Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

White Station Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 642 students

Our school is best know for being a community who C.A.R.E.S.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

This is my son's first year at WSE as a 2nd grader. Nothing praise about the teachers and the Principle here. My son enjoys learning looks forward to coming to school each day. The teachers are incredible!! One of the best Elementary schools in Memphis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

We have been at WSE for 3 years now & love, love, love it! The faculty and staff are fantastic. They care not only about the education of the children but also work closely with parents to help develop the whole child. WSE should be a model school for our city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

We love White Station! Transferred so our sons could attend. Great administration, amazing teachers and very involved PTO. Couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

My family and I love this school. We were transferred here and the community and faculty are all great. They truly care for the school and all the students. I can see that my kids truly enjoy the teachers also. Which as parent is the most important part. Also, the principal is very friendly and cares for each student to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

WSE has great teachers, administrators, and staff. The PTO does an outstanding job as well. The teachers really care about their students' well-being and success. My children have had a very positive experience in the three years that they have attended. The only thing that I would change is the lunchroom policy. While I agree that the students should not get too loud and crazy, I do think that they should have a little more freedom to talk amongst themselves during lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

I would rank White Station in the top 5 for elementary schools in Shelby County - public or private. The principal "gets it"; she is in the hallways every day, and is always available should a sit-down discussion be warranted to resolve an issue. The teacher are stellar and truly care about their students, not just TCAP scores. Highly, highly recommended. My child attends on a transfer, and I will be doing everything in my power to keep her in White Station schools through graduation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

White Station Elementary is AWESOME!...AMAZING principal who goes above and beyond....caring teachers who provide an awesome learning environment...you drop your kids off knowing that they are in excellent hands....the school not only cares about providing an education but also making sure the children act respectfully...and there are rewarding activities throughout the year which keeps the learning fun...can't say enough about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

My family has been beyond pleased with WSE!! The principal (Ms. Thomas) is fabulous and we have loved every teacher my kids have had! I'm a volunteer every week and the staff is great. Only complaint is the lunchroom- that dang noise detector light drives me crazy! :0) LOVE WSE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

I Love WSE and so does my son. If I complained about one thing it would be NO TALKING in the lunch room, if you can't talk there where are you supposed to talk to your friends???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

Consistency is a big problem in this school. Some teachers are superb, many are well below average. I agree with other comments citing the sterile environment and poor administration. The principal is very "hands off" and is not warm or friendly to parents or students. Many children receive special education services and those children are treated with respect thanks to an excellent guidance team. However the school has no concern for their gifted kids and the CLUE teacher actually suggested we move our child to a different school. I recommend this school for special education students and do NOT recommend it for anyone else. The administrators need to adhere to the law for all students not just the special ed students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

I love this school, although I agree with the comment about the somewhat 'sterile' environment since the last change in administration. I have been very pleased with all the teachers we have encountered. Great things are taking place technologically speaking in the classroom, and I have had no objections to the safety regulations that have been put into place. Overall I think it is a great school with much to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

Being at wse for almost 8 years and seeing the leadership change in that period, wow what a difference a good principal makes. The kids are there to learn and also learn how to interact with others. Everything is sterile, like a hospital room. Parental involvement has dropped dramatically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

I am very disappointed in WSE. I would like to see better academic programs in PE, math and science. Parent participation is fair. Teacher ability...some are very good some are less than average. I would like to see the school live up to the hype that surrounds all of the White Station Schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 28, 2006

I have only great things to say about WSE! The teachers seem to really care about the students. They have high standards for them and work with them to make sure they get the foundation they need. The administration and staff listen to parent concerns and try to make a difference. The only thing I might complain about is the traffic, but I don't guess the school has mjuch control over that. Keep up the good work WSE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

I love this school. The teachers and staff put the kids first! They make sure that there is learning is going on at all times. Thank you so much for your dedication to my kids. I am active and work hard to support this school. The parents who complain are probably the ones who never participate in thier child's education. Keep up the good work WSE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

I have 2 children that attend WSE and I am very pleased with the quality of the school and it's staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

I am very disappointed in WSE.The staff there is not friendly to the parents they ignore you and treat your kids like they don't want to be there. In that case find another job. The kids need someone who will take that special time and effort to help them. My child is in the 6th grade and her math teacher gives her hm and does not explain it and gives them a whole page. Come on now how do you expect foro them to do it they don't know how? I have been out of school for a while and some of that stuff I don't remember. I have a 1st grader also who I am thinking about transferring to Shady Grove this fall. They treat them like they are in bootcamp, can't talk in the cafeteria. Come on. thats the mingling place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

White Station Elementary is a diverse school with a lot to offer children from all backgrounds. The school environment is sweet and caring. Teachers try to work with parents to the best of their abilities and nuture independence and individuality. I recommend WSES for anyone living in East Memphis that want their children to learn in a sweet, diverse environment. The PTO is strong and the teachers and administration are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

i came from a well known private school before attending WSE. Wow what a huge difference. I Felt like i lost knowledge instead of gaining it. when i recently made the transition to middle school even though i was in the optional program i had the hardest time adjusting especially when it came top homework and study skills. It is really not the best learning enviroment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 4, 2005

I am very disappointed in White Station Elementary. The teachers are not trained/qualified to instruct/teach children with learning difficulties. The staff is not cooperative or supportive of parents who attest their way of instruction. Complaints are not timely addressed and IEP's are violated to the fullest! children are not being provided a free appropriate education and are penalized for their disabilites in learning. The staff thinks this is a one-size fits all program. No child learns the same. Educators are trained to avoid this misconception which only leads to failure for the child. White station is bad news for kids who are different from the 'norm'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
29%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
39%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learners40%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students51%
African American49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learners13%

Science

All Students72%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners53%

Social Studies

All Students84%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students52%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students52%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students90%
African American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students55%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students56%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 23%
White 34% 67%
Hispanic 12% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Special education coordinator
School social worker/counselors(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Tracie Thomas
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (901) 416-8911

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • East Memphis Rotary
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
Girls sports
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Girls in Pearls
  • Guys in Ties
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
White Station Middle School
Colonial Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4840 Chickasaw
Memphis, TN 38117
Phone: (901) 416-8900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Avon Lenox School
Memphis, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT