Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

White Station High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

68 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2009

It's so diverse and it allows nmany more open doors than any other school. All of my peers seem to have Spartan Pride and that id what high school is all about!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2009

It takes college preparation very seriously and has a large level of diversity to mimic the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

As a junior at White Station, I have enjoyed two completely amazing years of learning, laughing, and living. I have learned and am still learning the importance of friendship, using my time wisely, and incorporating classroom concepts into everyday life. The knowledge that I have obtained attributed to WSHS, both inside of the classroom and out, is innumerable, incomparable, and has undoubtedly made me into the exceptional young lady I am today. In fact, contrary to popular belief, the most valuable aspect of high school education is not g.p.a., class rank, act scores, or anything else of that nature, but it is how you spend the last years of your childhood life learning the basic necessities of independence and self- worth. Looking back, I am extremely proud to be Spartan, and I am certain that there will never be a day in which I will regret it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2009

White Station High School is the most elite school in Memphis, TN. We are the creme de la creme not only in academics, but also in athletics. The mighty spartans have have always proven that we are worthy of the recognition we receive and strive to improve and set an example for all of the other schools in our city.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2009

White Station High is one of the best high school in the state. Not only do we succeed in academics, but we also succeed in athletics! Every year we have multiple students to graduate and move on to Ivy League Schools. GO SPARTANS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

White Station High School is the best of both worlds, a public school with the best education department in the state. For the past thirty years White Station has been the only school in the city of Memphis to have ACT and Gateway scores rate above the Tennessee average. We have had the most National Merit Semi-finalists in the state of Tennessee since I've been there (21 last year). I love my school. The teachers sincerely care about their students, and are strictly about giving them the best education and moral lesson. to prepare them for college and the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

My child is a freshman at White Station and he hates it. After moving here from the west coast, he was placed in all honors programs because he was so far ahead in all of his classes. even though he is in honors/AP courses, he is still not challenged. And this is supposed to be the best that Memphis has to offer?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Despite the dumb schedules and the silly MCS assignments, WSHS has given me the (arguably) best years of my life. I can't imagine how different I'd be if I had gone to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Our school has the worst building and facilities of any around us, but we have the most diversity, the best test scores, and the best students who go off to the best schools in the country. Our students graduate to do great things, and go to ivy leagues and states schools in every state and in multiple countries. Our teachers do much more than just teach us. They encourage us to strive to do our best, and I could never be more thankful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

I graduated from WSHS last year, and it was a wonderful school to spend my high school career at for many reasons like the fabulous teachers and the diverse student body. But the school itself is in shambles and really needs help. For being the best public high school in Memphis, it gets no love from the board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

the quality of education in the optional program- see so many students excel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

I am a freshman this year, and I love this school. It is truly a great school. However, the deteriorating building and traditional student body really do have negative influences. The faculty is top notch, but the setting is not very encouraging. With our huge student body and unprecedented diversity, I find it easy to make friends, and more importantly, be myself.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2009

I have never met such wonderful students and teachers as I have here.


Posted September 16, 2009

With consistently one of the highest number of National Merit Scholarship finalists in the state of Tennessee, WSHS boasts a diverse student body who are not only academically motivated but active in their community and numerous extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 5, 2009

My son attended a high quality, private school in Memphis for one year and insisted on returning to White Station. The diversity of the student body and the overall quality of instruction are unparalled. Based on his ACT and SAT scores, we expect him to have his choice of top notch colleges across the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

White Station is the best high school in the state of Tennessee. Last year, 21 students qualified as National Merit semi-finalists, the highest for any school private or public in the state. Memphis University School, which is a great private school in its own right, was a distant second with 11 semi-finalists. They have great teachers although it's disheartening that in recent times many of the best teachers have left the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

WSHS has indeed taken one step forward and two steps back. However, I still believe it has proven itself to be a good school, if more than fairly overcrowded. It is NOT for the squeamish, I will say that. Students are coming from harsh, real world backgrounds. So if you want a pretty, prissy, 'curtsy and say thank you sir' school, then get out and search elsewhere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2008

Most recent events at this school are disheartening such as their taking the books before exams so we cannot properly study or changing the locks on the lockers without proper warning before the end of the school year. The 'Freshman Academy' is not really high school, but elementary school making this year's freshman just have to adapt to high school a year later. However, it is still the best school in the city, especially out of public schools. It should be said though that not all of the students are smart. That seems to be the most common misconception. It has the smartest students, but that is really only about 10%. Everyone else ranges widely in intelligence. Its resources are very good however. The only sub par program is drama, but it isn't horrible; the auditorium is the main problem there. We do well in every competition. It is very well rounded.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2008

My ninth grade year, I attended White Station for about a month or two and I was utterly disappointed. First and foremost, the school was so crowded that the I could barely walk the halls. The standard classes were absolutely tedious and the teachers acted as if they did not care about teaching us. All of the students- even the honor students- used horrendous language to converse and I believe that it was completely repulsive. Everyone hypes up this school as if it is beyond extraordinary, when in actuality it's worse because it has an great optional program to cover up the bad. Teachers pass students just to get them out of their classes and some student deal drug in or near the school. It' is just atrocious
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

previous student.. great school!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
45%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

542 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
66%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

573 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

584 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
63%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students55%
African American42%
Asian70%
Hispanic47%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learners27%

Algebra II

All Students58%
African American40%
Asian89%
Hispanic51%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students65%
African American49%
Asian85%
Hispanic52%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students78%
African American65%
Asian94%
Hispanic63%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students71%
African American56%
Asian93%
Hispanic74%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students51%
African American37%
Asian65%
Hispanic28%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 23%
White 37% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (901) 416-8910

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

514 South Perkins Rd
Memphis, TN 38117
Phone: (901) 416-8880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Concord Academy
Memphis, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT