Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
63 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 78 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Snowden School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a teacher
Caring and very giving staff, faculty and administrators. They are always ready to assist and address any parent concerns.

Snowden School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
This school has great teachers and great programs. The parent and community support are incredible. My son is challenged academically and accepted socially. This is a great school.


Snowden School 2

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
I really used to love this school. I spent 2 years trying to get my children into this school. It has always been known for excellence. Well Snowden had completely fallen off. The new administration: principal, and the vice principals can not handle the job they signed up for. The children don't even walk down the hall the same way. The better teachers are quitting left and right all the way down to the end of the school year, they're still quitting. I am very disappointed in the way this school has turned. Is this all schools? ?

Snowden School 5

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
awesome...i have a child that went to snowden and i love how generally accepting they are of different beliefs and religions and views on things in the world. One day my daughter came home saying she made a new female friend (other than her best friend who didn't go to school with her) She said that her friend was holding hands with this other girl and hug her all the time. (she didn't know her friend was you know what....) so i didn't tell her that. The other students seem generally accepting... and nice to that little girl .So i knew this was a good school.. and academically she was excelling in all areas. To this day she is she is still a great student and is still friends with that girl... they hang out from time to time and they are the best of friends. Snowden, has made her the accepting and sweet smart person she is today. great for parents too... nice student learning enrichment programs.

Snowden School 5

Posted August 31, 2014
- a community member
so nice..... its very community oriented so i like how they teach students to care about the community


Snowden School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Snowden is a wonderful community driven school. It is the best in midtown. They have a great academic program as well as highly respected musical and artistic offerings.

Snowden School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Snowden is an amazing school. It has so much to offer to all children. Every teacher works extremely hard to meet the needs of all students. My child is in one of the inclusion classes. At first I was worried that my child wouldn't get what they needed but I was so wrong. My child is thriving in that classroom! I know that she is a better person now and she has learned many skills necessary for growing up in a diverse culture. Her teacher has done a wonderful job creating a community in the classroom. My daughter is always excited to go to school!

Snowden School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Snowden is our wonderful neighborhood school. Everything about it feels like a family. Academics are as important as music, the arts, and culture. Mr. Thompson, the principal, is the kindest, most approachable & hard-working person we've encountered. Snowden has a great community of parents and grandparents, neighbors, and alum who love to support this school. We could not be happier with this sweet school.


Snowden School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a community member
Snowden is the school of choice. My children and now their children attend. Great teachers and programs. Way to go!!

Snowden School 4

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
Snowden is a good school. This is our first year there but we like it. The principal, Mr. Thompson, is one of the best. He is always visible and is active in the entire day. I see him almost every morning outside with the kids when I take my kids to school. His staff is good also. They are on top of things. You can stop him and talk to him at anytime about any of your concerns. The students know that he is always around. He will respond to your emails and calls. We made a good choice in choosing Snowden. We have 3 kids at Snowden and they love it. My 6th grader has made some friends. The school does not tolerate bullying and I really like that. The signs that say "No bullying" are all over the campus and they constantly have no-bullying rallys. The Clue program is awesome and the clue teacher Mrs. Bergman is one of the best that we've ever seen. My kids are enjoying it. The only thing that I would like to see is a larger cafeteria or 2 cafeterias. Snowden is a large school and it's difficult to feed PK - 8th grade in one cafeteria. There is plenty of parent involvement too which is great.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Snowden School
1870 North Pw, Memphis, TN  38112
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 78 reviews. (901) 416-4621
Last modified Snowden School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top