Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

White Station High School

Public | 9-12 | 2231 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

68 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2003

I graduated from White Station in 1989. As a former student, I have nothing but positive things to say about WSHS. I feel it prepared me for college and my career. I recently received my doctorate degree and feel that I could not have acheived this feat without the foundation I received at White Station. If I ever have children I plan to do whatever is necessary to send them to White Station.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

I'm sorry that standard education disappointed one White Station graduate. If he felt underchallenged as a standard student, hmm, yes, maybe, he/she could have challenged himself/herself to enroll in the optional program. My guess is that, there, he/she would flounder and miss the inadequacy of the standard program. The bottom line is that White Station is one of the top public high schools in the state, if not the top. With more national merit scholars than all other schools in Memphis combined, White Station is reputed as the best of the best. I would agree that the Board of Education lacks effective leadership and that does pose several problems for the future of White Station, but, at this point, I'm firm in my opinion.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

I, like one of my fellow peers that has already posted their comments on White Station, feel that the quality of this school is unsurpassed by any other. The negative comments of some of the parents are completely ungrounded and give off the wrong impression about the best school in Memphis. I am entering my sophomore year and loving every minute of it.'Jake F.'


Posted August 10, 2003

White Station has provided an outstanding educational opportunity for our two sons, but you won't want to send your children here if you don't want them to be academically challenged in a diverse environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I graduated from White Station in 2003. I was disappointed in the education I got there. Sure, the optional program is great, but the standard classes are depressing. Most students in the class do not wish to learn, so the teacher must bring the curriculum down to their level, causing those who want to learn at a normal pace to become bored in their classes. Also, the leadership is lacking, but so does the Board of Education itself. Frankly, when I have children, I am living in a Shelby County School district.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 9, 2003

I have had one student graduate from White Station, another who is a sophomore. I believe that the Honors program is challenging and prepares a HS student well for college. Having classes with intellectual peers is an important aspect of the program that is often overlooked. The faculty members, for the most part,are very interested in stimulating the students,and provide excellent mentoring and leadership.The kids are very proud that they attend this school, well know for it's academics locally as well as nationally.When it's time to apply for college, a good GPA from the honors program means something. I cannot comment on the Standard program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2003

Hello, I am a student starting my fourth year at White Station in the fall. I can honestly say that I could not imagine going to a different school and having the same experience. Although White Station has its faults, I have such incredible pride in my school. And many of the other students at White Station share this same pride. The teachers and administration are very supportive of the students. I have always felt like I could go to any of my teachers and ask for extra help. Therefore, it upsets me to read this negative comment about the school that I love so much and speak so favorably of everywhere that I go. Not only does this person give my school undeserved criticism, but he/she does not offer any possible reasoning behind the comments. White Station is a wonderful school and is known throughout the city as one of the top schools, public and private, in the city of Memphis. Thank you for your time. Amelia Thompson


Posted May 21, 2003

I purchased a home to be in this district. This was a hugh mistake. I now have it up for sale to pull my child out of this school. I would encourage any parent to home school before they send their children to this school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
45%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

542 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
66%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

573 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

584 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
63%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students55%
African American42%
Asian70%
Hispanic47%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learners27%

Algebra II

All Students58%
African American40%
Asian89%
Hispanic51%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students65%
African American49%
Asian85%
Hispanic52%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students78%
African American65%
Asian94%
Hispanic63%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students71%
African American56%
Asian93%
Hispanic74%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students51%
African American37%
Asian65%
Hispanic28%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 24%
White 38% 67%
Asian 8% 2%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (901) 416-8910

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

514 South Perkins Rd
Memphis, TN 38117
Phone: (901) 416-8880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Concord Academy
Memphis, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT