Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Millington Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 654 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2014

A 1 awesome year experience in our lifes (2011-2012)... I tried private and public schools, but I was never satisfy. My dad used to tell me that I was never going to find a perfect school. Today and always, I AM VERY HAPPY to say that I found that perfect school, better yet, that OUTSTANDING SCHOOL! I am VERY GRATEFUL of Millington Elementary School, they really care about children's education and wellness. We will remember them always, specially Mrs. Green. Please, keep it that way. Hooyah!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

I love this school. My child is well taught there and has excelled in so many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

My children were fortunate to attend this school! All the staff are caring and super nice, teachers are hard working and loving, Mr. Lunsford is very dedicating and full of energy. I saw him working over time a lot. Children learn positive attitude by all the teachers with a pride as professional educator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Millington Elementry is a wonderful school, my two children attend one is in Pre- K the other is in Kindergarten. The teachers there are so wonderful and friendly. They always make you feel welcome and my children have learned so much. Im glad that my children attend a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Teachers are really devoted to their students learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

Great School. They seem to care about the students. They now have not one but two playgrounds. The principal has made a lot of changes in the two years he has been there. The kids seem to really love him. They have some really good teachers also. I would give this school a very high rating.


Posted July 10, 2007

We're Navy - and we have transferred a lot. Millington Elementary is a good school and I'm happy my child has gone to now 2 years (finished K and now finished with both 1st & 2nd). Teachers have been fantastic. The pace was good and he never seemed bored: class sizes were good. Facility itself (classrooms, cafeteria) is outstanding. Even though Shelby County, bus transpo for the children great - very safe and consistent. Two things I don't understand - as a new school, I don't understand why there's still not a playground (one expected this summer) after 2-years' massive fund-raising efforts. The other problem would be in 'communication'. Last year a dramatic change for the worst in advance notice of upcoming events, holiday schedules, school. Website outdated, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

millington elem is a good school but now even better since Mr.Lunsford took over as principal.I have 4 children,2 moved up to middle and 2 more to go.Since Mr.Lunsford has takened over i see better changes,more participation from parents and kids, and if a situation should arise he will handle it with the upmost respect and discretion as needed.I wish there are more principals like him!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

This is the best school my kids have ever gone to.My daughter had to repeat kindergarten do to a traumatic incident that happen at another school.She was very withdrawn and shy.The school placed her with a great teacher and she came out of her shell!This was another great year for her at MES. She had another great teacher and caught up and learned to read! I now have Three children at MES and they all have great teachers.The principle does a great job at treating everyone fair and is just a great guy.The staff in the office,lunch room,and councilors are all wonderful. I stay in this area just for the school. There is nothing else to say except I appreciate all the love and care they give my girls while educating them.You all are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

My daughter started off her kindergarten year in this school. She loved it and even after we moved she still talks about how much fun she had there. We will be going back to this school in 2008 and hopefully she will continue to like it. I thought academically they could have pushed her more since she knew almost everything needed already to pass kindergarten. They also did not have a playground for the kids yet (new school)which i thought was weird, but my daughter didn't seem to mind so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2006

Millington Elementary has been and still is fantastic school! It is one of Shelby County's best kept secrets. The faculty and staff work hard to help the students and parents. The academis programs are excellent! The extracurricular activities are taught by competent teachers sho put the children first. The level of parent involvement is improving because of the Leadership of the PTA. The mothers and dads who work on the PTA Board are wonderful! Millington Elementary is a school that puts the children first no matter what they can or cannot do! All children are loved!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted September 15, 2006

The staff has changed this year and is even better. Overall a good school that is newly built. The teachers are very caring and encouraging. Parental involvement is very high. My children love it and thy have made many new friends!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students57%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students80%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students87%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students47%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students53%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students82%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
White60%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students56%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
White56%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students60%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students81%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 67%
Black 30% 23%
Hispanic 9% 7%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6445 William Osteen Dr
Millington, TN 38053
Phone: (901) 873-8433

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lucy Elementary School
Millington, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT