Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Erma Siegel Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

My daughter has been here since 2nd grade. I would recommend this school to anyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

I love this school so much. They are great teachers and I am glad that I my son goes here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

Incredibly disappointed! I heard good stories about Siegel, but I guess the new principal turned all of that around a few years ago. I wanted to tour the school before enrolling my child and was told I couldn't. I showed up at the school and requested information and was sent away, even though I had proof that they were our zoned elementary and I wasn't some crazy person off of the street. The office staff was incredibly rude. Teachers seemed cold towards the students. Before you enroll your child here, please, please spend a day observing in the class and do your homework. There are affordable private schools in the area that will treat your child properly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

I'm going to submit a review, now that the principle can no longer do anything to us. This school is horrid. The principle is abusive to students and her power. She allows teachers and even herself to bully and intimidate students and their parents. I had staff members personally come to my home after I pulled my children out with more sickening bullying stories than I was even aware of. She has my boys so scared that when I picked my kids up from school they would be crying and were too scared to tell me why. When I contacted the board and she found out about it, she gave my oldest son in school suspension. Then used a disability my son has with his hands (makes it painful to write for long periods of time) and made him copy an encyclopedia all day. She even went as far as to laugh about it to get staff. I'm wondering if parents are aware of what is really going on with some of the children?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

Report it I have been blessed to have my children at Erma Siegel for the past 4 years - this is my daughter's last year there and, fortunately, she is headed to a terrific middle school. But my kids were so fortunate to have been able to attend this school - excellent programs and teachers. Dedicated, kind, and helpful staff. The principal is excellent. I have nothing but the highest praise for ESE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

We've been at ESE thru the 3rd grade, and we won't be back for 4th. He's been in speech since Kindergarten. I've met w/ the Principal and Asst. in IEP meetings. The principal is cold and indifferent to a child and their family. We really have never had any problems with my child, but the principal and teachers behave as if we are a burden to them. When I'm in the school as a volunteer, and I pass the principal and try to greet her, she just looks down her nose at me. I volunteer weekly, and have witnessed her speak hatefully to students who weren't walking like soldiers in the hall, I have witnessed a 2nd grade teacher very close to a child's face, showing gritted teeth and putting her finger very close to the child's face and yelling at her, I have witnessed a child crying in the principal's office as she got in his face and screamed at him. Where is the kindness and compassion that children need to learn? Certainly not here. And lastly, my child is a minority, and we've always been treated as if we're not good enough for this school. By the way, my child makes excellent grades, and I volunteer regularly, so what's the problem? I guess I'm not part of the 82%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

Very upset with the way Erma Siegel Elementary School lets their teachers bully the children. I thought being a bully was not tolerated, but obviously if you are a teacher it is ok. Very hard year for some sweet 1st graders by the way their teacher treated them. I am speaking of one teacher that I have witnessed and also the affect it has had on this 1st grader. NOT GOOD!! If do not like children ....find another occupation!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

Erma Siegel is the best School in Murfreesboro! It is second to none. My children have had the best elementary experience. We have attended since 2010. The principal is friendly, attentive, and dedicated to the highest of standards in academics. Our teachers have provided an outstanding challenge, are compassionate, and dedicated the their students. The PTA is wonderful and very welcoming!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

this is easily the best elementary school ever the principal is a great leader i love their 3 rs


Posted April 11, 2012

This school is horrible. The older "it's wonderful" reviews are probably true. But since it changed hands to the new principle, it couldn't be worse. If your child ends up struggling with anything, your on your own, because they only care about numbers and shoving kids through the system. None of the teachers seem to care. The only effort that is really put forth in that school is the charade of it being "wonderful". And their bullying "policy" is a joke. Plain and simple: If it requires their time and attention, you won't get anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

I don't know why this school has such a good reputation. If your child is not not perfect, he/she will probably not do well here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

This school is definitely overrated. I have 2 children in the Siegel school district. My oldest attended the middle and high school and I was very pleased but the elementary school is not all that it is cracked up to be. The teachers have a "i don't care" attitude. The principal protects her teachers and if I may say has lost her golden touch. She was such a great principal at Reeves Rogers. The only thing they have going for them is their AR program. Teachers are quick to label your children before they get to know them. The teachers gossip with one another about students and formulate an opinion about that student before they even give them a chance. The after school program is one of the worst and the director is messy. I will never send my child back to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

My kids went to another city school before. All the city schools should be modeled after this one. The teachers care about your kids & their goals!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

Love this school - very clean, organized, community invloved! Great teachers, students, faculty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Our childern love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students86%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students70%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students77%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students78%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 67%
Black 10% 23%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

135 West Thompson La
Murfreesboro, TN 37129
Phone: (615) 904-1002

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT