Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John P. Freeman Optional School 5

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
they the best great good smart for our kids. keeps them quick. thats y they are great.

John P. Freeman Optional School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a community member
Memphis isnt known for smart kids but this school says it all I am a student here and u can not come here with anything so I will try to give you information about the school we are one of a kind and with students who know their stuff


John P. Freeman Optional School 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
Great school! Caring teachers. Monica Smith is a superb principal and runs a well organized school. We are pleased! Well kept secret!

John P. Freeman Optional School 5

Posted July 26, 2011
- a parent
We feel we couldn't have made a better choice for our student than to attend JPF kindergarden program. The teachers are focues, prepared and in the business to teach (not just to get a paycheck). Looking forward to 1st grade!

John P. Freeman Optional School
no rating

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
This school is one of the best schools by far in Memphis Tn. I would refer someone to John P Freeman Optional School. They prepare you with great leadership and excellent priciple. Go J. P. Freeman!!!!


John P. Freeman Optional School
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a student
This is a school with high expectations in academics as well as discipline. Thinking about allowing your child to attend this school is the best choice you will make with your child's education.

John P. Freeman Optional School
no rating

Posted December 14, 2008
- a student
This school is OK. The lunch could be WAAAAY better, and there could be more of a variety of extracurricular ativities. Although this site says that we have dance and tennis, we don't. We used to have tennis but I think the teacher quit,and of my 4 years there they haven't had dance. And to end this I think that the principal is MEAN, but knows what she is doing(sometimes).

John P. Freeman Optional School
no rating

Posted June 15, 2008
- a student
This is a good school. I love attending it. We have a good principal. And good teachers that work hard to keep us active. My favorite subject is science because i love trying new things.


John P. Freeman Optional School 4

Posted March 02, 2008
- a parent
my child attends this school after transferring from another district in Tennessee. I must admit that I have been impressed by the caring and concern the teachers and administration have displayed. This school is truly a standout in Memphis City Schools.

John P. Freeman Optional School 5

Posted July 25, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has attended J.P.Freeman Optional School for three years and we love it. The administration and faculty are professional and highly qualified and the curriculum is taught at an advance level. My daughter feels safe at this school and is learning at a higher level. All students 6th - 8th grade are either in the band or orchestra. The school offers many extracurricular activities and has a championship chess team. Parents are very involved at the school and are made to feel welcomed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John P. Freeman Optional School
5250 Tulane Road, Memphis, TN  38109
(901) 416-3156
Last modified John P. Freeman Optional School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John P. Freeman Optional School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top