Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bradley Academy - An Arts Integrated School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2013

I was told that Bradley was Murfreesboro's best kept secret...and it is! Small classrooms helps our kids thrive! Our Principal, Dr. Fowler has done an amazing job turning this school into a family. I feel like my child's has unlimited potential at Bradley because of the attention she receives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

My oldest started at Bradley in second grade after a horrible experience at another school who bullied him for being gifted (and I am talking about his teacher and the staff, not the students)...Bradley is by far the best school we could have hoped for. Because Bradley has such a high non-native English speaking population, every child is taught at their own pace...whether they are academically challenged or gifted. So many schools only cater to the cookie cutter students, but Bradley embraces diversity and treated everyone like family. We moved away last year and my children went to a different school. When we registered back at Bradley this year, the principal ran out and excitedly said, "welcome home!" The arts component is amazing, too. It helps engage kids and gives them practical ways to use their knowledge. I love the fact that the school is small and that they have a no tolerance policy for bullying. If you love diversity, the arts and individualized approach...then check out Bradley. You will be glad you did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

If you want your child to attend where they are truly loved by the staff, then this is the school for you!!! Do you find it an important part of learning to incorporate music, dancing, art, and theater? This is where you'll find it! It feels like family from the moment you walk in. No school will meet every single request and special guidelines you have set in your children's magic fairy land we have all been guilty of building around them, but every staff member is dedicated to making every effort to make sure you and your children are safe, loved, and educated in their own unique way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Bradley Academy is a FANTASTIC school! I am not only a teacher at Bradley, but have children who attend. Our school is filled with loving and caring teachers who go the extra mile and love each and every child that walks through the doors. We offer art infused lessons and a lot of creative! I am blessed to be part of such an amazing school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2013

My children have been at Bradley since 2010. We were at another school in the area (with great ratings & test scores) and were frustrated to say the least with a learn-how-to-take-the-test school. Being at an arts-integrated school means hands-on learning through the various arts. Bradley not only has art class, but drama, instrumental, and vocal music classes! These are not just clubs, but actual classes each week. My children are above average learners but have blossomed into MORE than just a bubble filler by being here. Please keep in mind on the test scores there are many students here learning English at the same time they're learning everything else. I know I couldn't pass a kindergarten test in Spanish anytime soon! The school could use more parental involvement to help the teachers & staff; there is a group of about 10-15 parents who try to help out often. The pto is working to get more parents involved and the new administration is very open to volunteers in class. I kid you not-I will sob like a baby when my children are graduating from Bradley. If you want your child to experience something beyond the norm, please go take a tour & talk to the staff. You won't regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

I fell somewhat compelled to post since the last parent review was 5 years ago. When we moved, we became zoned for Bradley and I admit to being concerned with the "grade" the school receives here. There is a new principal and the teachers all seemed very involved. Because of its prior years AYP failures, I could have chosen to send my children to other schools. I talked to several (non affiliated) teachers I know personally and toured the school, I felt confident enrolling my child even after coming from a "9" school. The staff are all caring, kind, and involved. My oldest child is a rising 2nd grader and we adored her 1st grade teacher (really, the whole 1st grade team) and we've chosen to enroll our middle child in Bradley as a rising Kindergartener. I feel welcomed and appreciated in to the classroom and at school events. Look past the test scores and come take a look for yourself. Test results aren't everything. I completely disagree with the weight the standardized tests hold in our schools. We love Bradley and feel that the children are getting a quality, well rounded education and do not regret choosing to enroll ours there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

This school is a hidden treasure. As a choice school not many know about the great arts program it offers and the small class sizes. It is great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

Acedimic wise its a great school. But over the past two years I have had problems with the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2005

This is my second year at Bradley. I like the art program. I like the teachers mostly. I don't like the fact that I am not invited into my childs classroom at anytime. That just seems like bad business. When my children were at daycare there was an open door policy. What are they do and saying to the children that we shouldn't see?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2005

I appreciate the arts integration curriculum. Students get the basics, yet they are taught in very creative ways! The school also has not just physical education, but library, music, instrumental music, drama, and art. Teachers care about the students and their jobs. It is a very positive place to send your child. The after school program goes above and beyond. Children can take art, guitar, drama, and other enrichments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have found this to be a very good school with a very caring staff. They all seem to go the extra mile to ensure an excellent education for all their students. Bradley is an excellent place to send your children.Their ESP program is also very good my special needs daughter is enrolled and I feel very comfortable leaving her in their care each afternoon.Overall I am very happy with the education my kindergartner is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
10%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
22%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
24%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
37%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
7%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
26%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
15%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners9%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students29%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
White46%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students36%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students82%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
African American5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
White40%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners7%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students20%
African American5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
White47%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners7%

Science

All Students20%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
White47%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners27%

Social Studies

All Students80%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learners80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
White60%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students28%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
White40%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students34%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students83%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students38%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students42%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students85%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 7%
Black 30% 23%
White 23% 67%
Two or more races 7% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (615) 898-7131

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

511 Mercury Bl
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
Phone: (615) 895-2672

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Stones River Academy
Murfreesboro, TN




Hobgood Elementary School
Murfreesboro, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT