Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rutland Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 738 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2014

We came from a low-performing school in another county in Tennessee. This school is one of the top reasons we moved to Mount Juliet, and we were blown away from day one. The parent/teacher contact is fantastic, parent involvement is obviously high, and best of all... My child is thriving and happy to be there every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

We were new to the area and my son who was not so fond of school LOVED Rutland he's never done so well in school. The teachers go above and beyond. I think it's a great school no complaints from me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

As a parent and teacher at Rutland, I would say, hands down, this school is top notch! I have taught in other schools and districts and this school far exceeds any i have been a part of! The staff at Rutland doesn't just come to school to work. Rutland is a part of us! We are a family and share a common goal and that is to ensure success for every child. I can not think of a better place for my own child to grow and learn! Some people are never happy and judge harshly without truly knowing the truth. You cannot find a more competent, hard working, and dedicated group of people! Each child is treated as an individual and loved no matter what their background, religion, race, economics, or academic ability. The staff at Rutland has a passion for children and learning! We are constantly seeking better ways to serve the Mt. Juliet community. There is NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND at Rutland Elementary! Submitted by a teacher
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 27, 2013

Rutland Elementary Is a very Right wing Religious facility. We are asked on more than one occasion if we were Christians and we treated badly when we stated we are Buddhist. We are not from the south and was alarmed that all the english teachers have very thick southern accents and do not speak correct english or even comprehend how the rest of the world works. It is a very closed minded and religious and republican based school. If you are a free thinker or have have above average intelligence do not let your child go here...they do not set a good example for the children. If you want a child with a Low I.Q and taught to have no thought of his own and have religion forced down their throat then pick this school. I thought there was such a thing as separation between Church and State...Apparently Tennessee is too busy misinterpreting the Bible to have heard about that Law.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

Organised , dedicated teachers,focusing on child development. Involving them in projects and other activities.satisfied. Organised , dedicated teachers,focusing on child development. Involving them in projects and other activities.satisfied.Organised , dedicated teachers,focusing on child development. Involving them in projects and other activities.satisfied Organised , dedicated teachers,focusing on child development. Involving them in projects and other activities.satisfied
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2010

My son started Kindergarten at Rutland Elementary this year. I have no previous school experience to base my opinion of this school on, but from what I have experienced with the teachers and principals at Rutland, I couldn't ask for more. During his 2 week fall break, he would cry some nights because he wasn't going to school the next day and he missed his teacher and his friends so much. His teacher is great. She has personally worked with my son through some behavioral issues he was having at the beginning of the year. She kept in constant contact with me through email during this adjustment period. If he has a rough day, she gives me a little note of explanation of what happened, so we can talk about it at home and work out what went wrong at school. Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

This is a wonderful school! The teachers, principal and parents all work together to help ensure each child had the best education possible. This school rivals the best private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

I have my son studying here and we moved to US from India in 2009 and he got quickly adopted to the culture the school. He is always having a great opinion about the school and his teachers. And we parents also feel that this was a great decision to put him in Rutland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

I have a grandchild at this school and have been to visit the school and think it is a great school 5 stars


Posted September 9, 2009

I had the privilege of working at Rutland for 3 1/2 years as a teachers' assistant and it broke my heart to leave this school. From the moment I stepped through the door, I felt welcome. Rutland has a huge family environment whose #1 concern is the children. We all worked very closely to help each child succeed beyond anything they could possibly imagine. Also, I had the honor of learning more from everyone at this school...especially from the children, which made my time at Rutland a life changing experience for me. If you have a chance to have your child at Rutland, you can guarantee that they will be enveloped with love and support. I truly miss this school!


Posted July 21, 2009

This is a great school to teach in. I have been at another Wilson County School and taught there for many years. I tranfered to RES so that I didn't have such a long commute time each day to school and I am so happy that I did! The parents are great and the teaching personnel, teacher assistants, front office staff and Principals are the absolute best!! If your child has an opportunity to attend this school versus a 'private school', you should choose Rutland !!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2009

This is a Great School! My child has been going here for over a year now and he loves it! It is so great when your child looks forward to going to school everyday. He is finishing up kindergarten and I am so impressed with how much he has learned in so little time. His teacher has been wonderful! I find the environment at Rutland to be loving and encouraging, making every child feel important. The only drawback for me is the classes are too large from the growth of Mt. Juliet but hopefully this will soon change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

My children have gone to Lakeview in Wilson co and I would say that Rutland is far better my child was about to be in the 3rd grade again but he went to Rutland and now has a's and b's!!!! I love my kids school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

I was not impressed. They wanted me to medicate my child more than to work with my child. He is attending a new school, and is so much happier. They actually work with us, and are more involved. This is a great school for normal kids, but if your child needs special attention, then you may want to move somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

I have no idea where this website is getting its information, but there is obviously a disconnect. the site rates this school a 7, but the parents give it a 10. Believe the parents. I absolutely could not be happier with this school. They are extremely organized and communicate beautifully to parents. The only drawback is in the school district and the fact that the county has to be pushed into even decent levels of funding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

I have had the opportunity to have taught in a private school, a public city school, and at Rutland Elementary, which is a county school. All I can say is --that this place is the real deal. The community, parents and staff are by far the best I have ever worked with in my 28 years of teaching. If, your looking for a true, caring, and nurturing school that stress academics and student success than this is the place. A very happy Teacher
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2008

This school is simply amazing! EVERY student is treated like they are the most important person in the world! There is wonderful communication and always something planned for family fun! the teachers and staff are the best youwill find!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

Took my failing davidson county child to straight A's in less than 1 month! The school and staff are wonderful !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

Rutland Elementary is one giant family. Every staff member goes above and beyond their work day to ensure every student is challenged, loved, listened to, and respected. When you walk through the school doors, you are enveloped in loving arms. There is no other place for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

I have taught at this school for five years. I have four children that also attend Rutland. There is no other place that I would rather work. I have placed my children in the very best of hands. Rutland's faculty is compassionate, patient, loving, and above all, dedicated to each student and their family. Family is number one. Rutland is a family. I am so happy to have found this site so I may give back just a little to this amazing school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
African American90%
Asian75%
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students75%
African American90%
Asian58%
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Asian67%
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
African American29%
Asian77%
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African American36%
Asian69%
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students76%
African American43%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American86%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students50%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students72%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
Black 8% 23%
Hispanic 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1995 South Rutland Rd
Mt Juliet, TN 37122
Phone: (615) 754-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






West Elementary School
Mt. Juliet, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT