than in a private school. My child really likes the aftercare program. Go Eagles!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

Great school. Both my children are a product of this school. I recommend it often to people looking for a great school for their children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

I have been a parent at Shady Grove for 5 years, and have 2 children enrolled in the school. I will do everything I can to keep my children at the school. I have been so pleased with all of the teachers and staff. They are willing to do anything to help your child succeed. They are very invovled in all of the schools' activitives, anything to make going there a great learning and fun adventure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

My daughter has special needs and she is finally getting the help she needs to help her progress past a stage she has been stuck in for some time now. She is being given the attention and help she desperately needed. They were an answer to prayer for sure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

Specific overall complaints; The staff is unconcerned about bullies hitting other students. The teachers do not baseline test students using conventional and accepted testing methods as recommended by the state of TN. The teachers do not want parent involvement in the school except for fundraising activities.


Posted February 27, 2007

Now I have 2 children in this God for saken school. Last year was unbearable. My oldest son needed modifications in order to succeed and the administration just ignored the needs of my child. All year I hounded the guidance counselor to fill out the forms or did she get them yet. And every time it was always the same excuse. 'I don't have them yet maybe tomorrow.' If I knew then what I know now about Special Education and IDEA they would have been in hot water. This year the teachers are bullies. If you have a child with any disability rethink your decision on sending them to this school. There are only a handful of teachers that care about education the rest are only there for a check. Watch out on IEP meetings this school loves to do things half way. My children hate this school and I agree. Beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2006

I was a student for he last 7 years (1999-2006. Shady Grove was a GREAT school, but they had there problems. Like no talking at lunch and other flaws. But that didn't matter in te end. Shady Grove gets you ready for middle schools like WSMS (White Station Middle School). I had the BEST 6th grade teacher last year, Mrs.Duckett! She really got us ready for middle school and I make honor roll on my report card. Shady grove is a GREAT school!!!!!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 7, 2005

My children transferred to this school from Mississippi, and immediately my 2nd grader was diagnosed with a learning disability that I had been concerned about and blown off by Mississippi teachers. He loves school now and is doing much better. The best thing I ever did was move to this district so he could go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

Well, Im not a parent but, I used to attend Shady Grove Elementary! And I loved It! I am now in 8th grade and I still remember my incredible teachers!! The teachers truly do love thier students! Some of them were like my second moms, because I loved them soo much! In fact a couple of times I accidently called them ,'Mom'. Well, I don't know who all of the teachera and who the principal is now, but I know that when I went I never wanted to leave! -Katie Zapletal!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 8, 2005

I must disagree that the students 'enjoy' this school, mine beg everyday not to go. Schools do have to have discipline but I think Shady Grove takes this to an extreme. No talking is allowed at lunch, only at recess, and one of my children are not taken to recess for some reason or another. Having been the only parent from a class for two fieldtrips I see what my children say firsthand, the teachers are unreasonable and unfair. They are also quick to judge and extremely impatient. Give the kids a break, after all they are just kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

This is an excellent school. The teachers have a lot of experience teaching. The Principal has been in the field of teaching for over 30 years. She knows what works, she cares more about her 'kids' and her teachers than any 'office politics'. There is a lot of academic balance, here. The homework is instructional without being 'too much'. The Staff from the administration to the teacher's aids are amiable, kind and very knowlegeable and interesting. t The building of human beings is what is most important. From the history, cultural and science programs to the guidance couselor and tutors, there is a lot of emphasis on character, tolerance and academics. d Their school ranking is always in the upper 10%. of schools in the area. It is a disciplined, hard working and yet very happy place. The children really seem to ENJOY being there. Parents are always welcome, any time and the volunteer program is large and well-runned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

My son went South Prak Elem.this year for a while and came upon a stumbling block,when I had him transfered into Shady Grove in a C.D.C. class where he can learn on his level,he is doing so wonderful I love his teacher and principal.I am glad he is here,my daughter will be here next fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have had three children at Shady Grove. My oldest is now at White Station HS in the optional program. I believe the teachers gave him and his sisters the education and emotional support they have needed to suceed. We have recently moved and are attending a new school in the elem. grades. It has not been nurturing or academically appropriate. We have sought teacher, guidance counselor, and pricipal assitance without luck. You don't always know what you have until you leave. I didn't really believe there would be such a difference. The teachers at Shady Grove may have had to learn to teach to the individual at an earlier time. But for my children it was a winner. The county school we are at now could learn a lot from Shady Grove school principal and especially the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2003

Teachers are very responsible and build great rapport with students on individual basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Hi, I am currently a high school student, so technically I don't really qualify to be commenting here, but oh well. Shady Grove is my former school, and what can I say? Wow. I loved-and still love-my former school so incredibly much. I had thoroughly wonderful teachers who prepared me so well for middle and high school, at least academically. Emotionally, no one's ready, but that's another story entirely. Shady Grove has a brilliant principal-one that care so much more than either of the two I have had in either the middle school or the high school. Though being small makes it quite intimate, I can't say I was entirely prepared for the shock of the population in higher grades (455 students in the whole school...that's less than those in my grade right now at my school). Even with it's faults, Shady Grove is one of the safest, involved schools I've seen. I love it!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
36%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
15%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
21%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
32%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners70%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students40%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners40%

Science

All Students64%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners80%

Social Studies

All Students84%
African American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students19%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
White32%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners18%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students27%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners9%

Science

All Students40%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners27%

Social Studies

All Students74%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
White95%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White24%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students31%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students34%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students81%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 24%
White 28% 67%
Hispanic 17% 6%
Asian 4% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (901) 416-2168

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5360 Shady Grove Rd
Memphis, TN 38120
Phone: (901) 416-2166

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT