Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Millington Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 468 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Harassment problems aren't taken care of and are allowed to continue until they get out of hand. Some teachers don't have control of their class and the students are loud and obnoxious. This makes learning hard for the students trying to hear. There is also a problem with students stealing and purposely knocking things off of student's desks. Just things that shouldn't be tolerated and they're never addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2014

There seems to be a bullying problem here that is being ignored by staff. Kids need consequences so they know this will not be tolerated in any way. Three large boys ganging up on kids and getting away with it should not be tolerated. Split them up and stop this behavior. There is supposed to be a dress code that isn't being followed by some students also. If you have rules then someone needs to enforce them. Letting kids get away with breaking rules now doesn't do them any favors as they grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2014

I have a granddauvhter at this school. She really likes this school but is being bullied by one certain girl in her grade. It's so bad she cries and doesn't want to go to school. What is the best way to handle this. She is afraid of more bullying if she tells anyone. Grandma is very worried about her.


Posted June 30, 2013

Academics are fine, and some of the teachers are actually quite good that way. One or two are even able to inspire. The problem is that if one child hits another and the one who is hit yells, the one making the noise gets in trouble. There is a real problem with blaming the victim here. My daughter is hit, tormented, and occasionally robbed. The hitting often happens in the presence of teachers who do nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

Millington Middle School, like most all Millington schools now, is on a slow but steady downward spiral. Moreso, however, than the elementary schools and high school, Millington Middle suffers from an administration that is out of touch not only with its students and their parents, but also with Millington as an entire community. I can only imagine the way the administration and teachers(with exceptions) treat the students after having experienced their authoritative and condescending stance toward me. Its common for people to just suffer through these three years, but this period is a critical time for students looking toward high school. I regret not sending my two sons to a better middle school so that they might have been better preparedor at least treated with more respect. MMS' only saving grace is that it is marginally better than its counterpart, Woodstock. I would have to advise other parents to consider private school before either of Millington's middle schools. Perhaps if Millington gains control of its own schools through the merger, there will be positives changes that might bring back the community feel that has been lost completely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

From this school i say its the worst! the new principal, awful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

This school used to be good. Finally my first child is out, however my younger one is starting this year. Another three years of careless teachers and a rude principal. I do have to say parent involvement is better than other schools ive seen, but it is way overshadowed by the negatives of this school.When is the county going to open their eyes? How much longer will Millington suffer?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

the teachers at millington middle are more focused on the clothes and accessories of the students. they need to put more energy into teaching our children. i've been dealing with this school for 3 yrs. nothing has changed. we need new principal(s) and teachers at millington middle.we need people who really want to teach our children and not dictate them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

The principal and teacher quality ruins this school. The school building itself is in bad disrepair and is overcrowded, from what my son says. Recieves the rear end of the budget- Millington schools do, and this school makes no effort whatsoever to hide it. I would never recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

Millington middle is really acceptable to most students. It is very safe and well educated. Although teachers take things to the extreme sometimes and are wrong, but are ashamed to admit it i agree with them most times. Im goung to the 7th grade so i have a few more years there i expect it to stay the same and not get worse. The council should let students take vote in more activities though. Oh yeah, one more thing, what is up with the 'uniforms'! although we are luckier than other schools with real uniforms.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2008

MMS has improved greatly over the last three years. My daughter is happy and I have come to the school on several occasions to participate in meaningful afterschool activities. The school is clean and safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

My child is in the 6th grade at MMS. I would never recommend this school. The principal and staff do not provide a safe environment for the children at this school. The education is not sufficient at all. The advanced are not challenged. There aren't a lot of programs available. It is something one survives until they can move, but not something a parent would want for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

Please, do not even think of enrolling your child in this school. I agree with the the other parents about the new principal- rude and, even as a parent, I find him to be just downright mean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

Millington Middle is a terrible school. Many parents do not agree with the new principal and I can say I do not either. The teachers are not teaching my son anything, his teacher sleeps in class
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

Millington Middle is a school that really does a good job of keeping parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

This will be my daughter's second year at MMS. Last year was a struggle at times, but my 6th grader tested her boundaries at times. Some of her teachers emailed me a number of times a day about her talking in the hall and in line. It seemed a little petty but I did address every issue brought to my attention. I appreciate the teachers willingness to communicate. I have found the principal to be rude at times, but never to me personally. The kids don't seem to like him, but it looks to me like they respect him. I am looking for a great 7th grade year for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

Millington Middle has made some positive changes in the over the years. Today is the 1st day of school and I noticed the hallways are decorated and the new outdoor classroom. There are still afew teachers who have taught at Millington forever. All in all my daughter has loved attending the school. We have transferred in and it is alot better than the school she was zoned to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

Since Dr. Lowe arrived, I have sat back and watched half of the faculty of Millington Middle School leave. The formal explanations all differ. Quality teachers are choosing to retire, transfer and or just leave. Numerous members of the faculty have vented their frustrations amongst themselves as well as Shelby County Schools and nothing has been done. Just this past year we lost 10 top of the line teachers to other schools. These are veteran teachers who made it known that working at MMS is not worth it. Its unfortunate, but the students are the ones suffering the most.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2007

This used to be a fairly good school. Last year and this year have proven to be the worst years of all time. The new principal is awful! His communication skills with the parents, students and teachers are needless to say pitiful. Discipline around there is a joke and teacher morale is at an all time low. Years past were better! What happened that Shelby County saw fit to send this man? Why are we, in Millington, being punished? We want our old school back. Maybe the great teachers will return. Kudos to those who stayed. We need you more than ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

There has been a tremedously negative change during the 2005-2006 school year. The teachers seem stressed and the students seem unhappy. What caused this sudden change?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
15%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
White49%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students49%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students61%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students38%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students68%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students85%
African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students30%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students57%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students72%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
74%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 67%
Black 38% 23%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4964 Cuba Millington Rd
Millington, TN 38053
Phone: (901) 873-8130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT